We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are visiting Detroit, this is the place to stay! The restored homes that comprise the Inn on Ferry Street are literally around the corner from the Detroit Institute of Art and a multitude of other museums. Also very conveniently located to large medical facilities. And with their fabulous shuttle service (free, unlimited transportation within 5 mile radius), you are minutes away from Comerica, Ford Field, Joe Louis, Greektown, the casinos, theaters and numerous restaurants. The Inn even offers a discount if you have tickets to a event downtown.
I can't say enough about how gracious the staff was. We arrived late in the evening-- no problem. One of our electronic keys didn't function-- we were offered complimentary wine. We asked for shuttle transportation to the Eastern Market. The driver was prompt, met us with an umbrella since it was raining and urged us take it along to the Market. Saved us from getting soaked.
We stayed in a suite in the Roehm House which was quite comfortable and tastefully decorated.
My only complaint would be that the tv was located in an armoire in the bedroom. I would have preferred it in the sitting room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lmk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is an awesome place to get away from the traditional hotel stay. Wonderful old building in great location that has all you need and then some. Offers Bed & Breakfast experience with friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast selection in the morning and rooms are clean and spacious. Plus the welcome with water and the best cookie ever! You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel consists of several very old, beautifully restored houses. Reviewers here recommended not staying in the Scott house because of the noise (it houses the reception desk and breakfast is served there), so we stayed in the Owen house. The rooms are quite large, with a bedroom and a separate sitting room. The rooms are beautifully decorated and unique architectural details are everywhere. Of course, there are creaks when the people above us walked around, but the building is over 100 years old. That's just part of the charm. The shuttle took us to dinner at Joe Muer Seafood (you must go there!) and on the way home, the driver took us on a tour of the area. The people at reception were very gracious to us when we showed up at 8 am after taking a red eye flight. Although they could not give us early check-in, they invited us to participate in the breakfast and gave us suggestions for sight-seeing in Detroit. Late at night, they found us an ice bucket, a wine opener and wine glasses for our nightcap. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower had great flow. Breakfast was available from 7-11:30 with checkout at 12 noon, so we were able to sleep in and enjoy a leisurely morning before we had to get on the road. Great value, too. With taxes, the total came to just over $180 for this wonderful experience. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanRN_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There are many reviews which accurately portray the enjoyable attributes of this inn.I would amplify remarks made about the helpfulness of the staff,particularly A.G. and the shuttle service in helping to reach destinations in downtown Detroit.The breakfast was a pleasing assortment of fruit,bakery goods,scrambled eggs,even avocado strips.The immediate area has 1 or 2 full days worth of attractions within walking distance.My room was on the third floor of the adjacent building to the Scott House,where check-in and breakfast happen.This was a small room with a floor fan to help the air conditioning which could decrease the room temp no lower than 79 degrees at night. The Detroit weather at my visit was unseasonably warm and I can understand the situation.The doors of the TV cabinet could not open wide enough because of contact with the foot of the bed frame, enabling viewing only from the bed.I would stay at this location again but not in this room type.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 532Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights for a business trip. The Inn is comprised of several buildings, all equally charming located close to Wayne State University's campus. My room was on the third floor of the Roehm House. It was comfortable and felt more like home than any Inn or hotel I've stayed in recently. The room was comfortable and the architectural details were complemented by the decor. The buildings had elegant staircases, wood working and stained glass, so just waking down the halls was a treat. Although it was an older building, the temperature in my room always comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Inn on Ferry Street to anyone visiting Detroit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here to go to a Detroit Tigers game. We stayed in room 2205, room and bathroom were very spacious, we also had a balcony, great room. We stayed here because they offer a free shuttle back and forth to the game. When we were ready to go the the shuttle was running late with a large group, if we had to wait we would have missed the start of the game, however, the manager was also going to the game so she offered to take us in her personal vehicle. We made the game in time. Breakfast was great, however, the dining area was crowded and full. Overall, we had a great stay, plan on staying in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cap49464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

LOCATION: On a beautiful street in Detroit's Cultural District. The Inn is comprised of four historic Victorian homes and two carriage houses built in the late 1800's. Each house has it's own name. Across the street from the Inn are the historic Hecker-Smiley and Charles Lang Freer mansions.

ARRIVAL: Check-in is at The Scott House. If you're driving, as I was, there's complimentary parking behind the houses. Check-in was a breeze and friendly. I liked the idea of sitting down while checking in. The Scott House is also where the complimentary breakfast is served. After getting my key card, I headed to my room.

ROOM: My room was located on the first floor of The Owen House and was quite large. The decor throughout the Inn perfectly compliments the period in which the houses were built. My room had a desk and a nice lounge chair, perfect for watching TV or reading. There was plenty of space to store my personal belongings. With the exception of a mini-bar, the rooms are equipped with everything you could need, including a small coffee maker and iron. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet at night. My windows looked out the back of the house and it was nice during the day to be able to open the floor to ceiling shades. The front part of the house had a large sitting area much like a living room.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is offered in a comfortable setting in The Scott House. The Inn puts out quite a spread that includes coffee, orange juice, yogurt, cereal, an assortment of fruits and pastries, scrambled eggs and batter for making waffles. There was plenty to eat and it was all good.

SHUTTLE: The Inn offers a free shuttle service that can get you to most parts of the city, you'd want to go. It's perfect if you don't have a car. I had a car, but still used the shuttle to get to the ball game and to go downtown. All the drivers were friendly and knew the area well.

STAFF: Everyone on the staff I encountered was friendly and helpful.

CONCLUSION: The Inn On Ferry Street is like a cross between a hotel and a B&B. The best of both world's. They offer great value for the money and it's the best place to stay if you want to be in the heart of Detroit's Cultural District. Highly Recommended!

TIP 1: The Inn's location makes it ideal for easily walking to the following cultural attractions: The Detroit Institute of Arts, The Detroit Historical Museum, The Detroit Science Center, Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, The Josephine Ford Sculpture Garden, The Main Branch of the Detroit Public Library, Wayne State University, Hillberry Theater and the Collage of Creative Studies. (See my Review of Detroit's Cultural District)

TIP 2: Don't miss a chance to visit the historic Model T Complex which is a short distance from the Inn on Piquette Street. It's filled with great old cars and history.

Room Tip: Since many of the rooms would require climbing stairs, you may want to note this if it's a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
2.5 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 34 in Detroit
1,162 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 34 in Detroit
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £114 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing