We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for the Tulip Festival (in Holland, MI) and it was delightful. The front desk was more than friendly the room was plush with bedding from West Elm and there was a fire pit and Adirondack chairs out the back door of your room for chilling and enjoying the outdoors. The motel was literally 1/2 mile from Saugatuk Brewery, which was handy for a nice dinner and a few local brews. I will stay at this place every time I am on the west side of the state - it was comfortable, clean, new and friendly. Plus you get a great breakfast in the morning at the local diner. Can't say enough about the motel - it really was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boswella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
perrysburg
Level Contributor
207 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I read all the positive reviews and they were right! Just a 5 minute drive from hotel to Water St. in Saugatuck where there is dining and shopping. Loved the paddle boat ride! Don't skip downtown Douglas either! Good meals at Phil's, Wild Dog Grill, The Butler Inn, and Christo's. Enjoyed breakfast across from hotel at Vicky's. Husband golfed at Ravines. Clean room, though small, but it had everything, including complimentary snacks (and a magnifying mirror and make-up removal pads). Loved the deck out back with comfortable furniture and the hot tub. And the festive lights! Loved the shower. Rusty and team super friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishPerrysburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Perfect place to stay in the beautiful Saugatuck area!!The owner, Rusty is a kind and good soul. Excellent customer service. Extremely clean, well maintained. I am looking forward to returning to this beautiful place!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were looking for a place away from the hustle of Tulip Days in Holland and booked a night here. Only anoint ten rooms in a seriously updated 1950's era motel. Super clean, unique furniture a great back porch and patio. Breakfast at a restaurant on premises. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Owner operators made sure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a great little inn and perfect place to stay for quick escape from Chicago. The hot tub is awesome in the winter. The rooms are clean and modern, Rusty, the innkeeper is really helpful and accommodating, and the location is great. You can walk over to the Dunes or into the town of Douglas if the weather is nice.

Room Tip: The rooms are perfect for a couple. If you want a nice sitting area and a little more room, book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYDERBY312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I read the reviews before making reservations...and they were right! This is a perfect place to stay. Centrally located to Douglas and Saugatuck, incredibly clean, delightfully decorated and the surprise of a quiet outdoor patio and nicely treed lawn that made you feel like you were a million miles from the highway. How wonderful to get breakfast coupons for a marvelous meal at the nearby restaurant. Honestly, there was not a thing else we could have wanted or needed. Great staff, nice free snacks, comfy & cozy room and all the amenities of home. We WILL be back!! Many thanks to Rusty and his courteous employees. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIanne1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a great two night stay at the Blue Star Motel in Douglas during end/mid March.
Rusty, the propieter was graciously kind and on top of all our needs!

Our room was clean and recently rehabbed/restored as it had all the charm of an old fashion motel, but with all new evertyhing; the amenities were completely top notch!

We thoroughly loved the overall design and re-use of a great hotel space. The faux moose head on the wall added a level of cleverness but not scary! Rooms were well appointed with desk and wifi, flat tv, and a decent selection of channels. Bathroom sink was unusual and very modern, and the shower pressure was just AWESOME. Location to Saugautuck/Dounglas was just perfect.

The extra bonus was $6.00 off breakfast coupons for the restaurant down the street.

We will definitely try to return here when the weather is better. Also, thanks to Billy the handy guy who offered up a lot of helpful suggestions. Thanks Blue Star, Rusty & Billy! See you soon!

Room Tip: At present time, I believe all or most the rooms are pretty much the same. During summer you might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k111x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
781 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#8 of 10 in Saugatuck
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Property: Blue Star Motel
Address: 167 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Motel Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing