We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOTAL DISCRIMATION, UNLESS YOU ARE AFRICAN AMERICAN” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of MotorCity Casino

MotorCity Casino
Ranked #41 of 140 things to do in Detroit
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A casino where you don't need to gamble? That's the idea at MotorCity, designed to satisfy gamblers and non-gamblers alike with its comprehensive gaming offerings and dining and entertainment delights. Its restaurants, which range from fine dining to barbecue, are run by one of the two certified master chefs in Michigan.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“TOTAL DISCRIMATION, UNLESS YOU ARE AFRICAN AMERICAN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My family has been going to the Casino since opening. Within the past 10 years and even with the last five to two years the place has become 1,ooo% worse. The employee's do not care about basic way's of being a public employee. Which the main point of service is to take care of the customs ,Giving jobs to people who can't speak English. (and again no security or man
agement taking care of the problem) African Americans who block up all the isle's so nobody is able to walk in or out of the Casino. Employee's in your restaurant's will make sure that the African Americans are always served first....Then while you are waiting in line everyone must listen to alll of the conversations that are full of vulgar language.. Plus there is not management around to make sure that everything is taken care of in a manner which is humane. Please make sure that your hiring procedure is equal; EVEN WITHIN MANAGEMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank dmv152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    74
    48
    30
    50
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Techumseh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thugsville”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

When the bums ask for a dollar and a cigarette, and you say NO...doesnt matter, they try and pick pocket you. When you tell security, they could care less. Will NEVER go back. Thieves and idiots ruin this place, and it's to bad. Nice casino, nice rooms...WRONG neighbourhood. Stay clear of this place...unless you're from the "hood"!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank motownrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Twp
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smoky and crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It has a weird ramp like entrance. Feel bad for someone pushing a wheelchair on the way out it's uphill. It's quite smoky and if there is a problem with a machine there is no one around to help. You can sit for 40 minutes and no one comes around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kdstravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“False advertisement manager stephine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I'm so up set , see this big sign on the freeway saying play for an hour and stay free well ,people don't be fool i called to book my room for march 6 its my sister birthday and i wanted to take her some where we didnt have to go outside .And i new i took advantage of motor city offer i went and gamble for a couple of hours and receive my free room threw email and was great full until i called to make my reservation for this special birthday for my sister only to be disappointing margrett said oh we don't have availblty for that date but we can book you another date i said heartbroken well,,,,what other date she said their open for the 3-30-13 i said i no that's way past her birthday but ok i will take it she ask me am i a member i said yes i gave her my member number everything change, she said oh that free night is not valet for weekend i was threw, ask to speak to the manager i new she would make it right well stephine said well that date not available i told her the clerk said it was she said not for a free room didnt think it was free considering i had to gamble for an hour to receive that any way thats not the kind of Customer Service i would receive from our Main Attraction in the Downtown Detroit area Stephine should not be a manger if she cant put the customer needs a little my coupon email to me do not stat no weekends it simple say make your reservation before it expire False NOBODY WANT TO STAY TUESDAY THREW THURSDAY PEOPLE HAVE TO WORK THEY RELAX ON THE WEEKEND IF YOU DIDNT NO MOTOR CITY HOW MANY PEOPLE IN THE WORLD WORK M-F 99.9 PLEASE CHANG YOUR POLICY LET THE GUEST NO NO WEEKENDS ON YOUR BORDERS ON THE FREEWAY STEPHINE IN RESERVATION

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Conswella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rated # 2 Casino In My Eyes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great Experience, nice room but I wouldn't go as far for the lounge its not worth the extra cost. At least the place is newer hopefully they will maintain it well

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MotorCity Casino also viewed

 

Been to MotorCity Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing