We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Douglas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Star Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Star Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in Douglas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great little place to stay. Rusty was very welcoming - he even called to let us know the room was available before the check-in time. Incredibly accommodating, provides you with free snacks and orients you to all the amenities in the area. The room was on the small side but wonderfully arranged to make best use of the space, and the bed was very comfortable. The room smelled, looked and was very clean. The back porch area was very inviting and hot tub was relaxing. And free breakfast next door was delicious! We would definitely come back and stay here again. Thanks again, Rusty! -Amanda & Eric

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good experience. Caring owner. Tiny rooms. Nice patio area. Restrictive outdoor smoking policy. The diner next door did not impress whatsoever! Decent value. Ltd water pressure in shower but great towels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brooktroutchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great renovated motel, very charming!! Very close to everything! Loved the patio, adirondack chairs and hot tub out back. Went for a girlfriends getaway and we loved staying here. Will definitely return! The diner next door had amazing food and ice cream sundaes! The owner was so friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sky1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We didn't want to leave the Blue star motel we had such a lovely time. Everything was within walking distance which was great. Douglas / Saugatauk was the perfect location to relax by browsing the lovely art shops and eateries. Back to the motel- the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We absolutely loved the garden area out the back of the motel. The jacuzzi was great! We received a complementary breakfast from a lovely little diner beside the motel called m&m. Highly recommended! The blue star motel is a must if in Douglas! Thank you Rusty and the whole team

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms were basic, but updated well. Nothing fancy. What I loved was the outside sitting area with Adirondack chairs on poured patio, which faced a raised deck with outside furniture and a hot tub. Very relaxing! No pool which might be a problem for couples with kids. Owner very nice. Breakfast vouchers at nearby cafe an added value. Very small town and cute. Folks friendly !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff was so friendly! Great value and you can walk to downtown Douglas, close drive to Oval Beach and a quick bike ride to Saugatuck! Perfect central location! I would stay here again in a minute!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dscully05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for the Tulip Festival (in Holland, MI) and it was delightful. The front desk was more than friendly the room was plush with bedding from West Elm and there was a fire pit and Adirondack chairs out the back door of your room for chilling and enjoying the outdoors. The motel was literally 1/2 mile from Saugatuk Brewery, which was handy for a nice dinner and a few local brews. I will stay at this place every time I am on the west side of the state - it was comfortable, clean, new and friendly. Plus you get a great breakfast in the morning at the local diner. Can't say enough about the motel - it really was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boswella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#8 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Motel

Property: Blue Star Motel
Address: 167 Blue Star Hwy, Douglas, MI 49406-5206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Star Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of the Blue Star Highway, the Blue Star Motel offers the luxury of a boutique hotel with all the convenience of a modern motel.Tastefully designed rooms with custom closets and refreshment centers, designer furniture, flat screen TV's and free wireless access awaits every guest. Each on-suite Patio room has access to a covered porch where you can sit and relax before heading to the hot tub and unwind as the sun sets over Lake Michigan.In the morning, head to the Waypoint Restaurant next door to savor a complimentary breakfast before heading out for another enjoyable day in the Douglas/Saugatuck area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Blue Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Motel Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing