We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Convenient, with great service”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were able to secure a good rate by booking two weeks in advance. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. The front desk agent saw that I was struggling with my luggage as my partner was waiting with the rest of our bags. She assigned me a room right near where my partner was standing. Nice touch.

We haven't had the energy to try any of the amenities, but they look great. They will provide you with gym clothes if you don't have any. That's the extra mile service that is to be expected of this hotel. The beds are well-known for their comfort. Wake-up calls are provided on time. Rooms aren't noisy even considering the location and layout of the hotel (it surrounds an atrium).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biensapeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. I think our Front Desk team is amazing too and I'm so glad they were able to assist you. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    390
    98
    38
    18
See reviews for
256
317
131
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

After two flight cancellations I had to find a room for the night so I was already miserable. Shocked to find out the rate of $359 which I felt was taking advantage of numerous flight cancellations. If that is truly the rack rate it is still overpriced. Room was marginal and well worn with a nice broken lamp on the bed table. Real classic. Total one night stay was over $400 with taxes and cannot think of the last time I wasted that much money on a room. Have used Westin extensively in the Chicago area and always happy with rates and service. This was highway robbery and just added to my already miserable day.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. We truly understand how difficult it can be to have a flight unexpected cancelled during a long trip. Our intent is to offer a great value for the cost incurred, but we unfortunately failed to do so in this case. Please feel free to reach me directly at paul.dinapoli@westin.com, as I'd be more than happy to help you in any way I can. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed the night before our early morning flight to Florida. We used the option of going beyond the security check point which is located in the hotel by the front desk and had dinner in the airport terminal. You need to see a police officer first that is at the gate then present yourself to the TSA and get a full pat down and off you go.

The room was clean, comfortable and we could not hear any planes loud enough the wake us during the night.

This hotel is the ultimate in convenience when flying Delta out of Detroit and will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miller-Time-CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and we're so pleased to have you back with us. Our terminal access and location are truly hard to beat and we hope to see you soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had stayed here before and really love the proximity to the terminal. This time, I arrived too early in the day to avoid the natural sunlight - oh dear. Stains on the walls, chipped furniture, scraped paint. The common areas are beautifully kept (nice workout area), beautiful lobby; but the rooms need to be updated - paint, wallpaper, etc. The room was very clean and the bed was up to Westin standards. Just looks better with lamps as opposed to sunlight!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We're so sorry to hear of your experience and we'll be sure to address the items that you mentioned. If you wouldn't mind, I'd love to hear from you regarding the specific details and location. I can be reached at paul.dinapoli@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I decided to try a little step up from my usual park/stay/fly routine at Detroit Metropolitan Airport this year. I have stayed at several places over the years with mixed results. The Westin offered valet parking and the hotel is directly connected to the airport. Since this winter has been much colder with much more snow than usual, I didn't really want to come back from vacation and have to clean a foot of snow off of my truck so I decided to try the Westin.

We pulled up right out front of the hotel, took our luggage and were given a valet ticket. Simple, quick and easy. No looking for a parking spot. No smelly shuttle busses. No crowds. No freezing our butts off.

Arrival and check in was quick and easy with very courteous staff. The room we were assigned was directly over the cocktail lounge in open lobby. Since I'm a very light sleeper, I called the front desk and asked if another room was available. I was told that they would check into it for me and would get back to me. Within 2 minutes, really 2 minutes, there was a knock at the door and we were given keys to another room.

The room was modern looking, spotless and smelled clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft, smooth and luxurious. The shower was clean and had just the right amount of pressure.

My biggest concern prior to arrival was the potential for noise since the hotel was right at the airport. I was in the room from 10pm until 7am and I didn't hear a single plane. Amazing soundproofing. I also didn't hear other guests in the hallway or closing doors.

The next morning, we walked directly from our room to the airport without having to go out into the cold. That's a nice treat since we were going to a tropical destination and the temperature in Detroit was 8 degrees F. We wore our shorts and tshirts right from the beginning without having to change on the plane or in an airport.

On returning to Detroit, I texted my valet ticket number as we left the US Customs area. By the time we rode the 4 escalators to the hotel level, I saw my truck pulling up in front of the hotel. 15 steps across the sidewalk was all it took to be on our way. The temperature outside was 16 degrees F but the truck was already warming up. This is truly the way to go.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindpiggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It looks like you had a wonderful time and we can't wait to have you come back!

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night before leaving for a trip. On the plus side, the hotel is extremely convenient and the parking package was wonderful. On the down side, our bed smelled like urine, which was disgusting and made it hard to sleep. Equally bad was the 2:00 am "wake-up call" from the escort knocking on our door looking for her client. Seriously. The hotel gave us a $7 credit (yes, $7) for our inconvenience. I'm not sure the convenience factor will ever convince us to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MSUmom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm am incredibly sorry to hear of your experience and your was obviously not a Westin experience. I promise to make it up to you and it would be my sincere pleasure to speak with you directly. I can be reached at paul.dinapoli@westin.com.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business meeting and was very impressed. The entrance to the hotel is directly from the Delta gates. Even more convenient is that TSA provides security checkpoint directly from lobby. The TSA hours are limited so check times. The restaurant is very nice with very friendly staff. Food was excellent - I had the salmon for dinner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RegenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Manager at The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we're so pleased that you enjoyed the great service - and great salmon! Hope to see you again soon.

Paul DiNapoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.3 mi away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing