We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enchanting with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
293 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Most enchanting with a great location”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Dearborn Inn is a Marriott property and very well maintained. The grounds are beautiful with lots of interesting old houses in the back.
The lobby and other public areas are decorated with many photos of Henry Ford and the Ford company. The restaurant, Edison's is named for Thomas Alva Edison, a dear friend of Henry Ford.
The room was clean, spacious and well appointed.
The buffet breakfast was excellent - an omelet station with a chef ready with a smile to make whatever you ask for. Dinner was also wonderful.

It is a short walk to the Henry Ford and Greenfield Village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    229
    80
    25
    21
See reviews for
168
200
35
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
522 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Historic Dearborn Inn. We chose this location due to its proximity to Detroit & Ann Arbor. The hotel is about 25 min to downtown Detroit & about 35 min to Ann Arbor. The hotel was built in the 1930's commissioned by Henry Ford in a Colonial Revival style architecture. The hotel is fairly large with rooms inside the main building & 5 replica homes on the grounds. We asked for a quiet room & were given one in the Whitman house. The homes are exact replica's of the famous people they are named after. The homes are accessed through the grand lobby out into the beautiful courtyard & follow the sidewalk around. The courtyard is stunning with lovely landscape & a gazebo. Many weddings are held here. Our room was very quaint, clean & spacious. The room had a king bed, dresser, fireplace, closet, small frig & coffee maker. The bathroom was small with a pedestal sink but they added a table with shelves for extra storage. Our room was dark & quiet. But the house itself can be noisy when doors are slamming & people moving around upstairs. Luckily we had respectful neighbors. There are 2 restaurants on site. We ate at Edison's & our meal was very good. The service was fantastic in all our encounters. The hotel is located a few minutes away from the Henry Ford Museum. There is parking outside the replica homes so you won't have to walk through the lobby each time. Every evening they had fresh local warm apple cider for free in the lobby. I was disappointed they didn't have free coffee in the mornings. Coffee & breakfast are for purchase.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed four nights over the labor day weekend. Our room was in the main building and was clean and comfortable. The grounds are nice and the hotel's history was interesting. Its a perfect location for The Henry Ford and related attractions. The downtown Dearborn area is close and has enough restaurants to choose from. We had trouble deciding on this hotel vs. downtown Detroit. So glad we chose this. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do. Stay was great.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night on Oct. 5th, 2012, and it was really a great experience. The staff was so helpful in letting my father check in for us so we could just drive around back and go right into the Patrick Henry house and our room. We got the romance package which is very nice and includes breakfast in the morning, either in the room or in the restaurant. We chose the room service option. Due to the fact that we got there so late after our reception, we didn't really enjoy any of the amenities, but the food was great, the suite was clean and very beautiful. I was surprised to find not one, but two full bathrooms as part of the suite! Really lovely and amazing rooms. We are staying again in a colonial suite for our 1-year anniversary as well!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The entrance and lobby are luxurious, but don’t be surprised if you are assigned a room in a separate, more modest building. We were in the McGuffey Building (as in the McGuffey Reader) with a book-theme. The outer doors have seen better days and one whiff of the well-used “smoker’s outpost” might make you question your choice of hotels, but don’t be discouraged. And don’t look for an elevator to the second floor because there isn’t one.

We selected the Henry Ford package that includes two tickets per person to either the museum, Greenfield Village, or factory tour. That’s two tickets per person, per day. What a deal! We arrived well before check-in time, but were able to pick up our tickets at the hotel and head over to do a half-day at Greenfield Village. We were staying three nights, and after questioning me as to how many Henry Ford tickets we actually needed, the helpful desk clerk suggested a more inexpensive rate for the third night to save money and avoid having extra tickets. (We did Greenfield Village in a day and a half, the museum in one day, and the factory tour the morning we checked out.)

We left our car parked at the hotel and took the complimentary shuttle to and from The Henry Ford. You do a lot of walking and it helps to not have to walk to the parking lot after a long day.

The breakfast buffet (included in the package rate) was awesome. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night, and at the bar the other two nights. The bar is a little more casual.

The pool was wonderful. Extremely large and well maintained.

We loved the historic aspect of the hotel, including a curious abandoned building frozen in time.

We had no issues with the room itself, but there was some door slamming and loud, late-night talking in the hallways, but it’s not the hotel’s fault. I suspect this is more of an issue on the weekend, when they host a lot of weddings.

All in all, a very satisfactory experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel goes back to the 1930's and the decor reflects its past. It has obviously been modernized, but still retains the flavor of the 30's. We ate in the tavern and our hostess could not have been more cordial or helpful. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced, considering the quantity. The staff were all helpful & friendly. The only disappointment was the room. It was clean & comfortable, but EXTREMELY small. There was barely enough room to move around without banging into the furniture. If you plan on going there, you should ask what the square footage of the room is that you are planning on using. Our room was approximately 110 S/F and that is being generous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOwl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We first stayed at the Dearborn Inn more than 40 years ago. It is a lovely now as it was then. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed for three days and enjoyed the property and area. The hotel is within one-half mile from the Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village and the Ford Factory tour. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant.
The area is very safe. Each day I walked from the hotel past the Henry Ford/Greenfield Village to Michigan Avenue. Excellent sidewalks. Michigan Avenue has many restaurants, a wonderful fresh food market and night clubs. We are returning there again in October prior to a flight to Italy.

Room Tip: We always try to stay on the upper floors. Quiet and close to the lounge for Marriott Platiunm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaH1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
1.7 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
Staybridge Suites Dearborn
#9 of 18 in Dearborn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edward Village Michigan
Edward Village Michigan
#12 of 18 in Dearborn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel

Property: The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Address: 20301 Oakwood Blvd, Dearborn, MI 48124-4058
Region: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dearborn
#2 Family Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to an urban oasis spanning 23 lush acres at The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel in Dearborn, Michigan. Built on the grounds of Ford Motor Company in 1931, our hotel is ideally located near downtown Detroit and Detroit Metropolitan Airport. In a setting reminiscent of traditional American hospitality, this hotel boasts 229 spacious guest rooms and suites furnished with luxurious bedding. A unique array of accommodations include the Main Inn, two Colonial lodges and five Colonial guest homes. Amenities include an on-site fitness center, outdoor pool and several nearby golf courses offering ample leisure activity close to major corporations and cultural sites such as The Henry Ford. The AAA Four Diamond, award-winning hotel offers two eateries serving classic American cuisine. Highlighted by more than 17,000 square feet of flexible event space, this historic hotel is perfect for hosting social affairs, intimate weddings or large business events with ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dearborn Hotel Marriott
Marriott Dearborn
Dearborn Inn
Dearborn Marriott
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing