We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Detroit Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I'm a frequent Detroit business traveler and this is my 'go-to' hotel. The staff is exceptional, rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. Location is minutes from all downtown locations, especially the medical hub.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My new favorite hotel in downtown Detroit. It is only one or two blocks walk to Comerica Park and Ford Field. Walk the opposite direction and you are at Greektown. The people mover stop is one block away from the front door. The staff were excellent at check-in. Our room was beautiful, modern and super clean. We did not have a pillow top bed but it was still very comfortable. We went to the bar and had a great Bloody Mary before the game and enjoyed the breakfast buffet the next morning. They have real eggs - not those silly powdered, yellow things some hotels try to pass off as eggs. Yum! It is a smaller hotel so getting rooms on key days may be an issue - plan ahead. I will go back.

Room Tip: This is a smaller hotel so on key sport weekends be sure to plan ahead so you get a room at this exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

HGI gives you great rooms amazing free breakfast if you are gold or diamond.its close to Greek town which is awesome.

They have a casino and of course tons of places to eat. Mexican Cajun Greek American you name it.

I went to the BWW to catch the capitals which was a good time except them carding everyone

Had no issues with the front desk at HGI. Parking attendant was very helpful on food selections!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch3ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown is SOOOOO conveniently Located to all of the attractions Detroit has to offer, within walking distance of many bars/restaurants, as well as Music Hall, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Fox Theatre, The Fillmore, and Greektown. The hotel is very clean, and the room was extremely comfortable. We had the Jr Suite, and it came equipped with an oversized shower/tub, refrigerator, microwave, seperate sitting area with a flat screen TV, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The pool area was nice, and clean, and the valet/parking attendant was very friendly. The only thing that keeps me from giving this my FULL endorsement, was the staff at the front desk. They were too concerned with each other's personal agendas, talking about their plans for the evening instead of paying attention to us. They used "ghetto slang", and really came off as uneducated and crass. They were friendly i guess, but VERY unprofessional. Luckily, I only needed service from them when we checked in and out....because I am not sure any other requests would have been fullfilled, had I made any. They were so wrapped up in what each other was doing later that night. Aside from that, I would DEFINITELY recommend this property to anyone looking for a convenient, clean, comfortable property in Downtown Detroit.

Room Tip: We had really good experience with the Jr. Suite with King bed, on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were in town for an event and stayed less than 24 hours, but this was a good choice and great location if you need to go somewhere downtown like the ball park or the Opera House. The area around the hotel was HOPPING on Saturday night around 10-ish when we arrived. Lots of people waiting in lines for clubs and restaurants.

Our room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and comfy. The bathroom was good sized with a nice big countertop. They have iced water, coffee in the lobby when you check in. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

We did the breakfast buffet in the morning and the wait staff was super helpful getting me a bag full of different sized to-go containers to take food up to my daughter. They allowed us to do a late checkout.

The one thing that irked me was paying for parking, but we got a good rate on the room through Hotwire, so I guess I shouldn't complain! Don't hesitate to stay here, it's a really nice property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for staying and for the great review. We definitely have a great night life around us and plenty to see and do. I'm happy to hear our staff took great care of you, and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

David Kipfmiller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I think a smile on your face says a lot... And at this hotel you'll find one around every corner! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and smelled fresh. The pool are was small but the kids enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet was AWESOME!! The staff is amazing and really deserves a pat on the back for a job well done!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FierceMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be at your service the next time you are in Detroit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

When we checked into this hotel last weekend, we were immediately greeted with two very friendly associates. They checked us in smoothly and provided assistance on things to do in the vicinity. Our room was a very nice size, actually a mini-suite. They even gave us coupons for free breakfast the next morning - this may have been a part of our package, but I wasn't aware and thought it was a nice gesture. It's amazing how far good customer service will go with me and if we are ever in Detroit again, I will plan to stay at this hotel. Great stay for a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddc4ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £143 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing