We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We enjoy staying at the AmericInn Lodge . It is are at location. Right next door is Christo 's, which is very welcoming bar with great food. The rooms are clean and a great value for the traveler to the area. Many places require a 2 night
Minimum on weekends, but they do not.
The beds are very comfortable with a fresh feeling. It is quiet , with only 44 rooms.
The front desk is friendly and warm.
There is a fireplace in the lobby, and the only thing the breakfast is missing is fresh fruit!
This was our third stay there. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2014

Thank you kindly for your positive review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We strive to provide our guests' with a friendly environment and warm atmosphere.

We are constantly updating our breakfast menu to ensure our guests have the most nutritious, satisfying meal. We appreciate any feedback to better our service to our guest.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we welcome you back anytime of year!

N. Newcomb
AmericInn Hotel
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

my grandparents used to have a summer home in saugatuck, mich. we absolutely love the americinn! it is the next best place to stay, since my grandparents are gone, but our memories and our new memories remain!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. PET FRIENDLY!! Real nice people. Great pool (little cold). Big hot tub. The hotel is real close to the saugatuck brewery. Stayed here with my girlfriends and her parents. I would come here again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was also good.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights. Just after checking in, we noticed that the door lock was difficult to get to latch when leaving the room. We mentioned it to the front desk and really got no response. We decided to just make sure it latched before we walked away each time. Our second day with this hotel, we had left for the day to return to the door lock not engaged after the cleaning crew had finished. Again down to the front desk to complain and got a "we are sorry about that" and then nothing. No one came to look at the lock to make sure it was working properly, no question of if anything was missing. Will not stay here again or recommend that particular hotel to friends or family. Very disappointed ....how they handled my complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpetch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My friends and I had two confirmed reservations in my name. CONFIRMED. The day we were supposed to arrived, I get an email at 5 pm notifying me that as per my request one of my rooms has been canceled. I called immediately to find out what was happening because we were departing from Detroit to arrive at the hotel in 3 hours. I told the woman who answered the phone about the email. She was immediately defensive and and told me to call Expedia. I explained to her that I had booked the rooms through AmericInn's own website and not Expedia. She repeated over and over that there was nothing she could do for me. I insisted that she had to do something since I had two confirmed reservations that I had not canceled; I gave her the confirmation numbers. She said she would speak to the manger and get back to me. She called back after what seemed an eternity (it was probably 45 minutes) and explained that she had made a mistake because someone else with my same last name checked in and only wanted one room (I was later told by senior manager the clerk was required to make this call). She said she had already given one of our rooms away and there was nothing she could do about it , sort of "you deal with it" attitude. Luckily my friend had hotel points so we stayed at the airport Westin, but if we were to have arrived as scheduled, we would have been completely out of luck. This woman was poorly trained at customer service; she tried to blame the situation on me. Upon checking in the next night the on duty manager was apologetic and comped on of our rooms for the night. The real problem here was not that the clerk made a mistake it was her very poor and, in fact, aggressive handling of the situation. To me this seems like a management failure. This woman should be trained better and if untrainable let go. When I told the manager about my conversation she said, yeah that sounds like xxxx. If xxxx is known to speak to guests this way then management needs to take care of that. Failing grade on every level. Ugly, lousy sheets, freezing noisy air conditioner. I honestly think we dodged a bullet only having one night in this dump. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I took a chance on the property, as I had never heard of this chain before. Relying on good reviews, I booked online here. When we arrived, they had us booked for two rooms instead of one. I have to say we were very satisfied with the large, clean room and bathroom. The only minus was that I'd booked a room with a recliner, and there was no recliner in our room. There is no elevator at this property, which can be a problem with heavy luggage. We were on the second floor, and had to go a long distance down the hallway and back downstairs to find an ice machine. The breakfast was really bad! Sausage and eggs were not hot. Ugh! BUT inspite of everything- the actual room was VERY NICE, as was the bathroom. There was a fridge in the room and also a microwave (If I remember correctly). Staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny51121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of our holiday. The staff were welcoming and very freindly. We had a problem with our reservation (made by a on-line booking company) and the front desk sorted it very quickly for us.

Nice room, nice breakfast and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HyperspaceGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 May 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at AmericInn Hotel of Saugatuck/Douglas. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Through quality training and dedicated staff, we strive to make every guest experience as stress-free and enjoyable as possible.

We welcome you back at anytime and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
10.9 mi away
Residence Inn Holland
Residence Inn Holland
#7 of 18 in Holland
190 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
920 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
101 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Holland, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas

Address: 2905 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5298
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £54 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas Hotel Douglas
Americinn Lodge And Suites Saugatuck _ Douglas
Americinn Hotel Douglas
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing