We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven't lived in Detroit for years but Inn on Ferry Street made me miss it for in one night.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Ferry Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Ferry Street
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Haven't lived in Detroit for years but Inn on Ferry Street made me miss it for in one night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room assigned was okay, not sure if we got one of the better rooms. (3021 in the Roehm house). But it was clean and large, just not so high on the old charm. I live in a victorian house, so it wasn't a major issue. I just wanted clean and comfy. Parking was easy, staff was super friendly and breakfast was great (gluten free options were yogurt and fruit) and I could walk to the DIA. Drove everywhere else but that's what you do in Detroit. Felt like I was living in Detroit again....even if it was just for one night.

Room Tip: higher floor, means having to carry your luggage up the narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iggypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    107
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
58
197
45
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Two of us, one from Chicago and the other from San Francisco, stayed here to see Detroit. The presence of the Inn is a significant element in the area's recovery - and it is a perfect place to see the DIA and the Midtown Area. Impeccably helpful staff, sumptuous breakfast, a great suite in the carriage house - who could ask for more? They referred us to dinners at the Midtown Grille and Maccaby's - fine dining choices. And don't forget the Motown Museum!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2222_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay in a great location in Detroit. We got 20% off our stay by showing our Tigers ticket, and the shuttle to and from the game was a stress-free experience.

The bed was very comfy, and our room was surprisingly quiet. Way quieter than the hotel we stayed at the night before! The breakfast had yummy fresh fruit, eggs with fixings, and good strong coffee (real plates & silverware, too).

Will definitely stay here again, it is 100 times better than a smokey casino!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YooperSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Decline of the American Empire….? Bull-XXXX! Canadians visit Detroit.

Last fall we took a romantic weekend trip to Detroit. It’s a trip that still sticks with us.

At the border crossing, the Ambassador Bridge, there was about an hour long line-up (this is encouraging! this is the busiest border crossing between US/Canada and rumours are that 5 hour waits are typical.) We pull up to the customs gate and after giving the border guard our passports (mine accidentally filled with a chocolate bar wrapper) the guy starts to get a little agitated with us. Why are you coming to the US? ...."Oh for the weekend"...And where are you going?..."Detroit"...Why? (he must have figured we were smuggling drugs or high to provide THAT answer). "Well we are seeing the sights". What sights? "Um well. The Institute of Arts" (I started to crack under the interrogation, and was soon imagining a strip search) at which point the navigator kicks in with a variety of cultural explanations. The questioning goes on for about another 10 minutes, and basically it was WHAT ARE YOU NUTS GOING TO DETROIT? Not exactly the Welcome to Detroit Tourism Bureau. They might want to invite some of these border guards to the city.

We then wind our way to the top Trip Advisor spot in Detroit - The Inn on Ferry Street. Hmmm, I’m not exactly a fan of internet advice, the Detroit Tunnel is the 27th ranked attraction, but it’s all we have to go on. The inn is a national historic site, about 2 miles from heart of downtown – and also in the heart of the academic/cultural district.

VERY very nice, beautiful, comfortable, huge rooms, meticulously restored, high quality silent AC, peaceful, a free gourmet breakfast, outstandingly friendly staff. IF you ever go to Detroit this is the place to stay. We were lucky to have booked the week prior and still get a room. I can't think of a nicer place I have ever stayed! They had a free shuttle to everywhere within a 5 mile radius. The inn is owned by the Detroit Institute of Arts but run by a NGO crackerjack of a woman we never get to meet, Sue Mosey. She is known as the “Mayor of Midtown” and her fingerprints are all over the neighbourhood. Her rep is part Donald Trump, part Martha Stewart and part Nucky Thompson. She is a testament to the power of the individual in America – the underdog rising to the challenge with unbridled optimism.

So, after checking in we get shuttled down to the Riverfront and rent some bikes. A crisp November day but sunny and about 50 degrees Fahrenheit. We go to Belle Isle - which Detroit is in the process of liquidating. As everyone has heard, Detroit is in the middle of bankruptcy proceedings and is officially being run by a state appointed administrator - not a Mayor, which is part of our fascination. The newly elected Mayor is more of a figurehead than ever before, and is quoted in the paper as “trying to figure out the uneasy” relationship with the trustee. This is new governance territory for everyone. 2 hours later we return the bikes and walk a mile up to the Eastern Market, which we find out is the largest farmer’s market in America. We are there late in the afternoon and the vendors are semi packing up and the 5 mile line of traffic to get there has disappeared, but the energy still lingers. We duck into Bert's Blues Cafe for some late Saturday afternoon karaoke by the lively locals! The place was wall to wall packed and everyone is enjoying themselves. We order food and then are joined by some locals at our table – afterwards we both wish we had waited to see what they ordered. The catfish looks great. When in Rome, order what the Romans do. Later I learn our 1 mile walk from the Riverfront was thru one of the most dangerous neighbourhoods in Detroit (the grass covered tennis courts, (due to neglect) gave it away for me. What kind of Neanderthal plays on grass - except for the English! The random walk through a Dutch architect’s legacy also fools us.

A wedding party pulls up for a photo shoot in the fenced walkway over the freeway which has become an extension of the market. After shopping at the Eastern Market for wine and cheese (from some insistent Turkish fellow) we call the shuttle for pick up. The "plan" was to ease into Detroit - go to the "safe" places first and then venture to "danger" after talking to the locals.

Sunday AM. How dangerous could Detroit be? We set out with 2 missions...visit the notorious pet-coke pile on the Detroit river and visit some "blighted" but not "dangerous" neighbourhoods. A tricky bulls eye in Detroit?

The pet coke pile is a result of residue from Alberta tar sands being refined. Pet coke is the junk left over and is nastier than coal. We have a connection to this because some of it eventually finds its way to our home province, Nova Scotia. It is being burned in our electrical plants. The NY Times recently covered a story about the appearance of this pet coke pile and how it has been growing. However, the pet coke pile has been run out of town – I guess the Koch brothers couldn’t take the local heat. The pet coke pile has disappeared as fast as it appeared. So governance seems to be still working, and at an astonishing speed for anywhere.

Onto the Rouge River - ugly industrial brought to you by FORD. Technically this is Dearborn. An unbelievable scale to the plant. Then we cross town to the peculiarly named Brightmoor – which must be the most stark example of the de-suburbanization, depopulation that is happening in Detroit. The population has shrunk from 1.8 million people to around 750,000. People are fleeing and there is some friction between Detroit and the cities that circle it.

This Brightmoor neighbourhood can be visited virtually in Google street view, but it doesn't do the impact justice...the best way to describe this is being caught in the middle of a zombie apocalypse movie. This is a typical suburban hood with modest houses and then all of a sudden... crack looking houses, boarded up houses, burned down houses - or in an interesting twist "green" spaces where derelict houses have been torn down, dug up and removed.

The city of Detroit figures it has 100,000 houses to demolish currently. They are doing about 10,000 per year. We promise each other to come back in 20 years and have a picnic in the wilderness or farm fields that are coming. The best way to describe the random patchwork of "ok" houses and blighted homes is to describe it as a virus. Random, Viscous, and Financially Lethal. In an example of capitalism’s vultures, I read about an Irish guy in Ireland saying they were getting pitches from real estate agents there encouraging investment in Detroit - but he wasn't sure about which areas were best so was looking for advice online! PT Barnum is alive and well.

This Brightmoor hood was TOTALLY decimated. I'd guess for every normal looking house there were 6 empty lots or burned out or boarded up or crack looking houses. The schools were abandoned, the streets were abandoned. No kids anywhere. We drive for miles and miles around the neighbourhood, feeling squeamish and a little guilty, but you need to see it to understand the resiliency and commitment of the community to never give up. The juxtaposition of hopelessness and determination can’t be more profound. Small, grassroots attempts are being made everywhere to stop the bleeding.

Then we came upon a traffic jam and parking nightmare...centered around a church. I estimate that there must be 80%+ attendance from the whole community. Hundreds of cars and a few people rushing in a few minutes late to grab their seats.

After Brightmoor we cruised 7 & 8 mile. Stopping at a MacDonalds on 8 Mile road for a cookie and smoothie snack. The MacDonald’s is new having opened less than 2 weeks prior. It proudly displays a nice letter from the Mayor. A new MacDonalds, a sure sign of Amercan rejuvenation? We then stumble upon the Ford House and take the tour.

As an engineer I’m hardly a qualified critic of culture and taste, but it feels gaudy. The gold faucets and overdone details. The building of an empire. All designed with isolation, privacy and security in mind. No doubt a prison for the Ford children. Too much time and money and obsession with things. The rich get richer, and the poor get, well…

Back to Inn. We go for lunch at the Good Girls Go To Paris Crepes. Yumm. A TV in the place says bad girls go to Montreal, but I suspect it will have to be updated to direct them to Toronto now. Our Ford Nation was still only in warm up mode that weekend. We ask about the meaning of the quote in the window. Nobody seems to know. My english teacher mother would be disappointed in my lack of awareness. It is attributed to F. Scott Fitzgerald:
“I said, SMALL town…he must know what a small town is…well, he’s no use to us if Detroit is his idea of a small town…”
We drop the questioning and forget about it.

Then to the DIA (hmmm.) 1 block from the Inn. After a snooze we get the shuttle to Cliffe Bell's jazz club. Great food, great music. Hard to believe on a Sunday night in Detroit.

And then it comes to me as I strike the keys recounting this romantic weekend – Gatsby! That is it. The quote is from Gatsby, and of course. The Ford House, 500 horsepower boats to get to the Rouge River plant, man made islands to launch his boat. The Casino of Belle Island, that wasn’t a Casino. The Valley of Ashes. Jazz, the music plays on.


The decline of the American Empire? Nonsense.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank halifaxenergyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This inn is actually made up of four or five separate buildings. We were in the Pungs building in room 1102. Our room was large with a lot of amenities. The staff here bent over backwards to make sure everything was to our liking and that we had everything we needed. They were so helpful and hard-working. It is in a great location, and they have a shuttle service to boot. My only complaint is that the breakfast buffet is ambitious but not well executed, and the layout of the buffet tables to the room and the dining tables is a little crowded and awkwardly arranged. There is a lot of stepping around people and tables.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Really not much to add to the many excellent reviews. Nice buildings, large room, courteous service, tasty breakfast (and chocolate chip cookie, both from a local bakery). I esp. have to give props to the various guys who ran around figuring out the key problem, TV issue and drove the shuttle. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

These are just a few of the words to describe my fantastic stay at the Inn on Ferry Street. The staff made my stay comfortable and serene!

Three people stand out in particular - Helena and the Torence(s) :)!! Helena kept me calm when I misplaced my cellphone, and she helped me find it. I inadvertently left it on the airport shuttle. The younger Torence helped me with my luggage and let me know about all that the Inn on Ferry Street had to offer. He also drove me back and forth in the hotel shuttle bus to a destination that I requested. Older Torence helped me get my airplane boarding pass and he shared with me wonderful things that I could experience in Detroit.

The Inn is extremely clean and its furnishings are classic. It gives the Inn lots of personality! I felt like I was in someone's home as opposed to the sterile environment of some of the chain hotels. I've never stayed in an Inn so this was truly a wonderful experience for me.

One of the best treats is the LOCATION. Close to everything that I wanted to experience from the museums and the retsurants. Either a short shuttle drive or ride. You can even walk to some of the museums.

I will definitely stay at the Inn on Ferry Street again. This was my first time in Detroit which was very memorable because of the serenity I experienced at the Inn!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferRMcZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.9 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.3 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
2.2 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Ferry Street

Property: The Inn on Ferry Street
Address: 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Ferry Street Historic District of Midtown Detroit, The Inn on Ferry Street sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Just steps from the state’s finest museums, acclaimed Detroit Medical Center and Wayne State University, the Inn is a relaxing change of pace from the standard business hotel. Consisting of four restored Victorian homes, and two carriage houses the Inn abounds in sophisticated luxury. Shuttle service to/from The Inn within five miles, parking, WiFi, bountiful breakfast buffet, welcome cookie and water and PressReader digital newspaper and magazine access are all complimentary amenities for guests in each of our forty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing