We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay for those looking for a rustic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must stay for those looking for a rustic getaway”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The one thing that is most important with an establishment in my opinion is the amount of smiling going on. Everyone was wearing a smile and so eager to help you find or get what you needed. It is so beautiful and peaceful... you can close your eyes and actually hearing the clicking of horses hoves on the street. Guests were sitting on the plenty porches that had an abundance of soft couches and a table for a quick game of chess. The room just lent to spending quality time with your loved ones. The television was sort of a distraction for those who really reveled in the feel of the antiquity of the place. 100% I cannot wait to write my story.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinarisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    110
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
60
205
46
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

In a beautiful "suburban-feel" neighborhood with trees and grass, near the Public Library and Detroit Historical Society, and a complimentary shuttle that will take you anywhere within 5 miles. (Particularly handy since nearby restaurants are sparse.) The Inn consists of several former residence homes, and is clean, well-appointed, low-key and stress-free. The buffet breakfast is excellent, with genuine fresh fruit, eggs, waffles, etc. I lucked out with a very comfortable first floor corner suite in an adjacent building. The staff, front desk, shuttle drivers, and breakfast servers I met were all extremely friendly and full of advice. DO NOT MISS a visit to the nearby Ford Plant on Piquette Ave, where they turned out the first Model T's.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mio, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I stay in Detroit often and have always wondered about the Inn on Ferry Street. We were not dissappointed. Very unique and beautiful. Our room had a four poster bed and fireplace. Nice area of town. Fun place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a long drive to reach Detroit and the tales we were told by people from other parts of America on our travels were not completely true. We were so glad we took no notice. Located in such a beautiful street, the four Victorian style houses really are imposing. We were given a really warm welcome upon our arrival and everything was explained to us clearly, including about the use of the free shuttle bus. Our room was wonderfully large with a good size bathroom and a veranda in the Roehm House. All the extra little things make this place stand out. We made use of the shuttle bus and were taken to the centre of the city. It was a Friday night and the place was really buzzing. Yes, there were a lot of police about, but there was a baseball game on and a packed concert at the Fox Theatre. I didn't feel any less safe here than anywhere else in the US. We got a brilliant tour of the city on the way back as there were other people to collect besides ourselves. The following morning we had a fabulous breakfast which even included waffles. There was also a large variety of cereals, fruit, breads and cakes, aswell as juices, tea and coffee. The only downside was that this was our only night. Don't be afraid to come here we had a fab time and even drove ourselves to the Motown museum that morning where the Detroit bass players convention was also taking place.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms looked good. The street is very quiet, so no traffic noise to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 67SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed for one night to attend the Kenny Chesney concert at Ford Field. Upon arrival we had a hard time finding a place to park and had to do so on the street which wasn't recommended by the staff of the Inn...however they quickly opened up their overflow lot and we were able to move our vehicle to a safer location. Our room #1302 was in the Pungs House and it was HUGE and beautiful!! However it wasn't the room I had reserved online. The room I reserved was suppose to have a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and a skylight. We didn't realize this until the next day however because all we did when we arrived was place our luggage in the room and then left for the concert. When we checked out the next morning we mentioned this to the hotel staff and she preceded to apologize and then gave us a refund of $10 which we were fine with since the room we did get was very nice. They had a great shuttle service that drove us down to Ford Field stadium and also picked us up after the concert. The wait for the shuttle to pick us up was about 20-30 minutes....however in their defense the concert and a Tigers game got out at about the same time so the traffic in downtown Detroit was horrible so we didn't mind the wait at all as the shuttle to the event was one of the main reasons for booking the Inn. We had a great nights sleep on the super comfy King bed and woke up the next morning and went to the main house for the continental breakfast which was wonderful! All kinds of fresh fruit, juices, coffee, different kinds of baked breads, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt and Belgian waffles. Every staff member we encountered was MORE than helpful and friendly. If we ever attend another concert at Ford Field or go to a ball game at Comerica Park and need a place to stay...this is it!! For the price and the shuttle...you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betz_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This well-situated and gorgeous property was a perfect treat for me. The breakfast was more than ample and I met some very interesting fellow-visitors. The buildings comprising the Inn are all charming and I was walking distance to the DIA, the Historical Museum, Library, many restaurants and other sites. The free shuttle service allowed me to get to downtown Detroit in minutes, worry-free. I found midtown and downtown Detroit to be much friendlier and safer than the media would have you believe - and I'm an old white woman. I walked portions of Woodward Avenue at night and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faughtandwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MI USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Having read about The Inn on Ferry Street in both local newspapers and on TripAdvisor I can't say that I was surprised about how wonderful our two night stay was last week. The reviews are spot on.

We stayed two nights in room 2204 of the Roehm House, which is one of a four historic home (and two carriage houses) complex located on Ferry Street one block north of the Detroit Institute of Arts and in the first block east of Woodward Avenue. Gorgeous homes, comfortable and clean rooms, nice upscale breakfast, and a shuttle service that takes you just about anywhere you need to do in Mid-Town or downtown Detroit.

The area around the inn is very, very safe as this area is patrolled by the Wayne State University Police Department, known throughout the state as one of the primary reasons that the mid-town area has always been one of the safest spots in the city to live. Knowing that ahead of time made us feel good about the area, and we were not disappointed. Safe, clean and beautiful.

The best part of our visit was meeting four or five members of the staff at The Inn on Ferry Street. Each and everyone of them was a delight to meet, offered to help with whatever our needs were, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Hats off to The Inn on Ferry Street! You'll not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwzemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,070 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 E Ferry St, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing