We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, United States
2 reviews
“Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Close to the in-town sport fields. Walking distance to some good places to eat and some Casinos. Parking at the hotel was interesting and you need to confirm the cost if you drive. Took a cab from the airport and the hotel doesn't have a shuttle, at least to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for staying. Sorry for any confusion on parking. Our overnight rate is a flat $22 per car, if you were asked to pay anything different, please let us know.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    305
    124
    51
    25
See reviews for
164
222
51
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is a jewel in downtown Detroit. Very close to the Gem Theatre, Greek Town and the People Mover. The Chrome Grill has great food. The Hotel Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy that our location, accomodations and staff were able to provide you with a great stay. Thank you for staying and we hope you can stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The best staff I have experienced in my 40+ years of travel. They made me feel at home from the moment I arrived. Jerie at the front desk is amazing and the restaurant wait staff are wonderful. The location is perfect. It is close to my work site and local entertainment including Greek Town and Ford Field. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for the great comments! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice Hotel. It is in excellent condition and seems to be very well maintained. The hotel has the feeling of a much larger hotel due to it's amenities and all it's attention to detail in decorating and design. For example, there is a restaurant bar, cafe, business center, pool, and the rooms have a microwave, mini fridge as well as a Keurig coffee maker. The rooms are very nice and very clean and well maintained. The staff was pleasant, polite and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel. The proximity to Ford field is very convenient. The parking is a little goofy. They have a very small lot and the parking is valet ONLY but they are limited on space due to their location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thanks for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our location, service and accommodations provided you with a excellent stay. We hope you can stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This Hotel is a bad imitation of a Hilton hotel. They try to give the impression of elegance on the surface but fall short where it counts. The rooms are small and stuffy. The pool is small and uninviting. The staff is unfriendly and unaccommodating. I will say that the beds are comfortable however.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jenniferr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our brand, Hilton Garden Inn, is was designed for travelers who did not have a need for all the amenities of a full service "Hilton" hotel. This give the travelers the ability to save on room cost by not paying a higher rate for services that they do not need. In reading your review, it appears we did not meet the service you expected, for that we should have done better. I will share you comments with our executive team and staff. We value our guest feedback and use it to improve for each and every guest stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Some items were left behind in the room after checkout. I called the following day and was transferred to housekeeping and had to leave a message. No one had called me back within a week. When I finally called them back, someone from housekeeping told me that the items had never been logged by hotel staff, thus no employee had ever even turned them in. Very disappointing that personal items left behind appear to have been taken by hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
i would like to thank you staying with us and apologize that we did not live up to your expectations in regard to your items left behind. I do hope that you accept my sincere apologies for this short coming. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels. After receiving your comments, we have taken the necessary steps to inform the appropriate departments of the problems raised. I have personally spoken with our associates and leadership team, to which I am assured that they have taken the necessary action within their departments to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Took longer to check in, long line and it wasn't moving fast. Dinner service, not great service but good food. Breakfast service was HORRIBLE and unsanitary. Pool area has no ventilation and just sitting in there makes your eyes burn and makes you cough from the chlorine burning your lungs. Mold at the top of the ceiling because of no ventilation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for staying, and I am sorry that we disappointed. I will share you concerns with the breakfast service with our team. I also wanted to let you know that as of yesterday afternoon, the ventilation unit in the pool has been replaced, and the pool area is scheduled for deep cleaning to bring the area back up to our expectations. We apologize for its condition during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing