We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible security team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was impressed the hotel and rooms itself but had a horrible experience with the security during my stay. After checking out and missing 2 iPads and a laptop I had to literally beg security to check the room to see if we left the items. A very discourteous security told that I was telling him how to operate but they do not operate like that, he would call us back if they found anything. Which was fine but we were visit and leaving the city. After searching through our stuff more things were showing up missing and realize our vehicle was broken into. Our car was park at the greektown lot 95% of the time, so my thought was some may had stolen the stuff out of the car then. Security told me that if I don't know what happen to the stuff and is he suppose to know. I've never seen such a discourteous person in my life. I asked to speak with a security supervisor. The supervisor was a little bit more polite but was more concern with justifying his rude employee than actually helping us because we did not know what to do. We ended up just filing a police complaint.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Islandboy242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your concern with us about the security team. If you could pleased email your name and contact information to feedback@greektowncasino.com, we would like to hear more about your stay. Security is our number one priority and we want to make sure that all of your concerns are addressed in a proper fashion. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the room that you were staying in while you were here. We hope that we can connect with you very soon to discuss this matter. Thank you for choosing Greektown for your stay in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Greektown Casino Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Love the location of the hotel, within walking distance to so many of the downtown venues. Great service from the moment you walk in to the moment you're driving away. Everyone is helpful, pleasant and very much service oriented! Room was super clean, modern design and the bed itself was very restful. We greatly enjoyed the stay and are looking forward to another visit!

Room Tip: King room perfect size for a nice 'couples evening'. Higher floors have a gorgeous view of t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AbbyE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for sharing a review of your stay with us Abby. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects for your stay from the location, all the way to the décor of the hotel. We always strive to make every guest feel comfortable and welcome while they are staying with us. We have had our mattresses handpicked by our hotel manager, so that they can provide the most restful sleep during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit to Detroit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our second time staying here. We were hoping for an early check in before the Tiger's game but the room wasn't quite ready. We understood. Beautiful hotel. When we got back from the game our bellman was of great service to us. And our valet people were very personable when we left.

Room Tip: Look for promos on Greektown's website :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JennKidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are very happy to hear about your visit to Detroit Jenn. We apologize that we did not have your room prepared for an early check in, but we hope that we were able to accommodate you during the time it took to prepare it. Our team is always happy to assist with any needs you may have, so please do not hesitate to ask! We hope that during your next visit to Detroit, we can be your hotel of choice again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect location for doing anything in downtown Detroit. People Mover available to go about anywhere. The room is away from the casino so it is very quiet. We only had breakfast but the restaurant was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdwardCogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you so much for your raving review Edward. Our location is the best in the city for anyone who is looking to get to different events and entertainment areas. The location also provides for an outstanding view from our hotel. We like to offer a luxurious stay for those who enjoy the gaming and also for those who do not. The breakfast at Bistro 555 is a great option for our guests and provides many great choices. Please come back and check it out for lunch or dinner as well! We hope that we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

While I am not a person to go to casinos, I do stay at Greektown everytime I am in Detroit. The hotel is easy to get to, and move around town from. With valet parking or use if the ample parking ramp I akways feel safe going to and from my car.The rooms are large, tbe beds are comfortable, the dining is nearly excellent and the staff is the best.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors, say 15 and above facing Canada the view are great, a glass of wine and the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are so happy to hear about your experiences at Greektown Deb. We are always happy to provide comfortable accommodations for our casino players and non-casino players. Our location the Greektown Historic District is one of our distinguished features. It provides many great dining and entertainment within walking distances as well as accessibility to the rest of the downtown area. We are always pleased to have you stay with us and we hope that we get to have you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We always stay at Greektown whenever we're in Detroit and are never disappointed. The location is great and the staff is always friendly. Casino is a lot of fun too! Greektown is THE place to stay for Wings and Tigers games. Love it!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are always happy to have you as a guest in our hotel and are pleased to hear that our service and accommodations always satisfy you. Did you know that we are currently undergoing many upgrades and updating within our casino and hotel? Please make sure to take a look around when you come back to see us. Also, whenever you attend an event in Detroit, make sure to bring your ticket stub to CLUB Greektown and we will provide you with some great deals and discounts. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed May 6 and had a great experience. Beautiful view of the Detroit river as we were on the 24th floor. The staff was terrific and the rooms were clean. Room was extremely quiet. Lots of food choices. The casino is big and spread out over two floors. The slots are pretty tight though. Drinks are reasonable priced and the Bartenders were quick and friendly. I am not sure if there is still a buffet. If there is I didn't see it, but I didn't ask either. Went to the Tigers game while we were there and if you show your ticket they give you a dollar off draft beer. Plenty of security and close to lots of outside restaurants. Great location.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review James. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Our location is great for many reasons including dining, entertainment and of course the view! We are currently in the process of making many upgrades and additions to our casino and hotel, so we hope to have you back to see them. We no longer offer a buffet, but we have added in the Market District which has many great food choices for everyone. Next time that you are in the city, please bring your ticket stub from any event to our CLUB Greektown desk and we will provide you with many more deals and discounts! We can’t wait to have you stay with us again James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#5 of 33 in Detroit
1,099 reviews
1.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £120 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL YOUR DOWNTOWN ADVENTURE STARTS HERE. Rev up your weekend. Electrify your nightlife. Explore Detroit's hottest scene. Thanks to our unbeatable location in the hub of the Greektown district, it's impossible to be any closer to the action. With 400 stunning guest rooms and suites devoted to your comfort, our 30-story hotel is the perfect place to relax and recharge after a night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing