We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort among the ruins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Inn on Ferry St is made up of 3 huge Victorian houses which were once student residences. The houses were to be demolished to become a parking lot but were saved by a non profit and turned into a comfortable and unique inn.

Our room was lovely, the breakfast was very good but best of all was a shuttle service which would take us anywhere and pick us up again while our car was safe at the inn. On our first night our driver took us to the Raven Lounge featured in "Detropia " and "Low Winter Sun". We had a great conversation with the owner who feels Detroit will rise again. When we had talked and listened to music and eaten great catfish, we were picked up and driven home. We used the shuttle every night which made dining so much easier.


The inn is 2 blocks from the Detroit Institute of Art and the Detroit History museum. There a few good restaurants nearby. Best of all it was a safe and comfortable place from which to explore Drtroit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

A comfortable set of vintage mansions in the heart of the cultural area of Detroit (walking distance to the Art Institute and History Museum) on a quiet side street. We got upgraded to suites, and it was a lovely room with a whirlpool!
No elevators, so make sure you can climb stairs. Nice breakfast included, and staff was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Blather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

These buildings have been lovingly restored. No worries about staying in an 'older' facility - all the comforts of home with style, grace and friendly staff and fellow travelers.Close to attractions - DIA's backyard!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It's a lovely place, perfect if you're traveling as a couple. The room was clean and big enough to be comfortably. My wife and I stayed two nights we've slept very well and every morning we've had a nice breakfast waiting for us. It was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: They have shuttle service to lead you to the main places of detroit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flávio T. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A beautiful collection of buildings in a quiet neighbourhood - Inn on Ferry street has been carefully restored and the rooms are understated and sophisticated. It was cool that there were free cookies and water in the room and bowls of free Hershey kisses throughout the Inn. All the staff were lovely and friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable (although a little warm) and the breakfasts were healthy and tasty with excellent coffee. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Detroit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Overall the Inn is nothing to write home about. Yet, I do stay here every time I am in Detroit. This is due to the lack of proper alternatives in the city as most so called 'luxury' hotels in the Detroit are rather generic and without character. The Inn is discrete and clean very well priced. If you can do with a little old fashioned decor, rather simple services (no restaurant, room service, etc.) but want a charming property this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FileasFoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I can't say enough about how much we LOVED the Inn! From the cookies and water at checkin, the amazing shuttle service, the clean rooms to the very nice breakfeast it was all perfect. My husband and I stayed for a Satuday night for his birthday and we were givena carriage home with two bedrooms, sitting room and bathroom to ourselves, it was peaceful and really cool to stay in a historic home in the city. I would go back agian in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethheinonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.0 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#16 of 33 in Detroit
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £127 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing