We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year in THE D” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MotorCity Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MotorCity Casino Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year in THE D”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent the night at a party in the casino, then we stayed at the hotel that evening. Check in was fast and efficient. The ladies were poised and waiting on us (although it was a very busy night-the staffing was correct)* We checked into our room and found it pleasantly appointed, a large TV, in room fridge with nibbles (for a fee) and drinks, a bubble tub and a separate shower. Nicely scented soaps and body lotions (lemony) and the room was clean. When we turned in after partying-we found the view to be really nice (10th floor) especially since it was snowing outside~! The room was quiet (even with the hotel at capacity) and we slept like babies in the fluffy comfortable beds. All in all-we had a wonderful night!

Room Tip: No pool, but there is a beautiful spa on site. We had a great panoramic view of the city from the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamroxydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    206
    83
    45
    35
See reviews for
70
239
31
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a great room with 1 king bed. The room was luxurious, the bathroom was huge and the bath was GRAND! Everything was 'sexy' and clean. We stayed on the executive floor and figured things would be quiet for our stay. We were very wrong. Doors were being slammed all night long and there were many parties and loud music for most of the night. After calling in a complaint, the security team went out and it quieted down for an instant, but started up again until about 3 am... Not sure when it all stopped, but I eventually fell asleep. The "breakfast" wasn't much, but I appreciated the Tropicana bottles of orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Upon arriving to our room we found a huge hunk of hair on the coffee cups, a soap wrapper in the shower and questionable marks on the headboard. After calling and asking to move to a new room we were given another room which didn't have the above obvious cleanliness issues but rather had an odd and slightly disgusting oder. The manager on duty seemed irritated and rushed and he wasn't very concerned about our stay. We've only been here an hour and if it wasn't for friends that we were meeting here we'd be packing up and leaving.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyTravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel and casino was. Service was great. Rooms were spacious and clean. We are not big gamblers, but that did not really matter.
We also loved the restaurant - wonderful.
should note they did offer a free breakfast, but for the huge size of the hotel, they should hold this in a MUCH larger space

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed again at Motor City the day before thanksgiving as we went to Lions game on thanksgiving. As usual this is my favorite Detroit hotel casino.
The rooms are very nice but not overly big. The bed is comfortable and slept real well the little bit I did sleep! The only improvement they could do is add a safe to room to put all of your winnings in! (or just your valuables). Also they could ditch the over priced mini fridge and just put in a regular fridge like Caesars Windsor so you could keep your beers cold! Overall a pretty nice room!

The casino is as good as any and I usually seem to have good luck there! The players club card Club Metro comps probally better than any in Detroit. The only thing is they give you a free room once a month but sometimes hard to use it. I was lucky the day before thanksgiving as an agent gave it to me anyway as website said it was sold out. My brother and nephew had to pay $200 a night as they couldn't get their free room.

Overall this is a very nice hotel casino and would recommend to anybody who likes to game a little and spend a night in a nice room!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDSROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The room was very nicely decorated and clean with a great view of Detroit. Definitely use an outside booking site as the room was significantly less than on the casino website. Check in and out was easy but they could use more staff at front desk to make it quicker.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved this sleek, modern hotel until it came time to sleep. Loud neighbors kept us awake every hour on every night of our stay. Although we cannot fault the hotel for the behavior of other guests, I should note that a placard in each room promises quiet after 11 p.m.; the note reads something to the effect of "If your party disturbs others, we'll ask you to move downstairs."

Alas, none of our efforts -- which included calling the front desk and even personally confronting loud guests in the hallway -- gave us peace for any more than a few minutes at a time.

At checkout we informed the agent that our stay was unsatisfactory because of excessive noise, but we were told such commotion was par for the course in a casino hotel. The hotel offered no sympathy or compensation.

I'm a frequent guest of hotels; I've stayed at hundreds around the globe. I'm Gold at Hilton, Marriott, and Radisson brands; Platinum at InterContinental. The majority of my hotel stays are pleasant; on the occasions when issues have come up, every hotel rectified the situation either on the spot or with compensation after the fact.

This hotel was the first in my travels to do neither. I was left incredulous with its patently offensive response to our very basic and legitimate complaint of being unable to sleep.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCCHDetroit_MI, Manager at MotorCity Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I’m sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate all of our customers’ feedback, and we've sent your comments to the hotel staff to help ensure this doesn't happen again. However, we’d really like to take this one step further, and would appreciate it if you could get in touch with us via email so we can look into your specific stay with us: digitalmarketing@motorcitycasino.com. Thanks again for the feedback, we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.4 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.3 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MotorCity Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MotorCity Casino Hotel

Property: MotorCity Casino Hotel
Address: 2901 Grand River Ave, Detroit, MI 48201-2907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MotorCity Casino Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your MotorCity Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motorcity Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing