We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I remember old Detroit”
Review of Woodward Avenue

Woodward Avenue
Windsor, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I remember old Detroit”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I'm old enough to remember what Detroit used to be: beautiful, wealthy, vibrant, clean, full of life and energy... It's a terribly depressing sight to see now.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MisrEmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    8
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not A Dream Cruise”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

For a classic car lover this is a HUGE waste of time. I've attended car shows and outdoor classic car events from coast to coast and have to say this is the worst!

Unfortunately I traveled all the way here from California specifically for this event believing the hype! What I found was a parking lot full of new modified mustangs hosted by ford, if I wanted to see this crap I would walk into a ford dealership in LA.

So I decided to work my way down this long strung out event and it didnt get any more exciting!

The majority of what you will find is everyday freeway traffic driving this route, with a car worth seeing maybe every 25 cars. This is the "Motor City," I was hoping to see some rare or interesting vehicles at this thing. After awhile I found myself just getting excited to spot something common like a 57' Chevy or anything in the crowd that wasn't a New Mustang or built by Honda or Nissan!

Note to the event organizers, look at the "Dream Cruises" in other states. Narrow this thing down to specific car years and block it off so you can walk around and see these cars without driving 10 miles to see 10 cars!

Helpful?
1 Thank NitroAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I travel Woodward often, sadly, like so much of Detroit, there are areas that have seen better day and, unfortunatly, downtown Woodward is one of them

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Woodward Ave... More than just Road”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Location: Downtown Detroit thru Pontiac Michigan

History and Events:
Woodward Avenue was created after the Detroit Fire in 1805, It followed the route of the Saginaw Trail, an Indian trail that linked Detroit with Pontiac, Flint, and Saginaw.

Woodward Avenue was the location of the first mile (1.6 km) of concrete roadway in the country. First Dubbed as M10 in 1970 it was borne the M1 Designation and the rest is history.

For 17 Years Woodward Ave has been hosting he annual Woodward Dream Cruise. 40,000 muscle cars and cars of interest take over Woodward for the biggest one day event in the world. Visitors from as far away as New Zealand, Australia, Japan, and Russia come to attend this event.

I have had the oppurtunity of owning a different aray of Classic Cars and have not missed one Dream Cruise in 17 Years. My wife and I look forward to taking our 1975 Starsky and Hutch Gran Torino to every car event possible in the summer and Woodward is always on the "To Do" list. Followed by the New Hines Drive Cruise following one week after

If you love Muscle Cars and Nastalgic music this is a Must see -
Plenty of Restaurants and Things too do during the Cruise

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dream Cruise, restaurants, shops”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Other than Route 66, what road in America has more history? M1 goes from the foot the Detroit River in downtown (amazing what they've done with the River Walk by the way - go see it!) to Pontiac (a downtown that's seen much better days). Along the way it runs through multiple communities each with their own identity/special shops and restaurants (don't miss Ferndale, Royal Oak or Birmingham). Mid-August brings the Annual Woodward Dream Cruise highlighting what the Motor City is known for - motor vehicles. You can't have much more excitement, fun, variety and adventure than seeing what's to be seen, experienced up and down Woodward Avenue (cue Karen Newman).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodward Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Woodward Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing