We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I live here.... and this is where choose to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I live here.... and this is where choose to stay.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Work was being done on my home, but we did not want to miss the fall colors. Just a wonderfull little roadside motel. Nothing wrong with being called a motel. We need more accross the country like this.

The rooms are wonderfully appointed. They have a great old fashioned getaway exit onto a gem of a hidden deck. Jacuzzi too.

Bonus full made to order breakfast right next door. 150 feet away. Mega bonus party store closer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've stayed at the Blue Star Motel several times, and had wonderful experience each visit. I like the generous-size wall mounted television, and the free in-room wi-fi. Also, each guest receives a coupon card for discounted breakfast right next door. There's a nice patio in the back with Adirondack chairs for each room. Also, an outdoor spa/hot tub is available. Rooms are fine for a couple, probably not so great for families. Rates are higher in the summer, but if you stay in the off-season you'll find very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Room#9 is at the very end and may be the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there the end of September. Clean room and the Manager was friendly and helpful.
It is close to the attractions and has parking right in front of the room we had. Within walking distance to downtown Douglas. Nice breakfast restaurant about 100 feet away.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I'm always hesitant of booking hotels, but the Blue Star Motel is a safe choice. The rooms are a bit small, but it was perfectly cozy for two people. Everything is clean, and was a nice place to come back to and relax. The grounds are well kept and other patrons were courteous and kind. The bed was comfortable, there is basic cable and wifi at no additional cost, and the shower had hot water. Rusty checked us in was incredibly kind, offering his number in case we needed him after the office closed. The complimentary breakfast is at a diner just around the corner from the motel and the food was quite good. I'm looking forward to my next stay here.

Room Tip: Booking in the off season makes the room a great value when on a budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckcust0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the most unassuming place from the street but the rooms were updated and very clean. Great for a couple or a single. The back patio was such a surptise and very comfortable to sit out and relax. The beds were firm and had hot water quickly. Breakfast was include at a local diner a few fee steps away. It was made to order and very good. None of this fake stuff at other high end hotels. It was really a little jewel.

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms and all are the same. Very clean and new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce Canyon City, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place is a lovingly remodeled old motel, verging on "boutique hotel" quality. It's wonderful, and the staff could not be more helpful. My wife and I have already reserved for next summer! It is right on the old Blue Star Highway, but it wasn't noisy as all of the truck traffic is on the nearby interstate and I get the impression that Douglas isn't much of a partying place.

Room Tip: We had the one suite, where the bedroom was in the back. Other rooms might be a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanxfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We took a chance on this motel after reading the trip advisor reviews and are glad we did. It was a very nice place to stay. Pros: very clean rooms, many thoughtful amenities such as microwave, small refrigerator, beach towels, snack basket, juices and water. We were even given vouchers for 2 free breakfasts at the restaurant next door. The owner showed us our room and gave us directions and suggestions for things to do. He was very friendly and helpful. The room opens up to a patio area that looks onto a garden setting as well as a jacuzzi and BBQ area. (BBQ utensils were available in the office if needed.) Pretty much everything you would need for a stay was included or available to you. The only cons were no view of the water and the rooms are VERY small. If the weather is good and you plan to be out exploring most of the time, this is a great place to spend the night. If you are unfortunate and have bad weather, there is really no space in the room to hang out other than the bed itself. I was told there is one larger, suite type room, but we did not actually see it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdunham220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
783 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#8 of 10 in Saugatuck
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Property: Blue Star Motel
Address: 167 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Motel Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing