We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Stay in Saugatuck/Douglas”
Review of Blue Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've stayed at the Blue Star Motel several times, and had wonderful experience each visit. I like the generous-size wall mounted television, and the free in-room wi-fi. Also, each guest receives a coupon card for discounted breakfast right next door. There's a nice patio in the back with Adirondack chairs for each room. Also, an outdoor spa/hot tub is available. Rooms are fine for a couple, probably not so great for families. Rates are higher in the summer, but if you stay in the off-season you'll find very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Room#9 is at the very end and may be the best room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Blue Star Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there the end of September. Clean room and the Manager was friendly and helpful.
It is close to the attractions and has parking right in front of the room we had. Within walking distance to downtown Douglas. Nice breakfast restaurant about 100 feet away.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the most unassuming place from the street but the rooms were updated and very clean. Great for a couple or a single. The back patio was such a surptise and very comfortable to sit out and relax. The beds were firm and had hot water quickly. Breakfast was include at a local diner a few fee steps away. It was made to order and very good. None of this fake stuff at other high end hotels. It was really a little jewel.

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms and all are the same. Very clean and new.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place is a lovingly remodeled old motel, verging on "boutique hotel" quality. It's wonderful, and the staff could not be more helpful. My wife and I have already reserved for next summer! It is right on the old Blue Star Highway, but it wasn't noisy as all of the truck traffic is on the nearby interstate and I get the impression that Douglas isn't much of a partying place.

Room Tip: We had the one suite, where the bedroom was in the back. Other rooms might be a bit more noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We took a chance on this motel after reading the trip advisor reviews and are glad we did. It was a very nice place to stay. Pros: very clean rooms, many thoughtful amenities such as microwave, small refrigerator, beach towels, snack basket, juices and water. We were even given vouchers for 2 free breakfasts at the restaurant next door. The owner showed us our room and gave us directions and suggestions for things to do. He was very friendly and helpful. The room opens up to a patio area that looks onto a garden setting as well as a jacuzzi and BBQ area. (BBQ utensils were available in the office if needed.) Pretty much everything you would need for a stay was included or available to you. The only cons were no view of the water and the rooms are VERY small. If the weather is good and you plan to be out exploring most of the time, this is a great place to spend the night. If you are unfortunate and have bad weather, there is really no space in the room to hang out other than the bed itself. I was told there is one larger, suite type room, but we did not actually see it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tdunham220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husand and I spent one night here last weekend and loved it. The owner was very helpful and welcoming. Our room was spotless. Loved the covered porch out back where we sat in comfy chairs listening to the crickets and enjoying a bottle of wine. The complimentary snacks and water were a really nice touch. We enjoyed our free breakfast next door. We would defintiely come back and would not hesitate to recommend the Blue Star to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaMGeneva_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Blue Star Motel as well as a cookout the night before for our guests... and it was AMAZING!! Not only did Rusty help me plan and organize many of the details for my wedding, he also put together the most elegant and beautiful wedding reception for us! It was so far above and beyond my expectations and I am so grateful for the memories I will forever have! Rusty, Billy, and the crew saw to it that every last detail was absolutely perfect! Our guests were so blown away by how beautiful and perfect everything was and by how courteous and helpful the staff were as well! They are still talking about it! I couldn't be happier with our experience at the Blue Star Motel! Best time ever! Thank you to Rusty and his crew!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allisonlt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Address: 167 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £73 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Motel Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing