We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GM Renaissance Center

GM Renaissance Center
Ranked #21 of 140 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Multi-towered skyscraper is the tallest building in Detroit that features an observation tower on the 72nd floor.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I try to stop by here any time I am in Detroit. They are doing a really nice job in Downtown Detroit. This place is huge and does display some awesome cars through the years.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank splatmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    160
    76
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok, but not a Must-See”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The headline says it all, but then again, not a whole lot in Detroit is a must-see. Or maybe I just did not look in the right spots. I stayed at the Marriott Renaissance Center, so I spent quite some time in the restaurants and shops there. The buildings are confusing. Even though there are quite a few directories, I found myself lost a few times. I took the free tour and that was actually informative, although at times I had the feeling the guide just tried to encourage us to shop and dine at the "RenCen". GM World - a big show room for all GM car brands - is interesting if you are a car enthusiast. The tour typically includes a ride up to the highest floor of the complex, but due to a private function that day, this part of the tour was skipped when I took it. The guide was upfront about it and told us right at the beginning. The one spot I really did enjoy was Andiamo, an Italien restaurant inside the Renaissance Center. The food was good and they had nice live music. Compared to other restaurants in the area the prices were moderate and if you are lucky, you may even catch a table outside with water-front view. So in short, if you are in the area, stop by, but if you are not, you are not missing too much if you don't go out of your way to pay a visit to the Renaissance Center.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nordie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Massive building for a massive company in a massive industry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was visiting Detroit to visit my buddy who is employed as a financial analyst for General Motors. While he worked at his desk, I went for a tour of the GM Renaissance Center, the head office and worldwide headquarters of General Motors.

Incredible scope and size of architecture. One can view the history of GM and its automobiles. The accounting firm, Deloitte, also has its Detroit offices in the building.

Security is quite tight as expected.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank androidmilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Complex to navigate. Feels old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I know this is a emblematic building, but it's intricate, complex and dark. Food options are lousy, mostly fast junk food.

A visit to the car expo is not much more than just going to a dealer.

Do stop by the wintergarden, and exit to the riverfront. That is worth seeing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LavieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Boys toys”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

HQ of general motors. has a display of cars on ground floor. The freshmen loved the sports cars but it is a 20 minute max look and see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GM Renaissance Center also viewed

 

Been to GM Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing