We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
STANTON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place, great location, great staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent an evening in Detroit for a Tiger's game. Pricelined a room and ended up with Courtyard by Mariott Downtown. When pricelining you don't get to choose the number of beds. The lady checking us in accomodated our request for two bed without a problem. You can hop on the people mover right at the hotel which is very convenient. Rooms are very clean and spacious and the mattresses are very comfortable. We didn't use the pool but looks very nice along with a nice fitness area. We would definitey stay there again!

Room Tip: if possible ask for a river view. It looks out to Canada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKUHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    218
    65
    24
    19
See reviews for
108
110
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I spend four nights there in mid april 2012. Still a good place to go, right around everything, across Ren-Cen, a couple of blocks from Greektown, just across the street from the boarder.
Great place but need a small facelift.
Not much action in the restaurant, the room was nice and clean but getting gradually old (its not my first visit there). I had one bottle of shampoo for 4 days that they never replaced, same for the toilet paper. I presume you need to ask the maid.
Overall a good place to stay

Room Tip: You can pack your car yourself, i'll cost 10 dollars a night, but you cant take it out before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have stayed here several times whether we are cheering for Tigers or Wings. Easy to walk to either venue, or take People Mover and then walk back to hotel after. Love the waterfront walk back from the Joe. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Easy access when arriving from Tunnel. Free tour at GM Ren Cen is a nice bonus. Breakfast buffet is only option. Excellent food but a bit too expensive. Short taxi ride to Slow's BBQ - a must.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed recently for a Wings playoff game, it was easy to find and the valet parking went well. Check in was very smooth and efficient. Our room was on the 8th floor and looked out towards the GM headquarters and the river. The room was clean but a bit dated in terms of carpets and drapery. We stayed at the Doubletree the week before for about $30 more and really enjoyed their suite.

We had payed for breakfast as part of the package and it was really excellent. There is a cook there to make you eggs to order, omelets or waffles. Plus, a nice buffet of bacon, fresh fruit etc.

The front desk was very accomdating - when we checked out the stored our bags for us as we headed to the game. They could not have been nicer about this. Speaking of the game, the People Mover stops right inside the hotel; really convenient! Worked perfectly for us ~ as an aside, while on the People Mover the night before the game, a gentleman spoke with us who is a lifelong Detroiter. We did not know just how to find the restaurant we were looking for but he knew right where it was and walked us to it. He was as kind and polite as could be.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiteshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night to go to a red wings game. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable and we heard no loud noises. Our favorite part was the pool and hot tub which is on the roof top with glass windows looking out over the river. We purchased the hotels red wings package which included in the cost 4 people mover tokens, valet parking, and breakfast at the hotels restaurant. The breakfast buffet was wonderful! There is a chef at the who will cook omelets and waffles to order. We felt very safe in the area around the hotel walking with children. You can also acess the people mover and walking tunnels from within the hotel. It is directly across the street from the General Motors building which houses a wonderful food court and shops. (Take the free tour of the GM building and you will get to go to the 72nd floor which has spectacular views of the city!) It is very convenient to the Joe Louis arena and Greek town. (about 4 blocks) We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we came to detroit for some easter r and r picked this marriot we were not disappointed clean room friendly staff easy and quick checkin/out the pool was great with wonderful views we don't need to look elsewhere for our next trip to the motor city!!

Room Tip: parked for free on randolph st right outside the hotel's west entrance after 10pm got there at 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomnsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here one night with the family while taking in a Red Wing Hockey game. We took the People Mover to Greektown for lunch and then to the Joe Louis Arena. You can get to the People Mover from within this hotel - which makes for a great way to commute!

The hotel is close enough to the Joe that rather than fight the crowds to ride back, we simply walked back to our hotel.

The pool is nice, but you have to get to it by going through the fitness area. I'm not sure I would appreciate that if I was there to work out.

The hot tub wasn't working while we were there either.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hall. There were no bathroom fans and you could hear everything that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julana19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Property: Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing