We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”

Michael Symon's Roast
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Symon's Roast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good place”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very well located restaurant, which includes valet parking service. Service is ok, but our waitress was rushy - she insisted several times to get our order as fast as we could. The steaks are so-so, since they are prepared with different sauces and side dishes. I would prefer the classic american steak.

Helpful?
Thank Ecssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    182
    83
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best brussel sprouts ever!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection, my filet was exactly as I had asked and the surprise of the evening was the brussel sprouts. They were roasted with garlic and olive oil and just simply delicious. I know the menu can change but we had a large assortment of food at our table and there were no complaints from anyone. There is nice selection of wins and other beverages and I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A really amazing meal. Fabulous wine. Six of us and we each had something different and we all were thrilled. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank juanini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a Great Choice”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I have been here several times since it opened. We have never had the same meal and we have never had a bad one! The decor is great - upscale but with a casual feel. The service is excellent and the food is always a mix of creative and comfort. Even if you don't like brussels sprouts - you MUST get them! No exceptions. Also the beast of the day is often pig- and it's perfect. Their steaks are fantastic. If you just want a burger before the game, stop by and sit at the bar - there are no better and the price is great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh yeah...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Truly outstanding.
Showed up without a reservation on a busy night - hostess went out of her way to seat us.
Service-best in class (Brian)?
Menu- lots of meat(always good) but wildly creative all around. Pork shank-best I've ever had.
Since every good review has SOME thing to improve upon... The "shareable" Rib-eye was too good to share. And definitely not big enough for two hungry guys. But hey, if that's the worst thing I can come up with - well you get the drift.
In Detroit? Go !!!

Helpful?
Thank Nagletrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael Symon's Roast also viewed

 

Been to Michael Symon's Roast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing