We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complaint on ethical practices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeWitt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I cannot tell you how the rooms were, I did not stay the night, but be cautious if you ever try to book a room for someone as a gift, and it is okayed, somehow the communication between the owner and manager was lost, and they played the blame game with me. And then they not only charged me they charged the ones we were giving the present to. $188.46, I refer that as double dipping, and then I got a rude phone call from the owner/manager saying it was a lack of communication on my part. I booked a room and needed to pay for it, Sure I booked a room for someone else as a present, not me. He should have talked to his assistant manager about this, I asked her twice and our son in law had called to find out if this was okay as well, they assured us it was. I paid up front, had not intentions on staying there, it was a surprise present, Sure was a surprise, we were both charged! It is a great location for us, but I will never do business with them again, they could have made this right, but chose not to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi701, Manager at Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you feel this way about the hotel. The staff was not told it was a surprise. They were under the impression that the guests that were going to be stayin in the room knew. Unfortunately the guest you wanted to surprise made their own reservations. The only way this could have been avoided is if the guests were told ahead of time so that they didn't book their own reservation. Which unfortunetley it would no longer be a surprise. We have people come in all the time who pay for rooms for other people and there are no problems. That is because the people know when they arrive that the room is already paid for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and found this to be a typical sleep inn - clean and basically comfortable, but nothing special. Room would benefit from a recliner or easy chair. We did not try the breakfast. Accessible bathroom was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi701, Manager at Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you found our hotel clean and suitable for the night. We do have upgraded rooms that have lounge chairs for more comfortable seating at night. I do hope that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were flying out of Lansing Capital City Airport early and chose to stay here based on its proximity to the airport. We arrived late evening, went straight to our room, and got up early the next morning. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Nothing special but worked great for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadillacCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi701, Manager at Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

CadillacCouple
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your very brief stay with us. We are very close to the Capitol City Airport and have many guests stay here because of that. We hope that the next time you fly you think of the great staff and the clean rooms here at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a convenient location, close to Lansing, but not part of the busyness of Lansing. The staff was friendly and it was quiet. The continental breakfast was so-so. But there is a Bob Evans right across the parking lot, if your husband will let you buy breakfast when there is a free one!! (Good luck with that!!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter in late June and she had posted the following in regard to our stay:

When we got to our room it smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking. There was a clump of soap/shampoo on the floor in the shower and there was a used condom wrapper next to the bed! When I let the front desk know they said they would let the manager know and didn't do anything else about it!

I received a call from the manager on July 7 and, after a lengthy conversation, was told he would credit one night stay back to my credit card. He then asked if I would have my daughter delete the review she placed on this site. I told him once the credit was received I would see if that was possible or we would update the review with his resolution to the problems with the room. It is now August 15 and I have yet to see any credit from them on my card. I never asked them for a thing yet he said he felt really bad that July 7 was the first he was hearing about this issue. Lesson learned...Do not trust that management will keep their word and DO NOT STAY HERE!.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far from the breakfast area as possible.
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I chose this hotel based on reviews from this website and was not disappointed. The hotel is older and somewhat small but newly remodeled and very clean. The front desk staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about local places to eat. I travel a great deal for work and this hotel passed all three of my inspections: 1. No signs of bed bugs!! This place was very clean. 2. A clean shower/bathroom - I cannot stand finding stray hairs, dust bunnies and the like in the bathroom area. Again, very well taken care of. 3. A working A/C unit.

The only thing I did not enjoy was the noise from the hall and room next to ours but it was quiet at night and I would stay here again if I get the chance.

Room Tip: No king beds on the second floor so prioritize accordingly.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn for a funeral recently over a 3 day weekend. We did not use the outdoor pool and it was not a fun vacation so I can not vouch for that. I can say our room was clean and the management was a accommodating. We had a small dog with us and that was fine with this motel. I believe you have to let them know in advance. The beds were comfortable. I didn't notice any traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pss03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeWitt
1.1 mi away
American Inn and Suites Lansing-Dewitt
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 26 in Lansing
445 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
8.2 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 26 in Lansing
334 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt

Address: 1101 Commerce Park Dr, DeWitt, MI 48820-8329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Clinton County > DeWitt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in DeWitt
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a newly renovated and updated facility. A DeWitt hotel near Lansing - Sleep Inn hotel near Michigan State University and next door to the Banquet & Conference Center of DeWitt. The 100-percent non-smoking, newly renovated Sleep Inn® hotel is easily accessible just off of Interstate 69, U.S. Highway 127 and U.S. Route 27, and is close to Interstate 96 and Interstate 496. We are conveniently located close to the Michigan State Capitol, Michigan State University and Capital Region International Airport and offer affordable accommodations for all travel needs. The Banquet & Conference Center of DeWitt is next door and offers seating for up to 400 in an elegantly decorated facility. This DeWitt, MI hotel near Lansing is close to attractions and businesses like the Impression 5 Science Center, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, General Motors, Hawk Hollow golf course, Potter Park Zoo and Oldsmobile Park, home of the Lansing Lugnuts Minor League baseball team. Shop until you drop at the nearby Mega Mall, Eastwood Towne Center, Lansing Mall and Meridian Mall. A large selection of restaurants are in the vicinity, including Bob Evans, Flap Jack, Burger King, Wendy's, Subway, Arby's and Tim Hortons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn - Lansing North / Dewitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Dewitt
Dewitt Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing