We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I consider myself to be a coinsurer for discovering hotels that fit my budget ($100 or less) and provide me with great quality and service. However, this hotel is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at, in all of my travels, and I travel around the country a lot.
1) The rooms beside me reeked of weed, and nothing was done about it
2) There were numerous hairs found in my towels and bed sheets prior to use
3) The walls are paper thin, was woken up at 545am by extremely inappropriate bed noises and voices- could recite neighbours every word without them even yelling
4) When asked if there were plates for the breaskfast, the staff laughed and said they were all gone then ignored me
****Spend the extra money and go to a different hotel

Room Tip: the more the discounts, the worse the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank canuck716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
27
30
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

7.30 am thats when i checked in 04/11/2011 the guy in front desk works at his own space and i was greeted like i was begging for a room or they are helping me by renting the room. Amazing comfort not for the guest the guy who was in front desk never got up from chair he was relaxing and talking like he is talking to his buddy. Horrible experience the rooms are nasty and dirty. I just dropped my Luggage off in the hotel in the morning and washed my face in the bathroom never realized the towel is dirty. location is good its in downtown. Amenities smell every where u feel like u came to downgrade bar. very dark inside. the very moment i got down the taxi driver warned me not to stay in this hotel. If you dont have a good property you should have at least good customer care to make it up. The guy charged me with extra n early check in where as i told him i am just dropping off my luggage thats it. in short Bad bad bad yes if you are Dirty place to live...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hrishi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

It was a last minute trip we took to Detroit. I called at least 10 different hotels in the area and I must say that none were as pleasant as this. We booked the last two rooms they had. At arrival I met Steve and Andy, what friendly guys. The shuttle driver was friendly and funny also. He took us to Greek town Casino and back for no charge. The breakfast and the service we received was just phenomenal. Overall, I thought everything went smooth.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I really enjoyed staying at the Detroit Regency. The staff was very helpful ,and welcomed me very nicely. The room was great everything was nice, and i was very comfortable. I am reading other peoples feedback and it is nothing like they say Next time i am in the area i am definitely going to say at Regency

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KSNN422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2010

My family and I came to Detroit for the bears game. The minute you walk in you are welcomed by a great staff. Everyone is extra helpful and friendly. We have traveled to many places but this time it felt different, more like family. The shuttle was a huge plus, took us to the game and back. The manager was super nice, cute, and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We checked in on a Fri. we went to visit family and returned about 1am, ready to go to sleep but we pulled the blanket back and we found a Trojan condom wrapper, I called the front desk and they sent the security guard to come change the bedding. which was half done, The next morning I spoke with a guy named Joe and all he could do was to give us one night free for a Future visit , did he really think we would want to stay there again. Hell NO!!! ALso he said Andy would call me of course he never did. So No I would say to never stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_tibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

When checking in, you walk into a cute little lobby which makes you think it is a decent hotel. You see pictures online and think the same. Nothing could be further from the truth. I was disgusted wirth this hotel. There was old food ON THE FLOOR in the room. It was plain to see! There was dust everywhere in the room and burn holes in the chair for the desk, on the desk and on the carpet.
In the mornong heading down to breakfast at only 8am there was almost nothing there and the juice was more like flavored and colored water than juice. The cereal was stale! The rest of the food available was sitting on the counter in bags! It was nothing like what you see in the pictures.
When checking out teh manager and another worker were in the lobby arguing and swearing. We set the keys on the desk and were not even aknowledged.
Come to find out it used to be a Comfort Inn and it's not even good enough to live up to the standards to keep that name. How pathetic!
I would never stay there or reccomentd it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juicebox48060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.1 mi away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
0.6 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.7 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,080 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
#19 of 33 in Detroit
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit
Address: 1999 E Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48207-4111
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is conveniently located near the Renaissance Center complex, Comerica Park ballpark, Ford Field, Joe Louis Arena and Cobo Conference / Exhibition Center. The MotorCity Casino and MGM Grand Detroit casino are within three miles. Greektown, with its many restaurants, shops and casino, is less than two miles from this Detroit, MI hotel. The UAW-Chrysler National Training Center is only two blocks from the hotel. Free shuttle service to many downtown attractions and businesses within three miles is available. There are several restaurants within walking distance. The Main Street Grille is located on the hotel premises. This Detroit, MI hotel offers business travelers conveniences like voice mail, well-lit work areas, and access to copy and fax services. There are coffee makers and hair dryers in all guest rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in some rooms, as well as whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible are also offered. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Comfort Inn is the most ideally located hotel for any stay. The staff looks forward to hosting every guest visiting the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing