We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History now comes at a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed here in the past. This time was a bit different for some reason. They just weren't on their game. We had to ask for extra towels, toilet paper, hand soap, and extra blankets. We had a family of five staying at the hotel for the weekend. We had a roll away bed in our suite as a result. Maybe they just don't usually have this arrangement, but we fell short of all of the basics and had to ask for these items? When we asked, they questioned us about it. No explanation is required or necessary in my opinion. Believe me, we weren't stealing the towels or toilet paper. There was a printed, laminated list of costs in the room for missing items....like the shower head and robes etc.?! Really? WT...? Someone will go to a 4 star hotel to steal shower heads? Huh?! In all fairness, there is a large third world immigrant population in Dearborn. So maybe when the relatives from abroad come to stay they lift stuff?! I dunno? Jus' sayin'. Just a weird vibe.

This is a beautiful, well appointed hotel. It has more history than can be imagined. Almost every famous person that ever visited Dearborn has stayed there. It's well located near everything that there is to do and see. The restaurants, appointments, service and rooms are beyond excellent. It is great and we love it, normally.

Normally the service is what you would expect from a top end hotel. This time it just felt a bit cheap. We'll try it again one day. Maybe they won't fall short the next time.

Room Tip: Get a suite in the Concierge section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanishingpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DearbornInnGM, General Manager at The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Dearborn Inn, and for taking the time to post a review about your experience. Your feedback as repeat guests is especially important, and I'm delighted that most aspects of your stay were positive, and highly-rated. I apologize that we dd not anticipate your needs for additonal towels better, however, and that you had to request them. With five room occupants and a rollaway bed provided, you certainly should have expected the approriate supply of linens to have been provided prior to your arrival. I have shared this feedback with our rooms staff.
I also wanted to note that the pricing catalogue for guest room items is provided for guests who would like to order them for home use. These are not placed in the rooms in anticipation of theft. We have numerous guests who want the same shower experience at home that they enjoy here in the hotel, and the same goes for a range of amenities and in-room items --- from robes, to bedding duvets and pillows, and even the mattresses and box springs.
Thank you again for your loyalty, and your feedback. If you have additional questions, or if we cn be of assistance, please contact us via e-mail at mhrs.dtwdi.gm@marriott.com, and reference this TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Dearborn Inn while visiting The Henry Ford Museum. The property is beautiful and very correct to the period in details and colors. I would recommend valeting the car and use their complimentary shuttle to go back and forth from the Village/Museum (after tips still cheaper than parking there and its only 2 blocks away). The rooms are well maintained though fixtures are dated. Unfortunately sleeping options for small kids limited (no roll away beds), so we opted for 2 double bed setup. My son had his bed, though my wife and I haven't shared a double bed in years (we are spoiled). The morning breakfast buffet is a very good value with kids (adults $14 kids $5). This property is popular for Weddings, hence be ready for loud talking in the hallways and doors closing hard after the reception has ended. Staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the Wedding Party if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyS781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Dearborn Inn. What a great hotel! You walk into the hotel lobby and can feel the charm. It was decorated for Christmas with a display to ginger bread houses in the middle. When coming in from the cold, you could help yourself to hot cider which was set up in the lobby.

The service is top notch! We had breakfast in the Edison room. I tried the French toast dipped in corn flakes. It was served with fresh banana slices and strawberries. Along with it, was low calories syrup. It was delicious.

We have stayed at the Dearborn Inn before and we'll go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonandSheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. We purchased a package that included Henry Ford Museum tickets. Hotel has the old world charm. Rooms are nice but of very large. Two restaurants. One casual, one fancy. We ate at both. We liked the casual dinner better. Breakfast was included in our package. I wouldn't want to have paid for the buffet it was crowded and food was ok. Reservations needed for dinner and breakfast. All in all lovely hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mardi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Dearborn Inn for a number of years while visiting her family in Detroit. Although it is about 30 minutes from where her mom lives, it is worth the drive to stay here during the holidays. This historic hotel has managed to keep its old charm while updating the facilities. The lobby is decorated tastefully and features a gingerbread village. The fireplace is inviting and they have warm apple cider in the lobby every day at around 4 pm. The restaurant (Edison's) and bar (Ten Eyck Tavern) have good food and service and the entire hotel staff is always ready to help in any way they can. there is a nice little fitness area and, although the rooms are not large and some are oddly shaped, they are well maintained and the beds are comfortable. If you are inclined, the hotel is near Greenfield village and close to the highways so moving around the city is easy.

Room Tip: corner rooms are quiet and a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogelio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My room had a queen-size bed, desk, chair, side chair, two night stands, chest, single-cup , coffee maker, and many drawers in the furniture. In addition, there was a pedestal table with a lock, (I didn't have a key). The bathroom did have a bathtub, but it was a very small bathroom. In fact, you couldn't have the door open and reach the bathroom tissue at the same time. The nicest thing about the room? The lighting.

The hotel is connected to the convention center. The hotel has a nice large lobby. My wing was in the oldest part of the hotel and that was very obvious; and it was extremely small. Room #148. The heat/ac unit made a LOT of noise. There was a Roman shade on the window to shut out the light.

Hot apple cider was available in the hotel lobby on arrival for guests, a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding...the fresh fruit selections were the best I have encountered in the US.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT in the oldest wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DearbornInnGM, General Manager at The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for spending part of your holiday season at the Dearborn Inn, a tradition for many travelers to the Dearborn/Detroit area for over eight decades. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable beds, and our highly-acclaimed breakfast buffet. We also appreciate your high ratings for cleanliness and service, and your nice comment about the warm cider served in the lobby.
The 'cozy' bathroom you describe is indicative of design and architecture of the 1930's, and thus nearly 100 of our 230 guest rooms have baths that are more modestly proportioned than hotels of today. It is also important to note to you and others in the Trip Advisor community that the Dearborn Inn has a campus-style layout, with 8 unique buildings containing our 230 rooms. Included are our main building, with rooms built in 1931 and an expansion in 1989, along with five historic replica homes dating to 1937 and containing 20 guest rooms and suites, and two buildings added in 1960 and situated on the west portion of our campus, near the outdoor pool. We always strive to meet guest needs based on room type, location, and other factors --- at times an interesting balancing act with the many distinct buildings and room types! Thank you again for your business, and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Was there on business and was very impressed with the lovely decor and gingerbread village holiday display, the warm and friendly staff, and their willingness to drop us off and pick us up at a variety of nearby locations. Very accommodating staff. Rooms were a bit small but adequate, and everything was comfortable. A comfortable experience, located near the Henry Ford Museum and historic greenfield village.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrudnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dearborn hotels
1.7 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Detroit Dearborn
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
1.2 mi away
Edward Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel

Address: 20301 Oakwood Blvd, Dearborn, MI 48124-4058
Region: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dearborn
#2 Family Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range: £134 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to an urban oasis spanning 23 lush acres at The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel in Dearborn, Michigan. Built on the grounds of Ford Motor Company in 1931, our hotel is ideally located near downtown Detroit and Detroit Metropolitan Airport. In a setting reminiscent of traditional American hospitality, this hotel boasts 229 spacious guest rooms and suites furnished with luxurious bedding. A unique array of accommodations include the Main Inn, two Colonial lodges and five Colonial guest homes. Amenities include an on-site fitness center, outdoor pool and several nearby golf courses offering ample leisure activity close to major corporations and cultural sites such as The Henry Ford. The AAA Four Diamond, award-winning hotel offers two eateries serving classic American cuisine. Highlighted by more than 17,000 square feet of flexible event space, this historic hotel is perfect for hosting social affairs, intimate weddings or large business events with ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dearborn Hotel Marriott
Marriott Dearborn
Dearborn Inn
Dearborn Marriott
The Dearborn Inn, A Marriott Hotel Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing