We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MGM Grand Detroit
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is beautiful! The rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable. The bed is very luxurious. The steakhouse and the buffet are both excellent. The best part about the MGM is the world class service, particularly the housekeeping staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Gina B,

Our award winning Housekeeping staff, incredible dining selections, and impressive hotel rooms are just some of the many reasons MGM Grand Detroit remains a popular travel destination in the Midwest. We appreciate the positive feedback, and hope you can make it back our way sometime soon!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    243
    65
    31
    36
See reviews for
126
460
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I've stayed here twice before - and wrote rather glowing review of MGM Detroit. Fast forward to now - looks like I've got frequent Detroit travel coming so I figured the MGM will be a nice perk.

To be fair, MOST aspects of this hotel are great BUT, it seems more and more hotels are using "efficiency" as an excuse to but substandard air conditioning in rooms and if I'm going to spend $300 per night - sorry - i need a cool room. My previous trips were in suites so maybe the A/C systems are different but on my 2 recent stays I was in a King, and Executive King and both times - the room was very hot. Onto the review:

Valet
******

Friendly, quick, great!


Check-In
***********

Both recent visits, the agent could have paid better attention to certain requests, but overall friendly and check-in was efficienct.


Room
*******

LOVE the water pressure . Beds, furnishings, lighting, all that stuff is great about the room and housekeeping did a fine job.


Food
******

Didn't have time to do the splendid buffet on these 2 recent stays, but food at "Tap" was very good thought service a tad slow. The breakfast at the casual food court was awesome.


Casino
********
On these trips I only did the Poker Room and again, everything was comfy, staff was very nice. I even signed up for a "Players Card" since I'll be coming to Detroit often - and wanted to make MGM my regular spot.


AIR CONDITIONING - NOT GOOD
*****************************************

Ok, set the thermostat at 65. Then put a thermometer at the bed. If it truly goes to 65, I'll give $300 to any reputable charity MGM wants me to. You have such a great hotel - I really loved it, hence I came back twice and, the hot hotel room kills it for me. Yes, many upscale chains are chintzing on air conditioners which is why i've stopped using them. Amazingly enough, "cheap" hotels have cooler rooms I've learned.

So........

I have no choice but to try Atheneum, Motor Casino, Greektown Casino in Detroit.

Coming back to town Sept 10th-ish. Totally bummed that I can't stay at MGM.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are quiet and great
See more room tips
Green Features: Ridiculous to have weak air conditioning in the name of "environment" - why not start my turning off lights all thru the hotel when not needed and perhaps throwing away less food.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEDIKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear JEDIKNIGHT,

Although we're pleased to see that many aspects of your recent stay exceeded expectations, we regret the room temperature issues encountered, and will notify our maintenance staff immediately.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was the second year in a row we chose to stay at the MGM for our anniversary and once again we were not disappointed! It is within walking distance to Comerica Park, and it's nice to see a baseball game and not have to fight the traffic to get out! The rooms are breathtaking- amazing amenities in all the rooms. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The pool area is the most beautiful I've ever seen! It has a huge infinity indoor pool with great lounge chairs to relax in. The staff is very attentive. This will definitely be an annual stay for us!

Room Tip: For better views, ask for a floor on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjwingfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear mjwingfans,

Thanks for making MGM Grand Detroit the site of two consecutive anniversary celebrations. We're delighted to play host to such momentous occasions, and are thrilled to know you found incredible luxury and value in your room décor. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We loved the room! We are still talking about how comfortable the bed was. And the bathroom, wonderful design!
I wish I had seen the design before we built our own bathroom.
The service was wonderful. We were checked in & in our room within 10 min.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ron V,

MGM Grand Detroit has earned a reputation for providing top notch service, amenities, and relaxation for our guests. From our comfortable bedding accommodations and elegant bathroom fixtures, to mouthwatering dining options like TAP and Wolfgang Puck Steak, there's no better resort experience in town. We appreciate your kind words, and are eager to host you again!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very comfortable, temperature controlled room. MGM Grand Detroit location is close to many great venues such as Comerica park and Ford field. Valet, security, and guest services made us feel very comfortable. Security did a particularly good job considering their was a very popular boy band staying there also, but never once were we bothered by large groups of fans.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Our convenient location puts us within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions, while our commitment to service excellence has become an industry standard across the globe. We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at MGM Grand Detroit, and hope you'll stop by again the next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stopped in on Aug 23/14 for a drink on the way downtown, decided to stay for dinner at Wolfgang Puck Steakhouse. Good atmosphere around the casino but very smokey. Had a drink at the lounge and really enjoyed it. $5.00 for a Stella and lots of other options for draft. Staff was friendly and service was quick.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over night but did walk a short distance from another hotel. We did notice that walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helooo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear helooo99,

It’s wonderful to know that both our vibrant lounge environment, along with the exceptional menu and service at Wolfgang Puck Steak, made a memorable impact on your evening . Thanks for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor, and please feel free to return again anytime.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

MGM Detroit is the nicest of the 3 casinos in Detroit in all phases. The rooms are large, very clean and well appointed. The beds are especially comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are numerous restaurants and bars to choose from and the gaming room is the most relaxing in town. Valet parking is free and the valet service is fast and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at MGM Grand Detroit, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

With our luxuriously appointed hotel rooms, attentive staff service, and sprawling casino floor, discriminating travelers need look no further than MGM Grand Detroit. Our property also boasts not one but two Wolfgang Puck restaurants, along with our popular Palette buffet. We were grateful for the opportunity to host you, and encourage you to return again whenever possible.

Sincerely,

Lori Pastor
Guest Relations Manager
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Resorts International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#12 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Detroit

Property: MGM Grand Detroit
Address: 1777 3rd St, Detroit, MI 48226-2498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Green Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Detroit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Detroit, get down to business at the ultimate entertainment destination, MGM Grand Detroit. Surround yourself in timeless design in our ultra-chic hotel. Dream big on king-size beds with 300 thread count sheets, relax in our oversized marble baths with dual rain shower heads. Or indulge yourself in a garden of earthly delights within our signature restaurants, or nightlife options. Last, lavish yourself within Immerse, Detroit's only resort style Spa. Immerse Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Grand Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand Detroit Hotel Detroit
Mgm Grand Hotel Detroit
Detroit Mgm Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing