We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Atheneum(Detroit)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$186
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
46
83
78
70
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
83
78
70
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoot ceilingsenjoyed my stayjazzriverfrontwindsor
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

As stated in my title review this hotel could be a "gem" if managed correctly. My husband and I stayed at this hotel 9years ago on our Honeymoon night, it was charming, lovely and romantic. Decided to spend our 9th honeymoon here as well. Ugh! Why didn't I review before we reserved? Hotel is awful! Upon entering our room, no bed skirt, all we saw was box springs, no ironing board, 2 small pillows, no key to in room safe, and sparse amenities. Called front desk to inquire about bed skirt, safe key and lack of pillows. Told housekeeping has left for the day...it's 3:00, check in time? Told she would (front desk) would see if she could locate an extra pillow; however, we had to come down to retrieve a safe key. Check in staff brought a pillow and ironing board from next room. Will NEVER darken this hotels doorstep again!!! Go elsewhere if you desire a quality stay, we've already decided to forgo the continental breakfast based on reviews know read, although too late.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Liblck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel needs serious work in maintenance and customer service. Door knobs were hanging off; several people got stuck in the bathroom and could not get out. One couple left because the lock on their room was broken and never fixed. The facility was overbooked. The response to their concern was rude and arrogant. Other room reservations were lost. The lobby was sweltering when it was cool and pleasant outside. The only phone in my room was in thr bathroom and there was no clock at all. The continental breakfast was cold muffins. The wheel chairs that were provided were all broken, one with no foot rests and one with no arm rests and one foot rest. That could easily be remedied. The locatio is great. Right on the Riverwalk but the faility needs a major overall and a lean sweep of staff with emphasis on customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Let's start off by saying the review below me by Jordan6022? Nailed it. We had almost the exact same experience last weekend also there for a wedding so just know, that review is SPOT. ON. Here's my top points:

Pros:
- large rooms, tall ceilings / windows
- beautiful room (IF you are on the river side)

and thats it.

Cons:
- Everything is just dingy. Door hinges broken, phones broken, dirty carpet, thin/old towels, broken coffee maker. Broken drain and several outlets not working, which already are a rare find in hotel rooms
- Housekeeping... ha! We ran out of toilet paper and had to call the front desk THREE times. Not enough pillows or "towels" either
- continental "breakfast" consisted of a Keurig (yep, at a HOTEL) and muffins about the size of golf balls pre-wrapped... likely from the 7-11 down the street
- The noise.... oh God, the noise. The hotel restaurant on the lower level rented out their space to a Western Michigan University Alumni club and blared music / lights until 2:30 am. You could hear it pounding through the walls - - oh and a fight broke out right outside a wedding guests window. Several wedding guests checked out at 2 am because they couldn't take it anymore. Many calls were made to the front desk who did nothing. The guests at that party weren't even staying at the hotel!

This hotel needs new management. It has wonderful potential with the historic charm and location, but they are failing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Let me start with the positives, because there are a few. Ivy Simmons, the Sales Manager, was helpful in the planning process of our wedding room block (we had about 35 rooms). Her communication was good, was polite, and had a sincere concern about the issues that occurred while staying there. The location is off the beaten path, but right on the Detroit River. It has great views and has a nice outdoor brick patio for enjoying a drink at the end of the night (bring your own). Parking was free as well. As far as the good, that's about it.

Lets continue on with the bad. The hotel is dirty, not disgusting, but really needs a good scrub down. The staff, with a few exceptions, were lazy and rude to most of our guests. They had a general sense of complacency and are not being managed properly. With the exception of the front desk guy named Miguel, most of the staff could be trained if they had a strong leader to show them the ropes. Miguel has no business working in the customer service business.

We had a penthouse for a total of five nights. It received housekeeping services ONCE, even after mentioning this to the management. The room was dark, but big. The towels are hand me downs from the motel 6, terrible. The size of the soap brings a whole new meaning to small. We ran out several times, good thing we brought our own! The A/C was also an issue. it worked sometimes, while other times I was sweating while sleeping.

We received numerous complaints from our guests that travelled near and far to be with us on our special day. The father of the bride had to change rooms at 1:00am on our wedding night because the hotel allowed a DJ to perform in the rooms next to his. Apparently there was a bachelor party booked. When I asked Miguel to see if security could have the DJ stop playing he refused, in a very unprofessional way. I asked him three times that night, each time he barely moved from his lazy postured sitting position to even acknowledge my existence. He was determined to allow the party to resume. Did I mention there was a DJ in the room? Not a loud radio, but a DJ!!

Other complaints were that housekeeping would not clean the rooms each day, but rather offer soap and shampoo as a way to "clean the room." Several guests ran out of toilet paper and when they called to the front desk they were advised that housekeeping was gone for the day.

One of the bridesmaids checked in to her hotel and literally had feces on her toilet seat along with dirty washcloths hanging right above the toilet. After practically throwing up in her mouth, her husband went to the front desk to mention this. No sincere apology, just a coupon for free breakfast at the "restaurant" on the lower level. I put restaurant in quotes because I really have no idea what it is. They supply free breakfast (bad looking oranges and sysco or Sams Club pastries with subpar coffee) in addition to other menu items. I saw a few items come out of the kitchen and there was no way I would eat that food. It looked horrible!

Upon mentioning the fact that well over half of our guests had a terrible experience, Ivy Simmons discussed these matters with the general manager, David Strickland. I had no idea they even had a GM at this place. Ivy expressed his apology to us from him. Way to send others to do your dirty work for you, sir! I never received a phone call, a visit to the door, or anything to apologize. Oh wait, he offered us dinner and drinks for two at his "restaurant." No thanks, not sure if there would be enough toilet paper in our room to handle the food from that place.

Part of me wants to steal Ivy away from that place and set her up in a good hotel that treats her as well as she treats the guests. If anyone from the Marriott or other chain is looking for a good sales manager, give her a call and help her get out of that dungeon of a place. She's way over qualified for the Roberts.

Long story short, even if your wedding is at the Rattlesnake Club or a surrounding area, PLEASE take our advice and book your hotel elsewhere. The location of this place in relation to the Rattlesnake is awesome, but if I could do it all over again, I would have chosen another place. Don't let your guests suffer like ours did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jordan6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding. The location is nice because of the river walk and view, but is not near anything in Detroit of interest. The hotel claims to have free wifi. We could never find the network. They claim to have a restaurant, but it is not open all the time. There is no valet, no bell service. The front desk staff was very helpful. The rooms were in need of new carpet and a good deep cleaning. If you must visit downtown Detroit, there are better places. There is no elevator from the entrance to the lobby requiring you to carry your bags up a flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aebmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews