We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't expecting it to be so great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting it to be so great!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting the hotel to be so nice! The room was comfortable and the bed was great. Room service is very reasonable. Breakfast was pretty good too.
The casino was nice but it is NOT smoke free so be prepared!! It has both slots and table games. There are some nice restaurants close by if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tufferbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
It is a pleasure for us to hear of how impressed you were during your stay with us here at Greektown Casino Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    359
    105
    44
    37
See reviews for
101
444
60
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two days over the weekend for the Detroit Marathon. Valet parking was quick and easy, checking in was friendly and fast and I was able to choose the floor I wanted to stay on

The room was well laid out with floor to ceiling windows and modern amenities in the room. Bed was comfortable and a great location to Cobo Hall, Ford field, Comerica Park and Hockey Town. I could walk through the casino to the people mover to easily get around the city.

When I went to check out it was friendly and easy and valet had my car waiting for me. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with everyone. We are glad we could make your Detroit trek better than expected and hope that our hotel will entice you to the city more often! We are very proud of our team members and their unparalleled service as they are what makes Greektown Casino Hotel the place to stay and we are excited that you agree. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at the Greektown Casino hotel the night before the marathon. The room was clean and the bed super comfortable. The room was a bit on the small side. The staff at check-in was very friendly, and gave us an extra hour to get cleaned up after the marathon. The location is super convienient. We walked through the casino to get to the people mover. Nice to stay inside before a very cold run over to Canada and back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Julie. We cannot wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the night before the Detroit marathon last weekend. The Westin was booked, so we decided to give this hotel a try. Pros: located in Greektown, so there were plenty of restaurants to choose from. Fishbones is one of our favorites, and it was close by. The rooms were clean, and extra blankets were quickly delivered to our room. The staff was always smiling and greeted us throughout our stay. Check in and check out we're quick and easy. Cons: there is a casino in this hotel, and Las Vegas it isn't. The smoke was so bad, we really didn't want to even give the slots a try. The clientele consists of folks who are not there on vacation, so it really isn't an enjoyable environment. The hallway outside our room was noisy at different points throughout the night, so I guess I would have preferred a quieter location prior to my race. The hotel restaurants were adequate and there was a good variety of offerings. After we finished the race, we stopped at the hotel sports bar, Shots, for a celebratory Bloody Mary. It was was very understaffed so service was slow. The nachos were cold and I think it might have had canned cheese on it. Something fresher would have been more appealing. That being said, there was a Lions game downtown during our stay, so it was great to see so many families downtown to enjoy the great things Detroit has to offer. We used the People Mover to travel to and from the marathon event, and it was very convenient and safe. All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you have a short stay downtown. The staff here was actually more accommodating and overall more friendly than our previous Westin stay, and I guess I didn't expect that since it is a more affordable hotel. I would probably stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningMom47201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others looking for a great time in Detroit. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. Clean room, great view, super friendly staff, great location close to all the Greektown fun. Highly recommend. It is Detroit and the Casino and location does attract some sketchier crowds but security is very visible and we always felt comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are honored that you choose to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel and wish to do so again in the future. We are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We decided to do something a little out of the ordinary for us and spent the night at the Greektown Casino Hotel. We typically do not stay in local high end hotels. The reservation process was easy as is most all hotel reservation systems. However, upon arriving at the hotel and entering the lobby, we found our room was not ready yet. Not a big deal since we arrived about an hour and a half early for their advertised check in time. We went out into Greektwon and grabbed a late lunch. Upon our return our room was still not ready. We made the decision to wait in the lobby. The lobby itself is very spacious but starting to show it's age. The furniture was worn and very uncomfortable. Not to mention the style was very dated. The flower arrangements were cheap artificial ones. Very surprised to see that in a hotel that is advertised as high end. The outside of the hotel was in need of some attention as well. Numerous cigarette butts and trash on the sidewalks and there were empty coffee cups in the few outdoor flowerbeds that are there. The lobby staff was almost totally ignorant of the guests unless you approached them. The valet's were preoccupied with cell phones.
I approached the hotel registration desk three times while waiting for our room. I was somewhat surprised that they did not let us know that our room was ready since we were sitting just a short distance from them. The check-in process was average but not very personal at all. We are accustomed to a little more attention during the check-in process. You know, like where are you from or why are you here. None of that. They did not even point out where the concierge was located should we need directions or have any questions.
Upon entering our room our initial impression was that it was very small compared to the images on their website. The furnishings are very nice as well as the bathroom fixtures. The room appeared clean at first glance but upon a closer inspection (which we always do) found dust on top of items like picture frames and light switches. In the bathroom the toilet seat was loose and had a black stain on it. There was also what appeared to be pubic hair next to the toilet on the sliding door. The bed was nicely made with no signs of bed bugs. The sheets were fresh but did have one small stain. The comforter was fresh as well. The air conditioning was a bit inadequate for the room. Even on high set at 70 degrees it did not cool down. Even in the morning the room was a bit stale and still warm.
When we arrived back at our room for the night and got settled in, we found we had inconsiderate neighbors down the hall. Several intoxicated people going from room to room speaking very loudly. This continued until 3:30 AM when hotel security finally removed them from the property. Why it took so long I do not know.
My overall impression of this Hotel is that we will not return. Upon checking out I brought up my experiences to the desk personnel. She did not even acknowledge anything I said and just handed me my receipt and said to have a nice day. That was it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougP213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on the ability to provide the highest level of quality and service to our guest. We are regretful for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit with us. Unfortunately, rare occurrences take place and the guests’ overall perspective of the hotel is affected. Please reach out to me, at Cnelson@greektowncasino.com and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They (the staff) have to put up with quite a few 'characters' in the late hours and all whom we saw did a fine job of keeping their cool and maintaining professionalism. The room was also very clean. We stayed on the 30th floor and had a wonderful view of the city at night. The only complaint I have is the design of the bathroom/shower area and overall sound proofing. The doors are part wood with frosted glass inserts. As you can imagine the glass is not much of a sound barrier. Everyone in the main room can hear everything in the bathroom. When my husband was showering I had to turn up the TV. We could also hear everyone in the hall. I was glad we were on the top floor and only had guests below us.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the West. The city view at night is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaEllen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments in regards to your recent visit. We hope you will once again stay with us the next time you are attending events downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Property: Greektown Casino Hotel
Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing