We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service is horrible for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Spent 3 nights with the family at this hotel. BIG mistake service is horrible. reserved the stay on line thought it might be a good hotel to stay in considering my wife never been to Detroit. Order room with a king bed and a crib. Arrived in there the next day, I checked in when I got to the room two full beds no crib available. Next day, arrived late night with a sleeping baby after being out all day was chased down by a GM motor company security guard with a dirt frown on his face telling me I could not to my room with out showing him my room key. After waking the baby up to adjust to get the room key. he let us to our room and then chased down a Hispanic gentlemen for his key and let a Caucasian couple past him. The next day checked out with out saying the final night no refund or apology from the manager after valet spit at my feet after not giving him a tip. even thought I paid 22 dollars a night for parking. Stayed the night at Henry Ford collection in Dearborn great service. go there don't waste your time!

Room Tip: stay at the Henry Ford collection in Dearborn, Mi for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Dre T,

I’m sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel security. We are located on the campus of General Motors World Headquarters, connected to the Renaissance Center and contract their highly trained and qualified security staff. This provides the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown many services a typical downtown hotel cannot, including on-duty Emergency Medical Technicians twenty-four hours a day. I will pass along your feedback as the officers are expected to conduct themselves in a respectful and professional manner.

I was not aware of the circumstances you described in your review, but would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further. The need to present your room key at the elevator is expected from all of our hotel guests after 9:00 PM to provide a safe and secure environment.

Jon Coutts - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

After discovering a connecting door in our room, I went back down to check-in desk and asked to change to non-adjoining room - Very friendly and helpful response from staff.
(infact everyone we met in Detroit were friendly!).
Self parking $16 behind hotel.
Clean and spacious room.
Very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.
Walking distance in safe area to many bars and restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing staying in Detroit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Wilson,

Thank you for the excellent recommendation. I’m glad to hear we were able to accommodate you with a room that did not have connecting doors. We don’t have many, and although the doors are very secure they are really only in demand if you need the second room!

We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you visit Detroit.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after our plans had changed. We walked in & were accommodated immediately. The staff here is exceptional. We were impressed with how friendly & helpful everyone was with a smile on their face. Our room was on the 17th floor with great views of the Detroit river, Canada & city. The room was very clean & spacious. A King bed, sofa, chair, desk, bureau, small safe, mini frig & coffee maker. The mattress & pillows were on the firm side. The bathroom had a long sink counter & tub. Our room was quiet, cold & dark. A perfect sleep! We did not explore the hotel but they have a small store, cafe/bar, gym, & pay for breakfast. The hotel is on the people mover, walking distance to some restaurants, Cobo Center, & sporting arena. Short driving distance to MGM & Motor City casinos. We chose to valet at $20 day for convenience. Self pay is $16 around the block.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Deb,

Thank you for a great recap of our hotel’s amenities. Even after managing the Courtyard for the last six years, I’m still amazed at some of the views from our guest rooms.

We’re looking forward to your next unplanned or planned return soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great hotel for meetings and visiting. Close access to People Mover and Sports stadiums, Gluten-free food choices. Comfortable room with view of Ambassador Bridge and Detroit River. Professional staff.

Only drawback was too soft mattress

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I can not recommend the Detroit Courtyard strongly enough. It is the staff that make this downtown hotel so extraordinary. I'm a regular business traveler. Across the skywalk, the Marriott Ren Cen boasts 1300+ rooms, and (with exceptions) their impersonal service level shows it. Been there, done that and nothing bad to say. But the Courtyard is so darn welcoming and comfortable by comparison! After multiple stays at both properties, my choice is clear. Take note of the number of regulars. Even if you are a first-time, one-time guest, please mention this note when you check in. Watch them smile and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Special shout outs to front desk crew Lela, Carrie and Fatima. Drop by the cafe lounge and ask for Mariana and Michael. You are going to like this place.
At the front desk, say hi from Mr. Hoover. At the Cafe, I'm Doug.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: I always ask for a xx25 room. Great views, spacious accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoover360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Mr. Hoover,

Thank you for the kind review. We were sorry to learn your frequent business trips to Detroit were winding down, but in typical “Doug” fashion you departed the Courtyard with a friendly TripAdvisor gesture.

It was always our pleasure to welcome you back to the Courtyard Detroit Downtown, and on behalf of the entire Courtyard staff we look forward to that opportunity again soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location, close to downtown and the riverfront. Bright and spacious room with a beautiful view on the city and the river. Good service. Nonetheless, a bad thing...the mattress is really too soft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was centrally located to upscale restaurants and the Canadian Border plus three casinos. The location was on the same road as nice high rises but once you leave Jefferson street you will find homelss people begging for money, sleeping in the middle of the sidewalk, run down, abandoned and graffitti filled builidngs and a lot of police presence. The hotel rooms were large and the hotel restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. There is easy access to the General Motors building across the street with shops, restaurants and and CVS plus easy access to the People Mover (overhead train) through a variety of enclosed walkways. The room cleaning service needs work. There was hair on the shower walls and the next day there were black shoe prints all over my bathroom floor and something brown all over the ceiling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTWDCGM, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Carol,

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment with housekeeping and apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced.

We appreciate the feedback from TripAdvisor reviews, as well as what we receive from other Internet sites and our Marriott Guest Satisfaction Survey. The negative comments are immediately researched and addressed with the appropriate department manager for resolution.

Please contact me personally if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jon Coutts – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Downtown

Address: 333 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-4352
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £160 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Detroit Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among hotels in downtown Detroit, Michigan, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this boutique downtown Detroit hotel including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in downtown Detroit and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a multi-million dollar room renovation featuring plush bedding, spacious bathrooms, high-speed Internet, and much more. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as extensive meeting space, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Marriott
Detroit Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing