We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was planning a trip for 6 guys, and this was the only hotel in a reasonable price range that said that had rooms that would accomodate 6. We were in town for a Tigers game and a night of casino/bar hopping, and we were able to fit 6 guys pretty comfortably in their large 2-queen + sofabed suite. The living room and bedrooms were big enough to fit 2 aerobeds, plus a rollaway bed from the hotel, so all 6 guys had their own mattress including the pullout sofa. Made for a very comfortable sleeping situation.
The amenities of the suite itself were pretty standard, no complaints about cleanliness or anything like that.
The location was pretty great for our purposes, walkable to the stadium, walkable to Greektown, and walkable to the MGM, but also right around the corner from public transportation if walking isn't your thing.
The only downside was having to pay 20 dollars for parking, with no self-parking alternative. I wish we had taken advantage of the restaurant/bar in the hotel lobby because that also looked pretty good. Overall a good stay at a great value and will most likely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Wow great to hear that you loved the size of our rooms. That happens to my favorite thing also it makes it so easy if you have several people in your room to be able to close the rooms off. Thanks for the great comments
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    418
    134
    62
    46
See reviews for
252
285
66
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have to say this hotel and it's restaurant bar were a very pleasant surprise. Scarlett and the staff in the Round Bar were excellent - fast and attentive. Food was GREAT!

The Round Bar stayed open after normal closing hours for our group and were always friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their work.

Rooms were fantastic - HUGE suites - clean comfortable beds and separate living room area - flat screen TV's in both rooms.

The Executive Lounge was not open while I was there - but I asked for and received vouchers for complimentary breakfasts. (8-day stay in November 2011).

Front Desk and shuttle driver staff were all very friendly and helpful - even took us to and from Motown Museum.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you so much for the response. It's always great to see when people are surprised by our hotel and our wonderful city. Hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Do not go to this hotel on a Monday. They hold a parking lot party until midnight that is directly under the windows. They use huge speakers with heavy bass music, making it impossible to sleep until the party is over. The crowd noise is also very bad until after the event is over. They advised me the event is every Monday night.
Upon check-in the staff was very unresponsive and acted as if they were doing me a favor by letting me stay in their hotel. They provided no information about the hotel to include me havng to ask for directions to the elevator. Very poor service all the way around.
On the positive side- the rooms are very spacious and well laid out. The beds are comfortable and had it not been for the incessant noise the night would have been nice.

Also note there is $20 valet parking as the only option other than unsecured lots which is not a good option in Detroit. I would recommend the Greektown Casino Hotel as a much nicer and comparatively priced hotel which is nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to avoid the party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I was so sorry to hear about the nosie keeping you up at night. We have just started this outside event and are working out the bugs to ensure we don't disturb our other guest. I have gone over your issues with the front office manager and can ensure you that service is our number one concern. I so hope you will try us again and see that we do know how to deliver the promise to our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Pros: Staff at front desk is generally overall extremely good, some of them very accommodating. Was given King Suite which was really nice. Wouldn't mind living there, the design of the rooms was so homey , comfortable, and pretty--- without that hotel weird vibe and design. You kind of don't want to leave your room. Free wi fi appreciated. Noise is not a problem. Cons: Was very disappointed that they said no to a 1/2 an hour grace period on checking out in the morning when at night they told me yes. The neighborhood is a big downer. It's scary. If you're not familiar with Detroit when you first come in, it can freak you out. The hotel is on a deserted street (at night-- forget it-- super-deserted), with bombed-out buildings all around. They tell you it's not at all unsafe but it feels unsafe. They do stress however, that you really, really should do the $20 valet parking, as your car will be broken in to. Twenty dollars. That's a lot. You can park on the street, but have to move your car by 7 AM, and again, there's lots of talk of getting broken in to. There are small parking lots all around ("5 dollar for tonight 10 dollar if you leave at 10 a.m."), but those places feel realllly sketchy and they don't seem manned at all past midnight so what's the point-- you'll be broken in there too. We valeted the car-- they take it some distance away, who knows where-- and it came back filled with green bugs. ???? Free USA today at your door in the morning. Three dollar bottles of 79 cent aquafina water. So, I complain, complain, complain, but still I liked it-- it was comfortable and the people were nice. It could MOST definitely use better housekeeping!-- but it's not nearly as bad as some other hotels I've been to, many at higher star levels, so it's not so bad. A note to housekeeping: Really bad dust problem. Needs to be dusted!!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on the friendly staff and the size of our rooms. I am disappointed in your experiance with housekeeping. We normally get great feedback in this area. I have reviewed your concerns with our Dir of housekeeping and her prompt attention will be taken moving forward. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here while in Detroit for my daughter wedding. Because of the media, I had a bad expectation of the city of Detroit, but my own personal experience was wonderful. The room was huge and very comfortable bed. Location is great. And Sarah, I will never forget her, she was the perfect example of excellent customer service skills. Weddings can be very stressful, but she showed my daughter and me so much compassion and patience in dealing with us. Thank you, and for sure I will come again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Someones wedding is so important and stressful at the same time. We were honored to be a part of that speical day and glad we helped releive the stress a bit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelsonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The least expensive Doubletree that I've ever stayed it.....It is located in war-torn Detroit....but is super upscale and nice. Safe private parking, big rooms with 2 TVs, etc. If you're looking for a place in Detroit - this is it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBarty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This Doubletree opened about 4-5 years ago in an old building that had sat dormant for many years. The Rooms and suites are varied in layout and offer lots of space for the money. The "round Bar" on the fitrst floor offers good food in a lively atmosphere. Good alternative to some of the more pricey hotels in Detroit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers - some tubs. Request your preference on reservation or on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbhIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I never get tired of hearing how nice and large our rooms are in the hotel. Thank you for your comments and glad to hear you had a great meal in our round bar. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Address: 525 W Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing