We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
Review of The Atheneum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Atheneum
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We found the Atheneum to be a bit dark and somewhat forlorn.
The suites were large, but long and very dark in the sitting area.
When we checked in, we called down to the front desk and they quickly arranged to move us to a corner room with more windows.
The staff was very accommodative and welcoming.
The air conditioning flowed only into the bedroom, so the sitting area was a bit stuffy.
Bathrooms were nice, but the tubs are dangerously deep and would present a challenge for some.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    170
    85
    33
    38
See reviews for
67
179
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The room is huge, very clean and so long as you like the colour brown, quite well furnished. Its clear its an older hotel that has had a facelift. Bathrooms alway give it away! The best aspect were the friendly and very helpful staff who were absolutely fantastic, especially the front desk and shuttle drivers. HOWEVER the noise issue was a really big problem for me. It makes what could be a great hotel to one I would avoid. I stayed for 5 nights and 2 of the nights the noise from the next room was terrible, to the point of frightening. I could hear every word and every thump of the bass beat from MTV blasting on the TV. After trying to sleep for hours I rang the desk and they sent someone up promptly ( yes I could hear the conversation through the wall) and the noise did become less, at least for a while. If you can sleep through loud voices, dinging elevators, TV's on full volume then yep this is a great place to stay. If like me you need a level of quiet then I would try another hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and if you are bothered by noise then call the desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbkk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights for our son's wedding! The staff was very welcoming! Curtis and Al made us feel that we were their number one concern. Suites are large with a door separating the sleeping area. Located in a very popular part of city, there is some street noise but nothing that bothered us. Got a little attitude from the valet this morning and told her to discuss it with the front desk. Other than that we would recommend The Atheneum to our friends and family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrews, IN
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here over the weekend for a Tigers series on the recommendation of some friends. It is ideally located downtown within walking distance of the ballparks, casinos and restaurants. They also provide free shuttle service to anywhere within five miles which can in real handy Sunday morning when we decided to take in breakfast at Hudson's Café. They not only took us there, but we called them when we were done with breakfast and shortly thereafter the shuttle arrived to take us back to the hotel. The hotel is also attached to Fishbones and the casino which makes for easy access to both of those entities. The rooms were OK, like others have stated you can tell that they have been around a while. The bathrooms are large with a huge tub. The price is a little steep but you pay that with any downtown hotel of any quality. Unlike others, our room was real quiet and we both slept real well. We will most likely stay here on our next trip to Detroit.

Room Tip: The Deluxe suites are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A friend booked this hotel on our behalf for the weekend Jimmy Buffett was in town. I was a tad concerned due to past reviews, but our room was nicely maintained, very clean, and wonderfully appointed. We signed up for the I prefer membership and it was well worth it. It provided complimentary valet, a breakfast at Fishbones, and a round at the A Bar. The staff were very attentive and personable. The front desk staff warned us about the minibar and promptly called to have a fridge sent to our room which was there within 5 minutes of us getting in. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic with the deep tub, and having Fishbones next door and Comerica within 3 blocks was fantastic. Great place with an expansive room if you want a place within walking distance of all Detroit attractions. Only downside was that the A Bar seemed under staffed on Saturday and the bartender seemed a bit unsure of basic drinks. However that didn't ruin our trip in the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I took the contrarian vacation to Detroit and stayed at the Atheneum. Most of the previous reviews were not that far off. The sound does seem travel between the walls and sometimes you can hear some outside noise. The hotel is clean and is very well situated to the ballpark and Greektown which was nice. Also the complimentary business center was useful in printing the game tickets. Don't expect a huge spread for the complimentary breakfast. Just some fruit and a few wrapped pastries. The good thing is that IS Detroit and breakfast will not set you back that much. If you need a good barber, you definitely have to see Pete the Barber downstairs in the hotel. Great haircut and great stories about his meeting with Bill Clinton, and his philosophy on living (he's 72 and still cutting hair) for only $12.00.

Tracking down a taxi was tough as the 3 valets and nobody could seem to locate a cab. One of the valets said her cell phone could not get service at the hotel to call a taxi. She should switch to another plan...

The only Starbuck's in Detroit is at the GM building 2nd floor. Nobody in town seems to know where it is. It is packed.

For the price, this hotel is not that bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The location is great. We stayed here because we were going to a Tigers game and loved that they had a free shuttle (although we ended up just walking because it was a nice night). Only about 6 blocks (or so) away from the stadium.

Make sure you join the IPREFER program before coming as they offer free valet parking ($25 value) as well as free bar drinks and free breakfast at Fishbones for being members.

The hotel rooms were nice. King size bed with bathroom up stairs. The television was only fair though because the stations were fuzzy and not many channels offered.

We got a military rate and with the IPREFER benefits, it made this hotel only average. Would not stay here for full price unless for the location (if going to a game or the casinos).

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor right outside elevators and could hear every elevator that came to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigx2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Property: The Atheneum
Address: 1000 Brush St, Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#7 Family Hotel in Detroit
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#11 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing