We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud!!! Be prepared to hear every noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeWitt
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Loud!!! Be prepared to hear every noise.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This place sucks for sound masking. As soon as 0630 breakfast started all you could hear was the toaster beeping, chairs scuffing on the floor and people talking. Also, each time someone was at the front desk you could hear the entire conversation. Very limited towels as well. I wrote this as I lay here wide awake at the hotel from all of the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    42
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
36
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

way overpriced. There is nothing special for the price charged. When a hotel is located near an expressway and all you are doing is sleeping to continue your journey - I am not looking to pay for outrageous prices. no amenities, Ugly colors, nothing pretty about this place and nothing to glance at when you are their. except go to Meijers. This is where the truckers stop.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Perhaps the nicest thing about this Sleep Inn is the energy that it has devoted to not being just another boxy, drab option. There are a lot of great colors, hues and prints used in making this place feel a bit more special. Although there were some flaws, Sleep Inn is a great place to get a decent night's sleep.

The staff here is friendly and courteous. Autumn was a superb front desk clerk; informative with a smile.

As I was traveling solo, I requested a room with a king bed. These rooms are definitely small. Due to being by myself, the size of the room wasn't very important to me but you'd definitely want to check out other room options if you're traveling with others. There was a much-appreciated plastic guard which kept the drapes from interfering with the window unit's air flow (why some other hotels haven't figured this out, I don't know.) Unfortunately, with the room's size and the heating unit's controls, I had to adjust the setting a lot initially to keep the room from feeling stuffy. Bedding was very comfortable, wireless internet worked pretty good and the bathroom featured an amazing showerhead. Keep in mind: Sleep Inn doesn't do bathtubs: showers only here.

Breakfast had an assortment of the Choice brand's standards and served a competent meal. The eating space is a bit tight but manageable.

As for location, if you're passing through on I-69, this is a good place to crash for the night. If you're visiting Lansing for any particular reason, only stay here if you a) don't care for urban lodgings or want to save a buck or b) don't mind driving seven miles to Lansing proper. Also, there's not a huge variety of restaurants here; just two or three fast food chain places and a Bob Evans, which is right next to Sleep Inn. Meijer is also close by.

Room Tip: Find something bigger than a standard if you're traveling with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripphene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was in a wedding in St.John's, and I decided that the Sleep Inn in DeWitt's would be the best choice for location and price.

The front desk clerk was very friendly when we checked in. Our room was perhaps a bit smaller than usual, but I felt that it was nicely decorated and easy enough to get around. We did have some problems with the iron in the morning, but the front desk brought up a replacement iron for us that was slightly better. They need to invest in better irons. The room and linens were clean and pleasant. The sheets were comfortable, as was the mattress. The bathroom was small but serviceable.

The complimentary breakfast was the typical fare that you would expect. A few pastries and some hot items, along with a solitary waffle-maker. There was not enough seating to support the amount of people that were filtering in and out of the breakfast area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Location led us to this location as we had a family death near St. Johns and this property was the closest. The property looks to be newly renovated and is maintained well. As mentioned by others the rooms are extremely small with ours having a bedside table on one side only. Despite the listing saying that there was a fitness service, we discovered it was a block away at a nearby gym but it was quite adequate if not convenient. Nearby restaurants and a huge grocery/variety store are located on adjoining parking lots.
Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was "a LaQuinta wannabe" but "ok". Coffee was that awful liquid concentrate but the room did have a small brewer with normal coffee. Complimentary USA Today was provided.
We also felt the higher room rates were a result of little or no competition. While this place was certainly adequate, I think next time we will drive an extra mile or two to a better valued hotel with larger rooms.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no elevator for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This was my second time staying at this hotel, and it was a good experience. The room is smaller, but well laid out. One queen size bed, which was just fine for me and would be good for two people).

A nice size desk and chair. A second chair as well. Good lighting, nice tv, safe and area to hang clothes.

Some of the best placed electrical outlets of the last four hotels I have been in. Two by the bed side and at least two at the desk - and not hidden, but up high. Excellent for phone chargers and computers. High praise for this.

The room was very clean, bed comfortable (although once again four smaller pillows instead of two larger ones).

Bath is very small, but the shower was clean, hot and roomy enough. Towels were small and thin, but they did the trick.

Both the night staff and morning staff were very friendly and helpful. The morning staff helped a guest with internet on her iPad, and he was clear, precise and resolved the issue.

Breakfast is alright, not great. Good yogurt, bagels were so so. Juice was good, coffee not great. They had the make your own waffles, and their machine makes four is small round ones - very nice and easy to share. I liked that. Breakfast are is small, but it works

Good location, easy to fine and very affordable.

You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: There is no elevator! Easy climb to second floor, but do know this ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stopped there on our way to Chicago from Canada . The Hotel was easy to find. Newly renovated. Friendly staff. Easy access to a computer. Very clean. Quite reasonably priced. Would easily stay there again. The night desk clerk was very personable. We booked this two months in advanced and got the chap rate. The breakfast was well presented with a lot of variety for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeWitt
1.1 mi away
American Inn and Suites Lansing-Dewitt
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt

Property: Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt
Address: 1101 Commerce Park Dr, DeWitt, MI 48820-8329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Clinton County > DeWitt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeWitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a newly renovated and updated facility. A DeWitt hotel near Lansing - Sleep Inn hotel near Michigan State University and next door to the Banquet & Conference Center of DeWitt. The 100-percent non-smoking, newly renovated Sleep Inn® hotel is easily accessible just off of Interstate 69, U.S. Highway 127 and U.S. Route 27, and is close to Interstate 96 and Interstate 496. We are conveniently located close to the Michigan State Capitol, Michigan State University and Capital Region International Airport and offer affordable accommodations for all travel needs. The Banquet & Conference Center of DeWitt is next door and offers seating for up to 400 in an elegantly decorated facility. This DeWitt, MI hotel near Lansing is close to attractions and businesses like the Impression 5 Science Center, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, General Motors, Hawk Hollow golf course, Potter Park Zoo and Oldsmobile Park, home of the Lansing Lugnuts Minor League baseball team. Shop until you drop at the nearby Mega Mall, Eastwood Towne Center, Lansing Mall and Meridian Mall. A large selection of restaurants are in the vicinity, including Bob Evans, Flap Jack, Burger King, Wendy's, Subway, Arby's and Tim Hortons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Dewitt
Dewitt Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing