We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed overnight on Aug 17 2014. Checkin was a bit long as there was a long line of people checking in for a concert at Ford Field witch is just down the street. While checking in everyone was very nice and accommodating. Other than a bit of a wait, which is not their fault because it was so busy check in was very easy. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The room were very clean and comfortable. The sleep number beds are very nice. From our room you could see the stands of Comerica Park, great place to stay for a ball game.
Nice easy walk to the Greektown area where there are a lot of restaurants.
You have to valet park your vehicle for $22 a night but with the location and everything withing walking distance you do not need your vehicle once your there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We're glad that our overall accommodations, location and service provided you with a excellent stay. We hope to have you come to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I did a one night getaway to downtown Detroit and were very happy with this hotel. The rooms were spacious, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. It is in a great location to many activities and restaurants. The hotel was very affordable for the location. The only drawback was the price for parking. Overall great experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Toddamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We're glad that our overall accommodations, location and service provided you with a great stay. We hope to have you come to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Hotel, great people that work there. Very accommodating to all of our needs. Our microwave and fridge did not work and they ended up giving us half off of our hotel room due to the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We're glad that we were able to provided you with a great stay. We will be addressing the issue you provided. We hope to have you come to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Given some of the comments re this hotel, felt it worth putting my 2 bits in. Stayed one night on Aug 14 and found the staff pleasant and helpful. A fairly significant special request (freezing of a transfer pack) was accommodated without fuss and went off well. The room was comfortable and had a view of Comerica Park (regrettably the Tigers game over by the time I arrived). The local area is undergoing a lot of renewal and the streets are a bit torn up but walked to dinner and breakfast without feeling in any way uncomfortable. For anyone going to Tigers or Lions game or just wanting a reasonably priced hotel in this area would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JandVVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write down your 2 bits about our hotel. We're glad that we were able to provided you with a great stay. We hope to have you come to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I will not go to this hotel again until the replace the beds. The service was good, room clean. Just extremely noisy and very poor beds. They gave me a back ache which is not what I expect from Hilton. If the desk people need to be told that the folks in the lobby are too loud then I think there is a problem with discernment of the hotel staff. I should not have to tell the hotel staff tohat the people in the looby are way too drunk and need to settle down and go to their rooms and be quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write down your review. We are sorry your stay wasn't above par with our high standards. We will take your issues under advisement. We are always looking to improve our hotel and our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Love this hotel - have stayed here before and will again. The location is a very short walk - and completely safe - to see a Tigers or Lions game. The hotel is clean, wonderful staff, easy location to access. We know we might be paying a bit more - but the location is well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thanks for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our location, service and accommodations provided you with a great stay. We hope you can stay with us again for another Lions game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay regularly at HGI properties and this may be the worst one that I have stayed at. Front Desk and Restaurant service was poor. My impression is that this hotel has poor management. Hotel has been renovated, though in this location, it seems that it was "done on the cheap". I would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank earthboyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thanks for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. I can appreciate your concern and discuss these issues with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
0.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £126 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Entertainment District, we are near Comerica Park, Ford Field, Little Caesar Arena, Michigan Opera Theater, the Music Hall and much more. Just two blocks from Greektown, you will find we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel include Quicken Loans, Meridian Health, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, General Motors, and DTE Energy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing