We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“treasure island in downtown Detroit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“treasure island in downtown Detroit”
Reviewed 7 March 2008

this 4-building property in Detroit's cultural district is a jewel.First the basics - reasonably priced, clean, well-maintained and extremely comfortable. Off-street parking was available, but I took a cab from Detroit Metro. The fare was $36.00 I arrived too early, but was graciously welcomed and offered coffee in the warm parlor where breakfast is served. The inn's shuttle driver delivered me to my afternoon appointment. When I returned, my gorgeous room was ready. It was on the third (top) floor of one of the other buildings and it was stunning. One drawback, because these are converted antique homes, and more B&B than hotel, there are a lot of stairs. One of the other houses did have an elevator tho, so I am assuming that one is accessible. My room was huge, with a couple of special touches, a large leather club chair with ottoman with a reading lamp and a small cd player with a stack of cds. The bathroom was small, but nicely appointed. The pedestal sink with a small shelf above it did not leave room for personal toiletries. In the closet were an ironing board and iron and blowdryer. A wonderful breakfast is served every morning but it is only served in the central house, so you do have to go outside if you are in one of the other buildings. Coffee is served all day long there, too. For dinner, the inn does offer "room service" which you actually order from a nearby restaurant and is delivered to you your room by the inn's staff. The food, from the Union St. Grill was excellent, and arrived promptly and hot! There is also a small business center in the main building with computer & printer available. Oh and the BEST for last, the whole inn has free Wi-Fi access.

  • Liked — the room decor and the outstanding staff
  • Disliked — that you had to go outside to get to the main house
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    110
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
205
46
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, ON
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We booked a package that included tickets to an exhibit at the nearby Detroit Science Centre. Very reasonable price. Very convenient free shuttle to the Tigers game at Comerica Park and we just called to be picked up. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, secure free parking and an excellent breakfast. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank kelsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I went to Detroit to visit the museums, and it was a perfect location. I arrived Friday at 6 and spent 4 hours at the DIA, then visited the African-American museum and Detroit Historical Museum on Saturday, all within easy walking distance. Wi-fi worked and a very good breakfast. Staff very friendly. WIll definitely stay there when I return.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FWjaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My husband and I have stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street two times now...each time getting better! It is the most adorable setting and the feeling of warmth just fills your body as you walk through the buildings. Reading the history behind it all is amazing! The complimentary shuttle service is another one of our favorite perks of the place. This past visit we had an exceptional young man help with recommendations and provided high quality service. He was very patient with our many stops that we made along the way (we like our late night fast food stops). We love everything that The Inn on Ferry Street has to offer. The list goes on and on. You have to check it out for yourself! It is truly one of a kind.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank mstheresakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Falls, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Went to Detroit for an interview and was booked at the inn free of cost. The Inn is beautiful. Huge spacious room in the main house on the street side on the second floor, huge bathroom, huge tv, very comfortable beds, huge tub. It was a great stay. The free internet service and free computer and printer use was helpful for printing out directions home. All in all a great stay!

  • Liked — Awesome rooms!
  • Disliked — Some noise from the front desk but not too bad
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

The main building (lobby) was lovely and this is a charming property, but I experienced several problems that made my stay unpleasant.

First, I had to park in a lot across the alley because special event tents were set up in the inn's parking spots. Second, my room--first floor of John R. Carriage House near that building's entrance--was a nightmare. It is right next to a busy street. Also, there is a door inside this room (not the actual door that you use to enter the room) that opens out to the street-side front porch. The deadbolt wasn't locked, and the staff couldn't find the key to lock it. The windows weren't secured in any way either, and one of them had a crack in it. I did not feel safe at all, even though the staff assured me that I had nothing to worry about. Couldn't change rooms because everything was booked.

Finally, it was freezing in the room, which didn't seem to have any heat. I had to have the staff bring me a space heater (was supposed to be in the closet but wasn't).

The manager was nice and comped me one night for these issues, which I appreciated. I just want to warn others about the drawbacks of my particular room. Avoid it, and I think you'll like this place!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

A magnificent property! Beautifully preserved historical buildings which are tastfully decorated. VERY clean. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh, hot and constantly replenished (Starbuck's coffee was a nice touch too). The staff was friendly and helpful - to a person. The shuttle service to the downtown area made our stay perfect ! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Buildings & Shuttle Service
  • Disliked — 3rd floor room was a bit too warm
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank triptoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.4 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 E Ferry St, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing