We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Inn. Historic Buildings. Perfect Location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Ferry Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
632 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Inn. Historic Buildings. Perfect Location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Inn On Ferry Street is made up of four beautifully restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses built in the late 1800's and located in Detroit's cultural center. It's a nice location on a charming street. It reminded me of places I've stayed in Europe with it's historic feel and period furnishings. My room was in The Pungs House and it was nicely appointed. I liked that the room had a small coffee maker and included FREE WiFi and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite.

The Reception and breakfast room were located in one of the other houses, a short walk away. The Inn has a pretty dinning room, where it servers a hearty breakfast and nice selection of beverages. Couldn't have asked for more. Other features of the Inn included secured parking and free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius. The staff was friendly and helpful.

One other great thing about The Inn On Ferry Street is it's location. Many of Detroit's best museums are within short walking distance, including the Detroit Institute of Arts and The Detroit Historical Museum. Must sees. Also within walking distance is the campus of Wayne State University which includes two buildings designed by world renowned architect Minoru Yamasaki. Across from the Inn you'll find the beautiful Hecker-Smiley and Charles Lang Freer mansions. The man who donated his art collection to the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C in the early 1900's and is housed in the Freer Art Gallery. A few nice restaurants are also within walking distance.

I was told the Inn will be adding a fifth house. I highly recommend The Inn On Ferry Street for your next Detroit stay.

Room Tip: For added convenience, try to get a room in the Scott house where you'll find the Inn's rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    107
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
197
45
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Roehm House on the main floor. There was an exterior door in our bedroom with a very flimsy lock on it...the kind you would use on an interior door. Would have felt more secure with a deadbolt. The cookies waiting in the room were very hard and stale. Other than those two minor complaints everything else was fine. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and room was plenty warm. The houses are very attractive. Breakfast was fine. The shuttle was handy...had a full load as the inn was sold out the night we were there. I would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nanbik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Went to Detroit for a conference and stayed at the Inn on Ferry Street for 4 nights early in Feb 2014. I had a good time, I really enjoy my stay there!. The room was cozy (at 603 John Carriage house) and the breakfast they served is excellent!. I love the scramble eggs mix with nuts, cut of green paprika, pepper and the salsa!yum!. I love their free shuttle that was ready to take me or pick me up when I needed, especially considering of how cold it was when I came there! Nice stay at the Inn on Ferry Street

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dyah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visited this hotel in January 2014 mainly to visit the North American Motor Show. This is a really nice B&B located in the historic cultural centre just off Woodward Avenue Just entering the premises is a delight a perfect example of Victorian Americana. I was actually staying next door in a very comfortable attic room on the top floor. My room was very comfortable with an enormous comfortable bed and a really good shower/WC room, considering that it was an attic room and at the date that I visited the city during a cold snap my room was quite warm no need for additional blankets or heating. Breakfast is taken in the salon in the house and is a buffet that is excellent plenty of choices to eat and drink. Also during the day the salon doubles up as a lounge with complimentary coffee and very comfortable sofas and chairs . The staff are excellent nothing is too much trouble for them plus the free shuttle to downtown is a real boon if you haven't got your own transport

Room Tip: I loved my room but if you have a problem with stairs ask for a ground floor room as there's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanPBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is elegant, homely and unique with excellent service! The rooms are spread across tastefully decorated houses on the street and each benefits from its own quiet living/lounge area as well as the huge bedrooms.

We did have a slight drama with our room, we checked in to room 1302 which is absolutely stunning, it had a superking (UK) size bed, it was bright and well decorated with modern shabby chic style furniture and had a bath. Unfortunately the lock broke on our door so we had to move to 2201/2202, which was a family suite. This suite looked rather more dated, had a much smaller bed, no bath and was very cold!

However, we requested to move back into 1302 when the lock was fixed and the reception staff were extremely helpful and had us moved back into 1302 when it was fixed. All the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, and Greg on reception even offered to get the shuttle driver to pop out and buy some playing cards for us!

The shuttle is extremely handy, they will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius, even transporting you from one place in Downtown to another, not just to and from the hotel.

Breakfast was delicious and of the highest quality also. This really was a home away from home and will definitely stay again next time we are in Detroit, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else on the the strength of this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 1302 is my favourite hotel room I've ever stayed in! Large, beautifully decorated and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot,
Level Contributor
267 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Returning here after two years to attend the North American Motor Show with a group of guests in tow I was reminded why I enjoyed it so much last time and I was delighted to see that it certainly deserves its top billing. Not only is the Inn charming but the helpfulness, friendliness and efficiency of the staff make it a pleasure to stay here. The free shuttle service is a major benefit and the rooms have a style and level of comfort that chain hotels simply cannot challenge. Breakfast is excellent and whilst you must accept that the Inn cannot have the range of facilities that a big hotel will have there is a level of relaxation and ease here that simply cannot be replicated in a big downtown hotel. But why or why do they provide tiny bath towels and I would welcome an upgrade in the bed linen!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

A charming bed and breakfast near downtown Detroit. It consists of a few old, but restored, Victorian houses. The rooms were cozy and clean. Breakfast was great. It's perfect for anything you have to do in that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.3 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing