We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
351
317
171
95
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
317
171
95
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskpeople movercobo hallqueen suitejoe louis arenagreat view of the rivervalet parkinghart plazared wings gamecorner roomdefinitely stay here againambassador bridgethe room was nicevalet servicetigers gameford fieldhotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Detroit while we visited the city to go to NHL and NFL games. The location was so convenient - walking distance to Joe Louis Arena and a short trip along the "mover" to Ford Field. The hotel decor was quite lovely and modern and the staff (valet, front desk, housekeeping, restaurants) were friendly and helpful. Customer Service clearly means a lot to the staff here because they were all really great. Our only complaint was the WiFi as we didn't get much reception in our room, but in the grand scheme of things, this didn't affect our opinion of the hotel in any way. We'll definitely stay here again if we're in the Detroit area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MisterBrady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience. We are glad you choose our hotel during your visit to Joe Louis Arena and Ford Field. We are happy to hear that you found our decor to be lovely and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here while in town for work. My experience was excellent. The lobby was large and inviting, the staff was very nice to deal with and interact with and the hotel had a nice vibe. The rooms were what you would expect for a Crowne Plaza, very comfortable beds and nice tv channel line up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We truly appreicate your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed over to see the Redwing's game. We arrived and the valet staff were charming, helpful. We had a beautiful room on the 22 floor and could see the Ambassador bridge! What a location,it was less than a two minute walk to the Cobo center or the people mover! We could do everything,fantastic location! The Starbuck's coffee shop was open with great service and a sample of the city's souvenirs. We didn't try the restaurant or bar but they looked inviting. The pool with hot tub and fitness room were nice. When I called the desk for any items the staff showed they cared about the little things too! If the weather is iffy outside you'd want to stay here! The bedding and furniture is all new,mattress was heavenly! Yes the wifi wasn't great in our room also but we just enjoyed the lobby more, big deal. The glass bathroom door was made to invite light into the bathroom space, may need to be changed. A fantastic renovation for a historic building and it looks like Detroit has many more buildings that need atleast a 50 million renovation! Our stay was also well priced! Had a fantastic birthday getaway! Great shopping malls 30-45 minutes away, museums 15 minutes, casinos all around and great restaurants with lots for tourists to do! The guardian building is a 2 minute walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011heather16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to providing feedback about your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we truly look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel recently underwent a renovation, but unfortunately, the bathroom's one-way glass doors were installed backwards, giving a view of the toilet and shower -- and anyone using them -- from the bed and sitting area of the room. We had to ask for and were provided with a shower curtain to cover the see-through bathroom door.

The hotel advertised its 24-hour snack, coffee, and gift shop. Not only was the shop not open 24 hours a day, it was not open at all.

The hotel also advertised free wifi. The wifi was excellent in the lobby (best hotel wifi I've ever seen), but was only available in some of the rooms. My corner room (1408) had no wifi reception.

On a positive note, I selected the hotel for its proximity to the Joe Louis Arena, for an event I attended. It is convenient to the Joe Louis Arena and two People Mover stops. Some rooms also offer lovely views of the river, downtown, and Canada, which we were able to enjoy after being moved to another room on our second night (with wifi, and only a half see-through bathroom door).

The cost of our stay for 3 nights in October averaged out to $300/night. All in all, I feel that this is extremely overpriced for what is provided, at least until the bathroom doors can be fixed, and the shop opens for business.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the corner of the hotel. They do not have wifi.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I wanted to formally apologize about any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Please contact me directly at FOM@hotelpontchartrain.com to come up with a resolution for the inconveniences you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Crown Plaza was an absolutely gorgeous place to stay! It had recently went through a renovation. We stayed there for a Detroit Tiger baseball game. The people mover was just blocks away and took you wherever you needed to be. We strolled the downtown area in the late afternoon, very nice. Our room was beautiful with a gorgeous view. I've never slept on a more comfortable bed! The only complaint I had was the parking. Upon arrival, we were told valet parking was $25.00. We really didn't have a choice because all of the other parking available were unsecured lots. Would have been nice to know up front. They had beautiful dining areas as well, but we did not dine there. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor with a view of the bridge, but also alot of roof tops.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience. We are proud to know that you found our hotel to be gorgeous. We are located right by Comerica Park (home of the Detroit Tigers) and we are happy that you choose our hotel to provide you with accommodations. I wanted to apologize the parking fee; we keep our valet costs competitive with the other lots in the downtown area. We look forward to your visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews