We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, mostly”
Review of Pizza Papalis

Pizza Papalis
Ranked #4 of 1,122 Restaurants in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good, mostly”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not earth shaking, but OK. Kinda high priced for pizza, which really is all this is. I DO like their lunch special where you get a small "personal" pizza and a salad. Good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    182
    52
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deep Dish Delicious”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The best Deep Dish pizza in the Detroit area. Rivals Chicago. Takes a while to cook, so plan for a wait...not a place to choose when you're in a hurry. Loaded with delicious cheese and selected fillings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherylM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I love Pizza Papalis”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Because I live so far from this restaurant, I always make it a point to order before I leave my office. I have had Chicago deep dish pizza and this restaurant is very comparable. Their seafood combo is absolutely wonderful. I find that unlike other pizza, the crust is to be enjoyed afterwards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7808BillyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Way better places to visit in Detroit for pizza, and dinner in general.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I guess I don't get it. Pizza Papalis is always well rated on Internet review sites. I didn't find it to be anything remarkable.

We were seated upstairs where the first waitress we encountered started complaining about having too many tables, and how she was "just done". She never approached us, but made the comments in our range. Luckily another waitress came over to see if we had been helped. We asked if they were closing soon, and she said they were open until 1am, it was only 9pm. We didn't know why the other waitress was so upset, but we were happy our new waitress, and we tipped her more than 50% on our bill because of it.

We ordered a pepperoni cheese garlic bread as an appetizer, it was garlic butter, cheese, and pepperoni layered atop a white submarine bun. The bun was the regular old Greektown white bread, but the toppings made it pretty good. We ate the entire thing, as we waited for our Pan Pizza that took more than 20 minutes to come out after the bread. By that time we were full of cheese bread, and just took our pizza to go. I ate a slice when we got back to our room across the street, it was pretty good, but not as epic as people have reviewed it in my opinion.

Overall if you want pizza in Detroit go to Buddies. Pizza Papalis is convenient for people in Greektown, and it is something different being offered up on Monroe Street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Downtown Treat”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A regular stop when we are downtown. The pizza is always outstanding. We always get their anti pasto salad. Their homemade dressing is the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Papalis also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Papalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing