We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“City gem”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations for comfort and service. The rooms were very clean with updated and modern decor and fixtures. Everything that was needed was already in the room even robes and slippers. I will definately be staying here again especailly with the on going special rates hey offer. In my opinion this hotel and it's staff were slightly above average.

Room Tip: Hgher floors offer a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teemarie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thanks for the awesome review. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your room, and we've shared your comments with the hotel staff. Oh, and don’t forget to check out all the great hotel packages we have on our website (we update them often and we have some fantastic deals on there as well.) Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    220
    88
    49
    36
See reviews for
76
262
33
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I surprised my girlfriend of 4 years to a one night stay at motor city casino in a suite and an awesome dinner at iridescence, which is located on the very top floor of the resort. First of all the hotel and room were great. Everything we could ever need was right there and easy to get or ask for. The accommodations were very nice with a cosy feeling throughout the room. My favorite part was that bathroom. Huge first of all with a great shower and bathtub perfect for a romantic night for a couple. In addition to the room Iridescence was absolutely amazing. The food and the setting was perfect, could not have asked for more. All and all great way to celebrate 4 years with the woman I love.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
First off…Congratulations to you and your girlfriend on 4 years together! Thanks for the review…we were glad to hear that everything was to your liking for such a special occasion. For your next visit, be sure to check out all the hotel packages on our website (they’re perfect for a romantic escape and include everything from dinner for two at Iridescence to a couples’ massage at D.Tour Spa (or just grab both). Thanks again for the review…see you again soon (don’t forget, we host some fantastic weddings…wink, wink.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was incredibly impressed with the service we received at MotorCity Hotel. The room was clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. My fiancé and I are both wanting those pillows! The bath was spa-like complete with slippers and robes for the two of us. Service was impeccable, and we truly enjoyed complementary hors d'oeuvres prior to heading to our dinner reservations at Iridescence. We had a delightful dinner and gambled for a bit. Room service brought us a deliciously romantic dessert and we retired for the evening. In the morning we awoke to a newspaper and headed to the butlers pantry for a complimentary breakfast with fresh fruit. My only issue was the fridge is packed so full with goodies that we weren't able to put our leftovers from Iridescence in the fridge and went to waste. I would highly recommend staying at MotorCity if you live in the City or are just visiting. You never have to leave the hotel/casino if you don't want to. It's an "ahhhhh relax" kind of hotel!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room (and view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666margiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
The pleasure is all ours! Thanks for the awesome review, it sounds like you took advantage of everything we have to offer in order to create the perfect escape. We appreciate leftovers too, whenever we have some from Iridescence, they don’t usually make it to the morning :-). We've shared all the great feedback regarding the service you received with all the appropriate departments. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Detroit MotorCity Casino during a business trip. The rooms are large and tastefully (contemporary) decorated. Bath rooms have a separate walk in shower and full size tub. Robes and slippers are complementary. Internet access is free.
Housekeeping is average at best. My room and bath room were not properly cleaned e.g the cookie or bread crumbs which I found upon arrival on the floor were still there when I left 2 days later - towels were not refolded - my used coffee cup from the morning was still on the desk in the evening.
The casino is good size however the thick cigarette smoke makes it hard to stay for very long. Casino clientele seem to be mainly local people.

I would stay here again but would avoid the casino.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for the review; we’re glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Your comments regarding housekeeping have been shared with the Director of Rooms to help ensure that a similar incident doesn't occur again. Regarding the smoke in the casino, we do have a smoke-free gaming area near the main entrance of the casino. We’re also building a brand new smoke-free gaming area as we speak (it should be ready to rock before the end of the year). We look forward to your next visit, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Motorcity seems to be the "lost casino" with the grandness of MGM and the great location of Greektown. However, they have very nice and well priced rooms and generally better slot play. It is a great casino and hotel, if you want to check it out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UncleBucky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We’re glad you found us! Thanks for the review, we’re happy to hear you enjoyed yourself, and that lady luck was on your side as well. We like to say we’re a million miles away, right down the street, but we’ll take “great casino and hotel” any day :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. The room was huge and beautiful! And the bathroom, a walk in shower and a separate tub. The concierge was very helpful in getting my mom a wheelchair for our stay. I loved the added security near the elevators that prevented unwanted persons from heading to the hotel floors. The room was a Cha-ching and the bathroom the bling! I would stay here again. Well, I will be, the rewards from the casino was if we played an hour, our next stay was free. Both my mom and I earned free nights, more bling.

Room Tip: Sign up for a casino card, play an hour and get a free stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
This review is cha-ching music to our ears! Sounds like you had an awesome time, and we really appreciate you telling others about your experience on TripAdvisor. Oh, and a special THANK YOU for mentioning our Play an Hour Stay for Free promotion. We hope to see you and your mother again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our first stop visiting the downtown and it was not a disappointment! When you walk in you first thoughts are , who needs Vegas? It was very lively the food was great and unlike Vegas , they had an all you can drink soda coffee and tea self serve bar. We wanted to stay in a room here but opted to stay with family/friends as the price for a room was around $200 bucks!

Room Tip: check the room prices for specials as the rooms are pretty expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardvwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for the awesome review, we are glad you enjoyed yourself, but we wish you could have stayed! On your next visit be sure to join Club Metro, just play your favorite slots or table games using your Club Metro Card for an hour and earn a free room. Be sure to play in advance of your desired stay to ensure availability, your spouse can earn a free room as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your MotorCity Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing