We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just like the Crown Metropol in Melbourne, this hotel reeks of cigarette smoke. Even the non-smoking rooms have a lingering smell. The rooms are nicely furnished but it doesn't seem the justify the room price. If available, you should request a room on a higher floor. Our room was on the first floor giving us an underwhelming view of the carpark.

The outdoor pool is nice, but the indoor pool is barley larger than what you would find in someones backyard. When there are 50 kids in there, it is barely worth the effort.

The hotel also tries to upsell everything, such as charging $60 to sit on a comfortable lounge next to the pool or $50 a day for parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments are valuable as it allows us to view our business from a guest perspective. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

Sincerely

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    461
    172
    79
    52
See reviews for
223
646
44
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A far cry from the luxurious five star experience advertised. First of all, we found out that the hotel does not have any feather down pillows when we asked for it so we ended buying our own pillows for the stay. We have never seen a worse turndown service from a 5-star hotel than this. The toilet bowl was not even cleaned when we came back and the shower area was not even wiped dry. When we stayed at the Diplomatic Suite at the Hyatt, they usually wipe the bathroom dry as if you have never used it before. Waste tissues on the floor were overlooked and were never picked up to be cleared. Used glasses on the dining tables were also not picked up and washed. We are staying in the Loft Suite, one of the better suites they have. Wonder if this is their standard of service accorded to all guests?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunkydory623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the lapse in service. We hope that you will return to Crown Metropol some time in the future and have your faith in our property restored.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We pulled up at about 4pm and at 5.15pm we were in a lovely room on the 7th floor overlooking the pool. Beautiful room, beautiful pool, gorgeous view, what more could you want, wellllll some service would be nice.
Even the original check in could have been smoother but it was busy. Still it didn't prepare us for when we thought a cuppa would be nice only to find the room devoid off any free beverages, of course there were plenty you could pay for. To cut long story short it then took us over an hour to organise a cuppa which isn't good enough considering prices and reputations, We were h7hrs and we;ve spent 2 waiting for service.

Room Tip: North facing in the winter and summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grogfucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments.

It is noted that your experience was mixed and it is our commitment that our guests have a memorable and pleasant experience. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Crown Metropol and provide exactly that.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here 1 night with 2 young kids after spending 2 nice nights at the nearby Promenade....we were looking forward to it , being a 5 star hotel and all... Huge let down. Did not feel welcome from the get go and just felt like a dollar sign.... As soon as we got out of the lift was hit with a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors and it remained that way.... The room was ok, nice view. However, the carpet was dirty and stained and when I opened the glass door to the shower there was a mouldy smell. The highlight of the stay was the atrium buffet breakfast, that never disappoints. All in all I left feeling like I wasted my time and money... The worst thing was, we visit the complex often for dinner with family and they just lost previously loyal customers.... Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

It is disappointing to learn that your experience did not meet expectations. We take all comments seriously as we are committed to providing a lasting and memorable experience to all our visitors.
We would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in Crown Metropol should you decide to return in the future.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was my first trip to Perth and was undecided as to which hotel I would go for.

My final choice was to go for Crown Metropol and having experienced it over the 4 days stay was proven that I made the right decision.

I simply marvelled at the warm reception given from the time I stepped into the lobby. The attendant were so courteous and well mannered that I felt so at ease and comfortable being a foreigner in Perth. I would particular like to compliment Emma (the Chinese girl from Harbin) who really impressed me with her efficiency in checking in and more so in terms of explaining the hotel outlets, direction of places to go and offering her help whenever I face any difficulty.

The hotel lobby itself is very cosy and gives a very warm feeling for casual meetings and entertained by soothing songs from a live band. Those who opt to have some fun can enjoy their time at the casino which can be easily accessed via the lobby.

The hotel rooms have beautiful views and though the decor may not be the best but it is definitely clean and comfortable. Again, I speak highly of the staff in attendance from the concierge, house-keeping, telephone operator and even the porter. Everyone of them are so courteous and helpful with smiling faces all the time. This is really an experience which was actually beyond my expectations. I must say the management of this hotel can be a role model for many other hotels of similar grade.

The checking out was even super efficient which took me less than 2 mins.

I will definitely opt to stay in this hotel if I ever get to travel to Perth again. It has left a very deep and excellent impression that will be cherished, more so being the first time in Perth.

My compliments to the Management for such an excellent administration of the hotel.

Room Tip: Staying above the 6th Floor and facing the lobby provide a better external view from the window. I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed the weekend at the Crown with my partner, rooms are amazing, pool is absolutely amazing, pre dinner drinks and canapés was a little average. breakfast was great. we really enjoyed our stay at the crown

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSSBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOURISTS2008
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the moment we drove up the hotel we were treated like royality. The young man at concierge took car of our car, and our luggage and looked after us whilst we checked in. And next day helped us with directions and places to go. Check in desk was a bit slow. But everything else was very good. The hotel was very busy and we thought it would be very noisy but was fine once in the room. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the centre but there is very little traffic really. Its the only 5 star place to stay in Perth my opinion and even though we are not casino people, it was as expected very nice and well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOURISTS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
919 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
1,028 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
2,160 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Property: Crown Metropol Perth
Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Perth, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing