We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but missing several room amentities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel but missing several room amentities”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Westin was a very comfortable hotel with some great bars and restaurants within it's walls. My only beef is that some specific traveler needs are not met. For instance, the shower has one small shelf to hold shampoo and soap, no rack for washcloths and no towel rack within four feet of the shower. The sink has little room for holding essentials and again there is no towel rack for a hand towel. They offer a small coffee maker with cream but no stirrers. They have great pillows on a king bed but only four. They do not offer shuttles to the close-by casinos to their guests. I know these are small things, but they would make this experience a 5 for us. Valet parking is $30.00 a night and self-park is $15.00 a night. Self-parking is easy and you can drop your bags at the door. Cheaper, and you can spend the saved money at the casino! The room was very quiet and I loved the curtains - could make the room pitch dark in the middle of the day.

Green Features: They offer recycle trash cans in the rooms - loved this!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed many aspects of your stay despite the unhappiness you experienced with the bathroom layout. We very much appreciate input such as this and do take all comments into account. We do hope these items will not keep you from staying with us in the future.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    442
    125
    44
    33
See reviews for
177
402
63
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We are in Detroit maybe 4 times a year, initially coming down to visit family but now because we have come to love the city. The Westin is the best home base in town - fantastic pool, great bars (Motor Bar, 24 Grille and of course Roast) and always a buzz in the lobby with whatever film shoots may be going on in town being hosted.

Detroit is easy to get to from Toronto. You will need a car in town (the hotel has secure parking). The access choices are either a manageable 4 hour drive, Porter/ Air Canada to Windsor airport (about 15 min from downtown detroit, closer than the Detroit airport is) and rent a car at the airport, or VIA rail to Windsor (about 10 min from downtown) and then taxi across to the hotel. They can arrange for transportation.

Roast is our favourite restaurant in town. The bar area is spectacular and always packed, and the food delicious. I crave the porterhouse and brussels sprouts.

Rooms are nothing spectacular but clean, large, modern and attractive with great beds/linens /bathrooms. Ask for one facing outward - architecture in Detroit is gorgeous and there are some great views. Ask the concierge about things to do and where to go, where to avoid. Biking in Detroit is a fun way to get around town and the city is undergoing rapid change, for the better in the core areas.

Make sure you get into the Guardian building and to the DIA. Amazing.

Room Tip: Facing outward, view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with your fellow TripAdvisor readers. You offer three great tips – biking is great especially along the River Walk where you can rent bikes. The Guardian building and the DIA are must visits. Thank you for your loyalty and we will continue to work hard to provide you we great stays each and every time.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I regularly escape to Detroit (I know, but it's true.. we love the D!!) and our go-to hotel is the Book Cadillac. It is a superb hotel with excellent service. The renos on this hotel are amazing, and true to the hotel's history... it's beautiful from the inside out! We frequently walk or are a short drive to lots of restaurants and other sites.
We love, love, looove the Motor Lounge. I have never been disappointed by one of their cocktails, and my husband and I always laugh with the server when he orders up a "Dirty Blonde" (their blonde beer.) Servers have always been phenomenal and the snacks on the bar menu are to die for. The spot is just so gorgeous that we are so happy to relax there after a day of walking around, visiting and getting to know more of Detroit.
We often order in on the Room Service menu, just as a treat, and it's always delicious, never disappointing. I find that rarely in a hotel, and appreciate that what I am paying is absolutely worth it!
Sincerely, this is a great spot to get away to with your beloved, or even just a respite from a busy schedule.
Thank you Westin for your good work here! We hope to be back again soon! :)

Room Tip: Request a particular view if you want one... it IS downtown Detroit ;)
See more room tips
Green Features: They have great green policies and I am always happy to reuse my towels, especially if it's just one night... You can always request extras! :)
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NostalgiaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. It is always a joy to hear about our team’s service levels and how our amenities, such as the Motor Bar, are so well enjoyed. We hope to continue to be your pick when visiting The D.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

friendly staff, good crowd (of preppy, business travellers)

negative:
- they make you pay for internet, which comes in 2 versions, and the slower option is painfully slow, much slower than advertised
- ugly stain on daybed, not much of a problem though

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avoid_boring_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay dispute the overlook stain and challenges with the internet. We have recently made a sizable investment in upgrading our internet service and are happy to tell you we have worked out the kinks relating to the base service. We look forward to having you back very soon.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After years away from downtown Detroit, I was at the Crowne Plaza (formerly Pontchartrain) last month and now at the Book Cadillac this weekend, both for meetings. Westin has done a great job with the old Book Cadillac; service was uniformly top notch, from the door and valet staff through check-in all the way to check-out. The banquet meal we had was good, not "wow" but I don't expect that in a banquet setting. They gave us a very reasonable block room rate. The Sunday brunch in the first floor restaurant (not Roast) was very nicely done, and everything surrounding our meetings (for about 130 folks) was well handled. Downtown Detroit has a lot yet to be done, but walking around in the evenings I found it already feels so much more vibrant and alive than it did 6-7 years ago. Would definitely choose the Westin again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you and welcome back to Detroit. You are correct - the past 6 years have brought great positive change to the downtown area which is now vibrant and getting more so every day. Our culinary team will be delighted to hear your praise of the meal you enjoyed at the meeting. We hope that The Westin Book Cadillac will now be your number one choice when visiting Detroit.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the NHL winter classic. Though my husband was working at the game and I didnt go I found myself with plenty to do in the hotel. I didnt want to leave the hotel because there isnt much to do in downtown Detroit. They have an amazing gym that I was able to use. The restaurant in the hotel (I dont remember the name of it but its the steak house style restaurant) has the best steak I have ever eaten in my life. My mother in law and I watched the game in the lounge bar where we also at lunch. The bartender Dave was incredible! He completely exceeded my expectations. After the game I retired back to my room where I was able to watch some tv in comfort. Overall what a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and review. We are pleased that you enjoyed Dave’s service, we are lucky to have him in the Motor Bar. We hope if you do return that you will visit our Concierge who will help you find all the great things to do in the D.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian River, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just returning from my nephew's in Detroit Michigan. They had a block of rooms at the Westin Book Cadillac for their wedding guests. The rooms were fabulous, very comfortable and luxurious. Guest services took care of all our wants and needs including parking. They were extremely pleasant and helpful. Location was perfect for enjoying the sites of downtown Detroit which is on it's way back to being a great city. Looking forward to staying there in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pattytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Book_Cadillac, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Congratulations to our Nephew. We are pleased that you and the other guests had such pleasant stays and we too look forward to your return to Detroit.

Be well,
David W
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#15 of 33 in Detroit
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Property: The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Address: 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#8 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Book Cadillac returns legendary style and glamour to Detroit hotels. The historic Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel has been restored to its original splendor to reclaim its position as Detroit's premier hotel and social gathering destination. The luxury hotel also features more than 60 residences on the upper floors and some of the Midwest's most dramatic public event spaces. You would have to see the property to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit's famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing