We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Go to the car show almost every year. This is the best hotel
downtown by far. Was concerned that the hotel may be deteriorated because it seemed to be worn more each year.

Checked in using program points. I knew from internet there
were no premium view rooms avalible. Lady at desk acted
as my personal advocate to ensure I would like my view.
I did. You can see for 3-5 miles from the 50th floor.

New big flat screen, huge cozy bed, super clean bath, safe
deposit box in room, and nice fitness center.

All employees kind and helpful and the parking was only 12
bucks. Last week I paid 43 at the Chicago W lakeshore!

Connected to people mover, food court downstairs, shopping
in the plaza...everything except a pool.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sportsvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2008

We stayed here one night because it was close to the Joe Louis Arena and we really enjoyed it. The complex is huge but there are alot of staff around to help if you are lost. We found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and professional. All you have to do is ask. The people mover was a big help to be right there in the building. We had a breakfast included in our price of the room and the breakfast is great. There are alot of choices in the buffet and very courteous staff attending to the breakfast. We would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rphsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

I stayed at the RenCen back in March-April (30-2) for Wrestlemania weekend. And I couldn’t have been more pleased. It's like a small city. There is everything you need in this hotel, with the expectation of a pool, which didn't bother us since we didn't spend that much time in the hotel. But there are clothing stores, gift shops, classy restaurants, a food court, and even a movie theater. The front desk could not have been quicker, even with all the people staying that weekend. We got our room in a jiffy with the numerous amounts of check in desk. I don't remember which floor we stayed on since it was a while back but it was pretty high up. And had a fantastic view of Detroit, and Windsor, which is just across the river. The room was your normal Marriott size, would have preferred a bigger TV, but like I said before, we didn't spend that much time in the hotel so it wasn't that big of deal. The elevator were fast and quick, no problem there. We ordered room service, two nights at around midnight, and each time they came quick, and the food was good and hot. In our room we couldn’t hear no one, even with the hotel having over 1000 people staying there that weeked. If you're going to visit Detroit, this is the place to stay. Couldn't have asked for a better place. Amazing, and every time I see this hotel in a picture or on TV, I think about the great time I had here.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RenCen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Just for travelers information. I booked this motel through Travelocity and had to cancel my reservation. I was, still, billed $164.72 to my credit card (even though I never stayed there!) because I was told that this is the motel's policy. A ripoff! Travelocity tells me that the only way I can be reimbursed is if the manager of the motel OK's it and they never seem to answer their phone. I even called and left a message and was never called back! What a way to do business!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank madtravelerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

My first impression of this hotel "not user friendly". Upon arriving we used the valet service so far so good. Unfortunately once we entered the building we had no idea where to go to check in. There were no signs and nobody to help. After a couple of "wrong ways" we finally got it right and worked our way through the maze of corridors to find the check in desk. We stayed on a Saturday night and I must say this is not the place to stay on the weekend. None of the shops or restaurants were open, even the hotel bar was closed. We found the facility to be massive and a bit confusing when walking around. It feels like you are staying in an office building, which you basically are. The close proximity to the people mover is nice so you can get to other areas of the city and find something to do because the Marriott RenCen had nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagleMI-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

First - let me say this was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the views from our room on the 61st floor were fantastic, and it was very clean. Elevator service was exceptionally fast - we never waited more than 15 seconds. The RenCen has plenty to see and do and the PeopleMover station is just a short walk away. I would highly recommend this hotel for tourists, casino visitors, and those who just want a weekend getaway. A few caveats: 1. If you self-park (Port Atwater or Beaubien Place garages), the hotel lobby is on the opposite side of the complex so you'll have to haul luggage further than expected. 2. The hotel has a 'no cooler' policy. I can't fault the hotel for wanting to discourage rowdy room parties, but I was a bit suprised that my husband and I were not allowed our small cooler. It was politely checked for us in the hotel's luggage room. 3. As of December '07, GM World (part of the RenCen complex) is closed and undergoing construction. Although the noise is not heard at all in the hotel rooms, it is apparent while walking around the shops. 4. Although the bathrooms in the hotel rooms have just been renovated, they are still a little too small. I'm not sure why the closet is so huge and the bathroom so small.
Overall, I can report that I booked the stay with Priceline and was very happy with the result - the hotel was a pleasant surprise and an excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagrange1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Our stay was great! not complaints. Our room was in tower 400 on the 51 floor and had a great room, but a small bathroom. No construction, noise or complaints. This place is huge lots to see and do, they even have a movie theater!. The food court has over 15 different small places to eat and good price. They have may upscale eateries and bar food if you want it.
We went to the Lions game and had a blast they killed Denver!!! The people mover is right in the hotel and great!! just 50 cents a ride. On Sunday it starts a 12 noon so we walked to Ford field and it only about 8 blocks, a fun walk. We took the mover back and had no problems---get off at Greektown.

Tip----Park in the Beaubien Garage it connects to the hotel (2nd floor walkway) and is only 5 dollars a day!!!!!!! they dont tell you this

# On-site parking, fee: 15 USD daily
# Valet parking, fee: 23 USD daily

Don't pay it, not worth it and the Beaubien you can leave and come back!! We checked in on Sat - 3 3pm and Checked out on Sun the 4 at 8pm for only 7 dollars!!!!! Its $ 40 dallars to park at
Ford field!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank all4thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £172 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing