We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Winslow, ME
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights for a conference in Aug. and was not really impressed. The hotel itself looks nice, but the rooms could stand to be updated. The sheets were never changed the whole week I was there, I had to leave notes for room service to leave things..like toilet paper! On the last night, room service never came and we had to call them to bring clean towels. Oh and a friend who was also at the conference...her room had bugs crawling out of her TV.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mpsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello and thank you for visiting with us this month. Also thank you for taking your time to post about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, we are truly sorry for the experience you noted with housekeeping. Please know that we have passed your comments on to our executive team for their review. We're very sorry for these issues. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    579
    324
    146
    122
See reviews for
195
308
68
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here in February during the worst snow storms for many years. Could not leave the hotels minus 30C below so was imprisoned here, gym ok (staff very friendly) food ok but limited choice. Rooms tired although I believe a refurb is underway, I wouldn't go back out of choice but very convenient for work which out weighs all my problems with it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lifts
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any of these practises so that must be good I guess
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pique63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello and thank you for visiting this past winter. You are correct that it was one of the worst winters on record. We're sad to say that another is headed our way this year as well. We're very sorry about your disappointments noted in the post. We are in fact in the midst of a massive $30M renovation and perhaps on your next visit, you'll be a bit more wowed with our new design. Until then, thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is in need of a facelift, but from the signs in the loby it sounds like one is coming soon. that said, it was adequate for my purposes and well located for my meeting. the staff was very helpful and Ricardo the bellman went out of his way to help me with directions. If my travels bring me back to teh Motor City, i will come back to the Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigPen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Pigpen, first and foremost we'd like to note that we truly enjoy your profile pic (and obviously your username). Thank you for staying with us here in Detroit. We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and we very much appreciate the four stars. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I did like the Marriott ,but it did not have anything to offer us. We did not have complimentry breakfast for the price. The bed was not clean I could of wash my own sheets pillow case not clean. For the money our sister did not stay they had to leave and go somewhere else. I was very disappointed but it was convent at the time.No swimming pool and parking was $25 a day and the parking people have to get tip every time they bring you your car. They are not part of the hotel so if something goes wrong with your car it's not on the hotel. The hotel gets the money for parking. Also it is different people in that clean your room.So when you leave you are leaving a tip for the last person not know if they are going toshare with he others the money. I was not please at all.

Room Tip: Look at the floor the cleanness of the bathroom and make sure your bed is clean sheets, pillow and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Stephanie and thank you for visiting with us here in Detroit and of course for taking the time to post about your visit. We are sincerely sorry for your disappointment while visiting. You are correct that we do not have a pool however this is noted on our property website. We are sorry that you were not aware in advance about our amenities. Once again, we thank you for visiting. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dabearsfan007
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I traveled here downtown for business. The Marriott is a great hotel and you really do not have to leave in order to get anything. Restaurants, Stores, and shops are inside the hotel. If you do want to venture out, the tunnel to Canada is a great place to go. The hotel is primarily housed by General Motors so it does have a very business like theme to it.
The hotel rooms are very standard and if you get a high enough floor, it does provide great views.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabearsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post. We love seeing the glowing five star review and appreciate you visiting with us! We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms for the for the eminem concert and showed up to check in at 3 so we could have plenty of time to get ready before the show. Took me an hour and half in line to check in and even then I had to wait an additional 3 hours to get a room and that was after 30 minutes of complaining to the manager. We had 30 minutes to get ready before the show started. An aweful experience and am extremely disappointed for the amount of money we payed for this wait time!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello Dev and thank you for taking the time to post. We are very sorry for the experience you noted while visiting. Please know that should you wish to speak with our general manager directly about your experience, you may email her directly at detroitmarriott@marriott.com with details and of course your contact information. Once again, we apologize and we thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a convention, and found it adequate. The center is easily accessible from the highway. The parking lots are reasonably close and reached by a sky bridge. There's no door opening button on the outside doors from the parking lots, which would've been useful to wheelchair users and guests hauling a lot of luggage. The internal layout is confusing at first, with circles upon circles on many levels set around the central tower. Check-in was fine and easy, the staff polite. The hotel as a whole is clean and tidy. The convention rooms are big and easy to access.

The room had a good view over the river to Canada. There's a tea/coffee maker but no microwave or refrigerator. The bathroom ventilation is poor, with no kind of powered extractor system so it steamed up quickly. We didn't like the pillows, which were too soft, but the bed was comfortable.

Those with cell phones and other e-devices should check the service before use to ensure they're on the correct US network. Canada is only just across the river and linking to a Canadian system will incur roving charges.

Green Features: Recycling bins are provided on several levels in the convention area.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hello and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to post. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your experience and we also wanted to thank you for posting your tip about possible international roaming charges. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Property: Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing