We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a long drive to reach Detroit and the tales we were told by people from other parts of America on our travels were not completely true. We were so glad we took no notice. Located in such a beautiful street, the four Victorian style houses really are imposing. We were given a really warm welcome upon our arrival and everything was explained to us clearly, including about the use of the free shuttle bus. Our room was wonderfully large with a good size bathroom and a veranda in the Roehm House. All the extra little things make this place stand out. We made use of the shuttle bus and were taken to the centre of the city. It was a Friday night and the place was really buzzing. Yes, there were a lot of police about, but there was a baseball game on and a packed concert at the Fox Theatre. I didn't feel any less safe here than anywhere else in the US. We got a brilliant tour of the city on the way back as there were other people to collect besides ourselves. The following morning we had a fabulous breakfast which even included waffles. There was also a large variety of cereals, fruit, breads and cakes, aswell as juices, tea and coffee. The only downside was that this was our only night. Don't be afraid to come here we had a fab time and even drove ourselves to the Motown museum that morning where the Detroit bass players convention was also taking place.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms looked good. The street is very quiet, so no traffic noise to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 67SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed for one night to attend the Kenny Chesney concert at Ford Field. Upon arrival we had a hard time finding a place to park and had to do so on the street which wasn't recommended by the staff of the Inn...however they quickly opened up their overflow lot and we were able to move our vehicle to a safer location. Our room #1302 was in the Pungs House and it was HUGE and beautiful!! However it wasn't the room I had reserved online. The room I reserved was suppose to have a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and a skylight. We didn't realize this until the next day however because all we did when we arrived was place our luggage in the room and then left for the concert. When we checked out the next morning we mentioned this to the hotel staff and she preceded to apologize and then gave us a refund of $10 which we were fine with since the room we did get was very nice. They had a great shuttle service that drove us down to Ford Field stadium and also picked us up after the concert. The wait for the shuttle to pick us up was about 20-30 minutes....however in their defense the concert and a Tigers game got out at about the same time so the traffic in downtown Detroit was horrible so we didn't mind the wait at all as the shuttle to the event was one of the main reasons for booking the Inn. We had a great nights sleep on the super comfy King bed and woke up the next morning and went to the main house for the continental breakfast which was wonderful! All kinds of fresh fruit, juices, coffee, different kinds of baked breads, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt and Belgian waffles. Every staff member we encountered was MORE than helpful and friendly. If we ever attend another concert at Ford Field or go to a ball game at Comerica Park and need a place to stay...this is it!! For the price and the shuttle...you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betz_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This well-situated and gorgeous property was a perfect treat for me. The breakfast was more than ample and I met some very interesting fellow-visitors. The buildings comprising the Inn are all charming and I was walking distance to the DIA, the Historical Museum, Library, many restaurants and other sites. The free shuttle service allowed me to get to downtown Detroit in minutes, worry-free. I found midtown and downtown Detroit to be much friendlier and safer than the media would have you believe - and I'm an old white woman. I walked portions of Woodward Avenue at night and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faughtandwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having read about The Inn on Ferry Street in both local newspapers and on TripAdvisor I can't say that I was surprised about how wonderful our two night stay was last week. The reviews are spot on.

We stayed two nights in room 2204 of the Roehm House, which is one of a four historic home (and two carriage houses) complex located on Ferry Street one block north of the Detroit Institute of Arts and in the first block east of Woodward Avenue. Gorgeous homes, comfortable and clean rooms, nice upscale breakfast, and a shuttle service that takes you just about anywhere you need to do in Mid-Town or downtown Detroit.

The area around the inn is very, very safe as this area is patrolled by the Wayne State University Police Department, known throughout the state as one of the primary reasons that the mid-town area has always been one of the safest spots in the city to live. Knowing that ahead of time made us feel good about the area, and we were not disappointed. Safe, clean and beautiful.

The best part of our visit was meeting four or five members of the staff at The Inn on Ferry Street. Each and everyone of them was a delight to meet, offered to help with whatever our needs were, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Hats off to The Inn on Ferry Street! You'll not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwzemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early August as we explored Midtown Detroit. The Inn consists of four lovely old Victorian houses that have been updated to today's standards while maintaining their atmosphere. We loved our room with its four poster bed, and it was spacious enough for Frances to easily do her yoga routines in the morning.
Breakfasts were standard quality motel type except for the large bowl filled with fresh berries and the excellent coffee. It was served in the main room of the house next to the one we stayed in.
The location next to Wayne State University is superb. The Detroit Institute of Arts with its fabulous Diego Rivera murals was a two block walk as were several other museums such as the Historical Society, African-American Museum and Contemporary Art Museum.
There were several nearby lunch and dinner places but we didn't go there. Instead we went to Slow's Barbecue where I had brisket that reminded me of my time in Texas. The second night we went to Cliff Bell's to hear jazz. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the dinner there, and, of course, the jazz was great.
But the absolute best thing about the Inn on Ferry Street was their complimentary car service. All you had to do was tell the person at the desk where you wanted to go (within five miles of the Inn) and when. We used it to go to Slow's and Cliff Bell's. It meant that we didn't have to find parking, or even the fastest way to get to our destination. When we were through with our evening we called the Inn, and the driver came to get us.
All in all, we had a great time in central Detroit and will certainly return to the Inn on Ferry Street since they were responsible for much of our fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rthNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I looked up "oasis" in the dictionary. It says: A pleasant or peaceful area or period in the midst of a difficult, troubled, or hectic place or situation. Bam! That's The Inn on Ferry Street!!
Located on a quaint, peaceful street that seems eerily out of place in Detroit, the houses that comprise the hotel are magnificently historic. The landscaping is picturesque. The staff were so polite and helpful that I thought they mistook me for someone famous. We utilized the shuttle service which was a terrific way for us to get down to Comerica Park. We had a great free breakfast in the morning before we departed. If I come back to Detroit, I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheddaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and had everything I needed. This place has so much character. The staff were helpful, professional, and attentive. Breakfast was great, and no matter the dietary restrictions, there is something for everyone to eat.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank TheodoreBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.5 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 34 in Detroit
1,162 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £114 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing