We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay - nice hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Orrville Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice stay - nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I recently stayed for two nights at the Westin and had a very nice visit. The updated rooms were very nice after a day at Cobo. The hotel has all the amenities you need for a nice stay. The location is great if you are attending an event at Cobo, or anything else downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZipsnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    424
    118
    42
    32
See reviews for
163
389
59
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

An extensive and costly rebuild of this historic hotel has been completed in the heart of downtown Detroit. Although the city itself is crime ridden the downtown area is well patrolled with few incidents. This is a 5 star hotel with all the amenities. Staff very friendly and helpful, valet parking, totally accessible for persons with disabilities, including attached restaurant, work out room and swimming pool with a lift.

Room Tip: Beds are rather high. May be difficult for persons with disabilities or persons of short structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stosh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A fabulous hotel, steeped in history, located perfectly in downtown Detroit, ideal for the Opera House, Commerica Park (for the Baseball) and the waterfront.
Good rooms and facilities only slightly let down by the overpriced food. If they provided a simple help yourself breakfast at a flat fee, then i would have scored 5/5

Room Tip: If you become an Starwood Preferred Guest (free to join on their website) you can more than likely g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was my first time staying at a Westin (or a nicer hotel, in general) and it was very pleasant. The room was spacious and the bed was amazing. Huge bathroom with a double showerhead and nice toiletries. I had a room up on the 19th floor, which overlooked the river side. I actually was able to watch the fireworks from the window---extra excellent:) The hotel is also in close proximity to a lot of eateries and a cab ride to Greektown is really cheap. Actually, you don't really need a cab, but some people take caution when walking around Detroit. There is also a People Mover stop right across the street.
As for the food of the hotel: room service is obviously way more pricey than what it should be. The menu sounds great, but honestly, the food was kind of crap. Not worth the price at all. There is the hotel restaurant, which I forget the name of (Boulevard Room, I think), but I never ate there. 24 Grille is another restaurant connected to the hotel. Still a little pricey, but the food is much better. They have a great lunch menu and a very nice bar and outside eating area. The other retaurant is Roast--a Michael Symon joint. Obviously very pricey, but it was the best meal I had in Detroit. Again, Greektown is not far at all and there are a lot of places to eat, too. They also have a small coffee shop that serves Starbucks drinks. I normally don't like Starbucks, but the only decent thing you will get here is just a cup of coffee. I ordered a latte and it was pretty bad. I even asked for another shot of espresso and it was still just steamed milk. As a side note: Detroit is not really a coffee place. Even the smaller, independent coffee shops don't make very good drinks. No biggie, just more of an observation.
The Westin staff were great. Their Motor City bar is really nice--small bar, but lots of couches and comfy chairs. A very large cocktail menu and they serve good food.
All around, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenchristina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I had a one night stay in Detroit and enjoyed my short time at the Westin Book Cadillac. I was greeted with excellent professional customer service at the front door, the front desk and with the housekeeping staff. The room was great and bed was awesome.

As I was waiting for directions, a disabled man approached the bellman (wish I had gotten his name). He was extremely polite, kind and courteous to this man who I am sure others have mistreated. The man was asking about a job at the hotel. He was treated with dignity as we all should be. It was so good to see this happen. KUDOS to the staff and this particular employee who knows that is good to respect others -- never know who is watching and will be writing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikni2wri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Clean, great shower, great bed, quiet, and staff that was very helpful. Not an especially exciting part of town, but so be it. Felt, overall, very well appointed, and a cozy haven. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sl_fpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

When you walk in it looks like a Weston. That of course is not a bad thing, but I expected architectural charm on the inside. It is all tucked away in to the side room/bar which was lovely. I understand this was a massive renovation, but to walk in through such a grand exterior and see Westin modern (and again that is not a bad thing) was disappointing. The people behind the desk were exceptionally friendly and helpful, although some were very new to the city and did not know the way around. (The concierge was not around). Our room was extremely large and well appointed, although you would expect 2 bathrobes rather than 1 in a king size room.
The restaurant Roast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.5 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#14 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing