We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin DTW is Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Westin DTW is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

I stayed at the Westin DTW for one night 30 June. Check-in was very fast and I loved the airport exit to the hotel directly off the A concourse. The "heavenly" bed was indeed heavenly, and I slept very well with little airport noise. The hotel decor is asian modern an very clean looking. Pool was nice (but small) and the spa-whilrpool was only warm. Definitely recommend! I was through the dedicated security to the airport in about 2 minutes!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    383
    96
    36
    17
See reviews for
255
309
129
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2006

I am a Hilton HHONORS Diamond and a Marriott Reward Gold member - I stay in ALOT of hotels all the time. You'd think my favorite hotel would be a boutique hotel or a top-tier hotel (W, Ritz, Four Seasons), but I have to say, this Westin is my favorite hotel. Period.

Why? Rooms are upgraded, clean and the bedsand showers are fantastic (heaven bed? dream bed? I forget what they call it). The lobby is inviting (feng shui?) and the people are helpful. But it is the small things that make a difference for the business traveller. I've stayed here 6 times, and each time has been problem-free and usually leaving me better off than I arrived...
- Originally planning to go home, I had an unexpected meeting the next day. I arrived late at night (1am) with no clean clothes. The front desk person took the shirt off my back and had my shirt cleaned and pressed for 7am the next morning - no charge. (Nicely tip the bellman who brings it to you!)
- I arrived from Asia late with a connection in the morning. The front desk person saw how exhausted I was and upgraded me to a suite on the executive floor (I booked a basic room). They had a hostess bring me a quick breakfast the next morning with a note from the manager hoping my short sleep was revitalizing.
- I woke up and had a meeting from my room that ran late. I called the concierge who checked me into my NWA flight and checked me out of the hotel. He had my ticket ready as I ran out. The direct entrance to the airport was also a big time saver.

All in all, this is a great hotel...

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mmmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2006

Great hotel. Booked it online for an early morning flight out of metro airport. The beds were the best hotel beds I have ever slept on. The showers were fantastic as well. Plus, I had a cool outside view to the tarmac where I could watch planes pull up to and leave the gate.

Pricing seems to be hit and miss. I booked it for $80 online (a fantastic bargin) when I stayed. However, 5 months later, I had a late international arrival at the airport and wanted to stay the night before driving home. For the same room, the price was $240 (way too expensive).

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spartanfan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2006

Couldn’t be happier with this hotel, what you should expect from the Westin. The hotel itself is beautiful, the lobby is amazing. Even though this hotel is on airport property I didn’t even notice much plane noise. We were checked in and out in a matter of minutes, everyone was exceptionally friendly. Making this hotel even better was the $79 a night deal I got off priceline. I very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2006

My job forces me to travel to DTW once a month from Los Angeles and I routinely stay at the Westin.

What else could a business travelor ask for? Great bed, easy access, respectable dining and nice gym. You will pay for the convenience, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMarr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester,uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights before relocating to Uk. We had a 2 bedroom suite. The bathroom had problems . The club room/ lounge was just okay. The maids, maintenance, bellboys all were complaining. No one there was happy and they surely made you feel it. Great for the business traveller for one night. Overall, the rooms were small and not very clean. Most suites provide you with bottled water, here it cost me 7.50. Great beds and pillows and close to NWA.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
17.3 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
17.8 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
18.1 mi away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#2 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport

Property: The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Address: 2501 Worldgateway Place, Detroit, MI 48242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport, located in the new world-class McNamara Terminal, offers a private security entrance, latest technology and Detroit's most stylish & comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport Hotel Detroit
Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Detroit Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing