We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People, please. This is so not the best hotel in Detroit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This is definitely the best hotel at the Detroit airport - in fact, it's one of the best airport hotels in North America -- how many can boast valet parking and their own security checkpoint, meaning that it's just steps from checkout to the concourse? Awesomeness.

Based on some serious changes in the regional hotel market, however, it's entirely inaccurate to call this hotel the best in Detroit, as some poor reviewers mistakenly assume.

The only reason you should stay here is if you have business at the airport (arriving late, departing early, doing the park and fly thing, stranded.) Downtown Detroit has improved so much and now has three really great properties to choose from (there are plenty of others, but three that stand out).

One, the Westin Book Cadillac. This is a no-brainer. The property, a renovated historic gem, is on another planet from the airport Westin, with a very glam steak house (Roast) and a great scene at the Motor Bar, a Detroit institution come back to life. Rooms are enormous, and typically Westin comfortable. Staff are excellent. From this point on, if someone insists that the airport Westin is better, they probably have never seen the Book Cadillac, it's that simple. Good security (key required for elevator access) and great valet staff - hats off. I am not an SPG member, so one stay was enough, but now that it's back, hanging out at the bar or restaurant has become an essential part of any Detroit visit for me.

Two, the hotel at the MGM Grand. The spa, pool and fitness center there are unbelievable. Vegas-level luxury, same goes for the guest rooms. The rooms here make the standard rooms MGM Grand in Vegas look almost cheap motel-esque. Hotel staff here were really not great at the beginning, but things are improving. Spa staff were always excellent, and no doubt remain so, as long as they haven't changed management in the past couple of months. The Michael Mina restaurants in the casino are far beyond what you'd expect for Detroit dining -- the people reviewing the MGM Grand that said the restaurants were horrible out themselves as total cheapskates, they're talking about the coffee shop/buffet. Basically, if this place were cheaper I'd never stay anywhere else. Bonus for anyone with security concerns: Best security in town. The hotel lobby is behind a pair of glass doors, manned by a security guard 24 hours a day - key required to enter.

Three, the Doubletree Fort Shelby - a godsend for any Hilton HHonors members who want downtown but didn't want to have to settle for the (admittedly very nice) Hilton Garden Inn near Ford Field. The Doubletree is a suites property in another renovated hotel. Nowhere near as sexy as the Westin Book Cadillac, but a huge leap above the Marriott properties which were pretty much the best downtown had to offer for a while. The Doubletree is very close to the Anchor Bar, which is where you can find random crazy people and reporters from the Freep/News drowning their sorrows. Very old school Detroit.

Again - don't listen to people who tell you to avoid Downtown. That's a really outdated warning, generally given by people who haven't been there in a while. Detroit is definitely a mess in places - most places, to be honest - but don't hold that against Downtown, which looks better than it has in years.

Bottom line: When in Detroit, book central, check in, talk to the staff, get recommendations - there's lots going on and I've always found that Detroiters really warm up to you when you show an interest in their town.

No, it is not New York or Chicago, but you are quite possibly reading this review because you were thinking of staying at the airport. Therefore, we are so not having that argument.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank heycollegeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed here because we flew into Detroit Metro at 1:30 AM and didn't want to go a long distance to an off-site hotel. However, since we flew into the North Terminal and the hotel is in the McNamara Terminal, we still had to take a shuttle and we waited a long time outside in the dark before it arrived.

I had called the Westin earlier in the day to tell them we'd be checking in after 1:30 AM and the person said she'd hold the double room. However, when we finally got to the hotel, she said the only room left was a king-sized room and she could send a roll-away bed. We had two kids and two adults, so this wasn't enough. We asked for two roll-aways, but both beds wouldn't fit, so we ended up having one kid sleep on the couch.

There was a huge gross stain on the comforter of the king bed. It was alarming and unacceptable for such a hotel. Some of the furniture was worn more than you'd expect for a fancy place like this seemed to be from the lobby.

The room was quiet and generally well appointed. Wi-Fi, room service, and the minibar were way out of our price range, but we could live without these as we were leaving at 7:30 AM the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silic0nValleyTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Hotel is very nice and convenient.

Food was a complete disappointment. Cold fries were delivered with my burger - total pet peeve. Waited an hour for room service, only to be told that the restaurant was backed up because of cancelled flights.

We didn't care why they were backed up, we chose to stay @ The Westin because they are known for great service.

Service STINKS!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chiefoptimizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Stayed here one night while giving a talk. It is the most convenient airport hotel ever. The entrance is right in the middle of the terminal and you can enter the terminal directly from the lobby (and go through security with no line) Room was large and very clean. Two big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank woocman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Having booked for just one night wished I could have stayed here all week.
Rooms comfortable and clean.
Good gym facilties
A breakfast to die for eggs benedict with smoked salmon

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Couldn't make the last flight out after a week of business travel, so stayed at the airport Westin. Everything was just lovely! I had lots of luggage and they were great to tag it and then the bellhop (Hassan) brought it to my room. Check in was a breeze (the aromatherapy is so nice and helps to begin to unwind after the crazy Detroit traffic, car rental craziness, etc.)

When I got to my room, it was with a view of the lobby (which is quite nice.) But I really wanted to see the airplanes. Hassan came with my luggage and called down the front desk to get me moved. He took me to the new room and it was very cool to see the planes parked right outside the window. (Try to get a top floor view of the runway!) Unbelievable...the room was indeed soundproof.

The Heavenly Bed is indeed heavenly. We plan to buy one in the next year. The whole room was incredibly clean. Robe in the bathroom is always nice.

Workout facilities are better than most. Cardio machines each had their own tv. There were lots of weight machines, too.

Restaurant was expensive and just okay. Service was efficient, but not the friendliest in the world.

Checkout was a breeze and Hassan was back to help me to the curb with my luggage (I flew American and had to take a shuttle to the older terminal.)

I look forward to going back to this Westin, as I travel to Detroit frequently and often work too late to make the last flight home.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Inside the serene lobby you'd have no idea you were at an airport. The common areas are designed extremely well--there are plenty of lounging areas, places to read, use your laptop, or watch TV. Everything is sleek but comfortable. Our room was great--we had a wonderul room on the seventh floor with a view of the planes. Dema, the hotel restaurant, is good but expensive. Honestly, the chicken in my Asian chicken dish was dry, although the accompanying balsalmic onions and risotto cake were very good. One thing I wished I'd known: If you don't have a boarding pass, you can only get a pass from the hotel to enter the terminal before you check out. I wanted to waste some time (and eat a less expensive lunch) in the terminal while my husband attended a conference.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank edegenhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.6 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,113 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
18.0 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.4 mi away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
681 reviews
11.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Address: 2501 Worldgateway Pl, Detroit, MI 48242-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: £140 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the world-class McNamara Terminal, offers the convenience of a private security entrance, latest Westin guestroom, technology and comfort, Reflections Restaurant and Lounge, 26,000 sq. ft. of meeting space and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing