We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
455
636
364
151
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
636
364
151
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtvolt barpeople moverren cencoach insigniathe concierge loungecvs pharmacyhigh riseview of the rivergeneral motorsacross the rivergm headquartershigh floorjazz festivallarge hotelfloor to ceiling windowslobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
916 - 921 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is in need of a facelift, but from the signs in the loby it sounds like one is coming soon. that said, it was adequate for my purposes and well located for my meeting. the staff was very helpful and Ricardo the bellman went out of his way to help me with directions. If my travels bring me back to teh Motor City, i will come back to the Marriott.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigPen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello Pigpen, first and foremost we'd like to note that we truly enjoy your profile pic (and obviously your username). Thank you for staying with us here in Detroit. We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and we very much appreciate the four stars. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I did like the Marriott ,but it did not have anything to offer us. We did not have complimentry breakfast for the price. The bed was not clean I could of wash my own sheets pillow case not clean. For the money our sister did not stay they had to leave and go somewhere else. I was very disappointed but it was convent at the time.No swimming pool and parking was $25 a day and the parking people have to get tip every time they bring you your car. They are not part of the hotel so if something goes wrong with your car it's not on the hotel. The hotel gets the money for parking. Also it is different people in that clean your room.So when you leave you are leaving a tip for the last person not know if they are going toshare with he others the money. I was not please at all.

Room Tip: Look at the floor the cleanness of the bathroom and make sure your bed is clean sheets, pillow and spread
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello Stephanie and thank you for visiting with us here in Detroit and of course for taking the time to post about your visit. We are sincerely sorry for your disappointment while visiting. You are correct that we do not have a pool however this is noted on our property website. We are sorry that you were not aware in advance about our amenities. Once again, we thank you for visiting. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I traveled here downtown for business. The Marriott is a great hotel and you really do not have to leave in order to get anything. Restaurants, Stores, and shops are inside the hotel. If you do want to venture out, the tunnel to Canada is a great place to go. The hotel is primarily housed by General Motors so it does have a very business like theme to it.
The hotel rooms are very standard and if you get a high enough floor, it does provide great views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dabearsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post. We love seeing the glowing five star review and appreciate you visiting with us! We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms for the for the eminem concert and showed up to check in at 3 so we could have plenty of time to get ready before the show. Took me an hour and half in line to check in and even then I had to wait an additional 3 hours to get a room and that was after 30 minutes of complaining to the manager. We had 30 minutes to get ready before the show started. An aweful experience and am extremely disappointed for the amount of money we payed for this wait time!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello Dev and thank you for taking the time to post. We are very sorry for the experience you noted while visiting. Please know that should you wish to speak with our general manager directly about your experience, you may email her directly at detroitmarriott@marriott.com with details and of course your contact information. Once again, we apologize and we thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a convention, and found it adequate. The center is easily accessible from the highway. The parking lots are reasonably close and reached by a sky bridge. There's no door opening button on the outside doors from the parking lots, which would've been useful to wheelchair users and guests hauling a lot of luggage. The internal layout is confusing at first, with circles upon circles on many levels set around the central tower. Check-in was fine and easy, the staff polite. The hotel as a whole is clean and tidy. The convention rooms are big and easy to access.

The room had a good view over the river to Canada. There's a tea/coffee maker but no microwave or refrigerator. The bathroom ventilation is poor, with no kind of powered extractor system so it steamed up quickly. We didn't like the pillows, which were too soft, but the bed was comfortable.

Those with cell phones and other e-devices should check the service before use to ensure they're on the correct US network. Canada is only just across the river and linking to a Canadian system will incur roving charges.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to post. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your experience and we also wanted to thank you for posting your tip about possible international roaming charges. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews