We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a super luxurious resort”
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This review is a little belated. I visited the MGM GRAND Detroit on 7/24/14 and stayed 2 nights with a special guy of mine :) When I first got there, I was greeted by Valet. They were super nice and James helped me get all my stuff to the room. I will mention check in was AWESOME! I felt super welcome and they even extended our check out time to 1 pm instead of 11 am. The 2 days we were there we played at the casino and won a fair amount of $$. Enough to where our room, drinks and food were basically paid for. Speaking of the food, it was marvelous. Have to check out the Wolfgang Pucks restaurants. THEY WERE BOTH SOOO YUMMY! I will add that the room was very nice and cozy although we had too much fun outside of the hotel room to really be in there that much.

PS.) SHAWNEE at the hotel was the nicest lady I have ever met and made my stay 100% more special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_tot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ashley_tot,

Better late than never, especially when it comes to another satisfied guest of MGM Grand Detroit! Our attentive property staff is dedicated to providing extraordinary service, while amazing food choices literally are around every corner, including the delicious menus available in both Wolfgang Puck restaurants. Thanks for the personal shout outs for two of our employees, and please feel free to return again whenever possible.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was very luxurious and very clean. The shower was very large with 2 shower heads and even had a T.V. Imbedded in the bathroom mirror. Would stay there again if we receive another complimentary night. The staff were friendly and we loved not having to walk too far to the casino and restaurants.




  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelqueen4155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear travelqueen4155,

Our hotel rooms are legendary, offering guests of MGM Grand Detroit unmatched comfort and luxury. When you add the attentive service you receive from our dedicated property staff, there simply isn’t a better resort experience in the entire Midwest. We appreciated the opportunity to host your recent stay in Detroit. You’re welcome back at any time!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I used trip advisor to plan the first getaway my husband and I have had in 12 years. We've planned things in the past but have never been able to go through with them something always came up. We stayed in a Luxury corner suite with an incredible view overlooking the city. We enjoyed gaming until early morning when we were winning by $ 300 it was time to enjoy the room. The jetted tub was so relaxing and the rain showerhead was perfect end to the day. I wasn't sure about my husband being comfortable in the bed but the down quilt and the soft sheet would have made even Grumpy dwarf smile. We enjoyed eating at TAP several times during our visit the food was always top notch. The staff, the services, and the safe feeling made us decide to return monthly just to relax, reconnect, and recharge.





























































































8

Room Tip: Depending on the view you want : for a city view ask for lower end room # like 1501 - 1515...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Karyn P,

It’s so nice to know you and your husband enjoyed a long overdue and relaxing getaway here at MGM Grand Detroit. With our lavishly appointed accommodations, and an amazing collection of restaurants like the always popular TAP, nothing compares to a stay at the Lion of the Midwest. Hopefully, it won’t take another dozen years for you both to come back and see us!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My stay was awesome and very fun would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends!
The games in the casino are awesome and there are so many choices to pick from that is sometimes hard to choose.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkmitchell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear kkmitchell25,

Thanks for the recommendation! We enjoyed hosting you during your recent stay at MGM Grand Detroit, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This cool hotel is perfectly situated to hit a Tiger's game and play table games in between. The front desk person, Tamarra, was an incredible help in making our stay enjoyable. The spa is great and indoor pool is great. We ate at Wolfgang Pucks Steak and the Prime NY Strip and corn are unbeatable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Steven H,

It was wonderful to see you again! At MGM Grand Detroit, we do everything possible to ensure your total satisfaction, from the amazing collection of restaurants we house on property, to our commitment to extraordinary service. Thanks for mentioning one of our front desk staff by name. We’ll be sure to pass along your kind remarks, so she’s further recognized for her efforts. Please don’t hesitate to come back and see us again whenever possible!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

5 star rating!!!............great casino,,,many machines to choose from,,lots of bars,,stores and good food...room was gorgeous,,loved the bathroom the most.......friendly staff and lots of security.made us feel very welcome for my first visit,,cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Cindy C,

It’s always nice to hear back from former guests of MGM Grand Detroit, and especially gratifying when they relay their positive experiences with others. We appreciated the opportunity to host your recent visit to Detroit, and encourage you to return again whenever possible!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I Liked this Casino for the variety of games it has, but the amount of tobacco smoke was too much to handle. My wife and I are non-smokers so if you do smoke you probably would be ok but we spent an hour and a half there and our eyes were getting very irritated from the smoke. I tried to play some BlackJack at a table but three out of the six people sitting were smoking and it was irritating. It really prevented us from having a good time. Since we are from Ohio we are not use to the smoking in establishments and honestly I think that it is a good thing that we have the non-smoking law in effect. Since Ohio has casinos I think I will keep my money here at Hollywood and the Horseshoe

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear A M,

It's unfortunate to learn of the challenges you encountered in our casino area. At MGM Grand Detroit, we employ a powerful filtration system and strict cleaning regimen to negate any ill effects of second hand smoke. However, we regret any discomfort experienced during your time here, and will utilize your comments to ensure that we're doing everything possible to create an enjoyable environment for all our guests.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.0 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
0.6 mi away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £151 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing