We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveller rating
353
319
172
96
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
319
172
96
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskpeople movercobo hallqueen suitejoe louis arenagreat view of the rivervalet parkinghart plazared wings gamecorner roomdefinitely stay here againambassador bridgethe room was nicevalet servicetigers gameford fieldhotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza and it was a very enjoyable stay. Rooms were nice and newly remodeled, the staff was very professional and knowledgeable. Dawn was exceptional front desk staff, I also met with Security Officer David Johnson and he went over and beyond to make sure me and my family were taken care of. Crowne Plaza you have outdone yourself with the cleanliness and knowledgeable staff, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank detroittravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay. Our staff is extremely happy to know that you had a great time here and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Went to Detroit for a Tigers game-hotel room was clean, well done. Location-across the street from COBO Arena and a few blocks to Tigers. We walked to the Tigers game in the day and night -no problems. Parking is 25.00 at the hotel, we tried finding parking cheaper but no luck. View from window was a dirty pool but it was late in September. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your last stay. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time at Comerica Park to watch the baseball game. As you mentioned we are only a few blocks from Comerica Park which makes us the ideal hotel to stay at when watching the game. Thank you and we look forward to your return real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My family traveled to Detroit to catch 2 Red Wings games and a Tigers game. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Joe Louis Arena. Our room had a wonderful view of the river and was very clean. The room was a little smaller, but just fine for a family of 4 who had no real intentions of using the room other than to sleep. This location is perfect for attending Red Wings games and was about a 10-15 walk to Comerica Park with two smaller children. The only problem we encountered during our stay was Sunday morning dining. We were seated and waited about 15-20 minutes and no server came to our table nor did we even see a server. Valet parking went extremely smooth; we were able to keep our car in valet until 11:00 pm on our day of departure for only $10.00(with in/out rights if needed). Our first day at the hotel, we asked a car porter the easiest way to walk to the arena. The owner of the valet service gave my family a ride to the arena!!! What great customer service he and his staff have. Aside from the dinig issue, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great review! I wanted to formally apologize about your wait during Sunday morning's dining. We are glad that our valet services went above and beyond your expectations and from all of us here at the hotel we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

By far and away the best hotel I've ever stayed at in or around Detroit, and the whole state for that matter. The room was amazing and the views of the city and river were just phenomenal. To begin with, the entrance for valet parking is right off the expressway, literally seconds, and getting back on after checkout was just as easy. The valet parking was great, very fast and friendly, making leaving a vehicle a bit more comforting. The lobby and initial sights inside were just phenomenal, beautifully laid out, and just stunning. Front desk personnel were very efficient and extremely friendly during check-in. We spent about 30 minutes when we got to our room just simply in awe at how awesome it was. Not just the view, but the layout, appliances, and overall cleanliness were superb. After we stopped gawking out the window, we went downstairs and had a wonderful time at the bar watching the games. The bar staff were very friendly and good at their jobs, and created a very fun and inviting atmosphere for all. During the stay, I had numerous conversations with a security guard, who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area and what was going on. We were in town for a Tigers game the next day, and he basically guided us as where and what to do. The location of the hotel is perfect, right by Hart Plaza, Cobo, Joe Louis, and the River walk. You can easily see that this hotel is extremely well managed, every aspect was in tune with what a hotel stay should be. I would not even consider staying anywhere else in this city, not even close. Thank you for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review! We truly appreciate it and look forward to your return. It's reviews like this that we share with our staff as a motivator as to how every guest experience should be. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We traveled to Detroit for a Tigers game. We had never stayed at this hotel before and thought we would give it a try. Staff was very helpful and even helped us to get to the people mover (which we had never used before, and was a huge success). Very easy check in. Rooms were small, but perfect for the night. Really enjoyed our stay.

The con was the valet parking. We had no idea that we were being charged for Valet parking ($25.00 + tax) until after they had taken our truck! I was not overly impressed.

The best part was Joshua and Katie from the bar. They kept us entertained until the wee hours of the morning. Thank you so much for that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We do apologize about the valet fee, but are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the hotel all around. From everyone here at the bar and hotel we thank you and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews