We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Corktown Eatery”
Review of Mudgie's

Mudgie's
Ranked #23 of 1,109 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Atlanta
Level Contributor
736 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“An Excellent Corktown Eatery”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was my first time eating at this restaurant since it became Mudgie's. I've always loved the location in Detroit's oldest neighborhood, Corktown. Mudgie's is small, popular and fills up quickly. I'm glad I beat the lunch crowd. The menu offers a nice variety of sandwiches. I ordered a Barrett so I could try their corned beef and a bottled drink. The sandwich was large and the corned beef very tender, the way I like it. Mudgie's offers a variety of desserts, but I was too filled to eat anything else. The service was friendly and attentive.

This is one of those great little neighborhood restaurants. I plan to go back next time I'm in Detroit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
590 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice space. Food Needs a Little Work”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The atmosphere is decidedly friendly. We were greeted immediately upon entering one mid-afternoon Saturday recently, and then given a choice of three different tables. Though the decor is simple (plastic table cloth coverings), colors are warm and the place gives off a comfortable vibe. The hard wood floors are a interesting too. We loved the music — electronica, jazz, easy-going and young.
I ordered tomato soup with chorizo. Though it was served luke-warm, I enjoyed the spicy flavors and the tomato chunks. The slice of brown bread that accompanied the soup tasted like it had just come from the refrigerator unfortunately. One bite was enough.
The Caesar salad was fairly large, even for a half-order. It seemed a bit short on garlic flavor, but the dressing amount was adequate and the romaine was fresh. I tried the Barrett sandwich half-order with corned beef and house-made slaw. It was supposed to be served on a fresh onion roll, but it came on a couple half slices of cold bread. Maybe they had run out of the featured rolls by mid-afternoon. For dessert I tried the chocolate milk shake. It tasted more like milk and less like an ice cream shake. It left me thinking that I should have ordered the rich Calder's chocolate milk instead.
I loved the space and the friendly staff was a plus, but based on my meal, I think the food needed a little work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little find in Detroit”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our group of eight got there early and barely beat the crowd. Easy to see why this place does well. Everyone loved their soup, salads, sandwiches, milk shakes, etc. A guy on a bike delivered trays of fresh sprouts we think ended up on our sandwiches! Very cool! We parked right on the street and walked in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTravelerI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best sandiwch shop in Detroit”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Out of this world food. Not a sandwich on the menu I wouldn't eat. This is not the best place for large groups and anything more than 4 and this is not the best place. Great for business lunches during the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdmaake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Sammies, Great Ginger Beer”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The selection of both sandwiches and beer at this place is amazing. Especially the brews. Very friendly waitress, and Greg the owner even stopped by all the tables to check on their well being.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mudgie's also viewed

 

Been to Mudgie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing