We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the hobo bread!”
Review of A Taste of History

A Taste of History
Ranked #57 of 281 Restaurants in Dearborn
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do not miss the hobo bread!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place is cafeteria style and it is a little pricey for the style of food, but nothing too expensive when compared to other tourist attractions. They offer a little hobo lunch that you can even get in a bandana to carry on a stick. Isn't that cute? I would not miss the hobo bread. It is cooked in a can and I think it is out of this world. It is a nut bread with raisins. They offer a lot of nice things in there and have seating and bathrooms in the air conditioning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nrocpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The food was fine, but pricey. I don't know where the history came in though. I suppose there were a few sandwiches that had "Ye Olde" names, but there was pizza, soup and chips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ceheinzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This cafeteria had very large portions. We shared a meal (Beef bread bowl) and sides (mashed potatoes and mac n cheese). The food was pretty good, but the gravy had a weird taste that we didn't love. We really enjoyed the mashed potatoes. The prices are a little high, but to be expected for the setting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Southpaw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, MI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greenfield village dining”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Keep in mind, to eat here you have to purchase entrance to the village but if you are touring there this is a good option particularly for families. Cafeteria style with lots of options

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We fell upon this restaurant after we had already eaten our lunch at a different restaurant. We had a couple of things to eat at this restaurant because the food looked so good! The green beans are great! The chocolate chip cookie half dipped in chocolate was delicious too! There is a variety of foods at this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank illinoistraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taste of History also viewed

 

Been to A Taste of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing