We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food”
Review of Masonic Temple

Masonic Temple
Ranked #38 of 142 things to do in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful Food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a beautiful venue for my friend's wedding, but the food was awful. Meat was cold, dry and had no flavor. Same with the potato and uncooked veggies. It's really sad because I know they spent a fortune on this wedding. Also, at the end of the night it was pretty scary waiting for the shuttle to the hotel. There was no sign of security anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    17
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Masonic Temple Wedding”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My daughter had her wedding in the chapel and the reception in the ballroom. The staff was outstanding and went over the top to make it a special day. They were very professional without being overbearing. The food and foodservice was fantastic. Our guests were very complimentary on the location, beauty of the building, and service. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 stars was the difficulty for handicap access. It was a bit of a trip to get my father to the venue with his scooter. He had to tour the the back of the house to reach the chapel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheSixofUsescapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“in dire need of updating”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We went for a concert this weekend, and paid $40.00 for the worst seats in the house. You could not even see the singer on the stage and the row of lights above the stage cover the televised screen.
The bathrooms are so bad - they still have individual taps for hot and cold running water and most of them don't work. The toilets are in such poor condition that only one out the 5 stalls were available for use, there is no soap dispenser so a lady stands there dispensing a small blob of liquid soap in the palm of your hand and then opens the hot tap for you!!
The theater is nice in the dark but when the lights come on it is in poor condition and the sound was so terrible there was continuous feedback screeching. One big thing to remember when going here is do not wear high heel shoes. In order to get to your seats you have to go up a big ramp which is so steep that most people could hardly walk up or down them. This is the only way you get access to the theater regardless of where your seats are. Another bad thing was that there was only one set of revolving doors to get in out of the the building, and when we were trying to get in the building, the line outside was so long we missed the beginning of the concert and then at the end, when we tried to leave, it took 20 minutes to get outside. The location of the Masonic temple is in a really bad part of town, burnt and boarded up buildings! But you can park close to the building for free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Christmas”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I visited here to help with a breakfast that put on for the homeless, from wha I saw it was OK but I would have like more of an opportunity to see the rest of the building to evaluate it further

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Saw Patti Smith's Christmas concert at the Masonic”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Beautiful building---I had never been. My friends and I went to the Christmas Concert for Gleaners on December 16th. The beautiful rooms, and all the magnificent details were amazing. The servers at the bar were very nice; the ushers very helpful. The seats were comfortable, and we could see and hear everything. A wonderful evening. Also, parking is accessible and attended, and reasonably priced at $10.00.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank applegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masonic Temple also viewed

 

Been to Masonic Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing